We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A mess” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thangka Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thangka Hotel
Ranked #56 of 320 Hotels in Lhasa
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

One of the worst hotels I have ever visited thanks to. Vjv
Dirty ripped carpets very poor food
Scruffy
Disgrace

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Thangka, had 2 rooms (returned to Hotel after days outside of Lhasa). We choose a quiet room on the 4th floor it was nice (the bed and pillows are real hard!). The second room was actually even better (shower door closed properly - we never touched the shower curtain). Breakfast was great - we eat a lot (egg, cereal, bread&jam, noodles, yoghurt with fruit etc), we had such a poor experience in other Tibetan hotels...
Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranyeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Wonderful hotel in tibetan style. Breakfast buffet included. The bedrooms are amazing, clean, big, well decorated, with everything you need, including oxigen bottles and medicine for hights sickness for very good prices! The location is perfect, just few steps to Jokhang and the street market. The only problem was the internet wifi absence (only inside the bar in 4 floor, free for guests). Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: try to pick up a room with Jokhang's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Excellent location near the Jokang Temple, Barkor Square, markets and restaurants– central yet set back in an alley so is quiet. (We did not experience disco noises as other reviewers did). Reception service acceptable – speaks some English and quite helpful. Room is spacious with Tibetan hand crafted furniture and chair carpets.
The bathroom is nice but has no door– only partial glass partisan which does not offer privacy.
Breakfast is average with cook to order eggs and a good variety of mostly Chinese style breakfast.
No room temperature control and we had to ask the front desk to turn up the thermostat.
Free internet & safe but the safe is not bolted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel is in tibetan style, but offers all comfort one needs.

Breakfast is basic, but nice.

It's on a great location, close to the temple, market and restaurants, but also very close to a disco (well, we thought it was a disco) which starts at 10 pm and goes on until 3-4 am. So yes, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011. This Hotel is in a terrific spot right in the heart of things. The rooms where very nice if not a little strange but also comfortable. Kettle provided but take your own tea bags. Breakfast quite basic but good. The only downside is the disco close by which starts at 12am and goes on until 3am- take your earplugs if you are sensitive to noise....Highly recommended for the location alone.

Room Tip: ask for the quietest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have travelled the world and this hotel is by far the worst place I have had the unfortunate pleasure to stay. 1. the place and rooms are filthy and I truly mean filthy. 2. The carpets are not only dirty with numerous stains but also threadbare and torn. 3. The shower drains do not drain thus flooding the entire bathroom floor. 4. In the morning the drains stink of stagnate water. 5. With outside air temps reaching into the mid 80's - no airconditioning - it was broken. 6. A curtain is the only devise to seperate the bathroom from the bedroom. 7. The closet door was broken and hanging by one screw.
The best part about this hotel is its location, close to restaurants, many sightseeing spots and shopping.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
1.8 mi away
Taicheng Hotel
Taicheng Hotel
#35 of 320 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xueyu Tiantang International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Grain Hotel
Golden Grain Hotel
#96 of 320 in Lhasa
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dekang Hotel
Dekang Hotel
#9 of 320 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.1 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 320 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thangka Hotel

Property: Thangka Hotel
Address: No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thangka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Thangka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thangka Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing