We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in lhasa and superb location”
Review of Thangka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thangka Hotel
Ranked #96 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Thangka is a Tibetan looking hotel but with under western standards. We got two double rooms and in both rooms service was very good. The location cannot be better and there are multiple restaurants around and multiple sightseeing sites on walking distance. Internet service was very good too. We will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Osseja_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

This Hotel is hidden down a carpet-lined alley about 100 yards from the Jokhan Temple. It is ideally situated therefore for the Barkhor square area. I found the staff to be more cheerful and pleasant than in other hotels and although English was very limited, they did try to understand! The rooms were not overly large and the ensuite bathroom is seperated from the bed area by a glass screen and curtain. This posed no problems for us, however in the event of a stomach upset, it would have proved to be quite unpleasant for other room occupants. Cleanliness was quite good other than for a dirty carpet (which would appear to be de rigeur in all Yunnan and Tibetan hotels!) There is a coffee room and internet on the fourth floor though smokers tend to use this at times. Breakfast was OK - not exciting, but it did offer good yoghurt, toast and some variety of hot foods

Room Tip: Perhaps better to stay on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the Thangka Hotel with my mother for 4 nights, as arranged by the company with which we organized our stay (Windhorse tours). Admittedly, there is a very limited selection of "nice" hotels in Lhasa, but we were quite disappointed with our overall experience, particularly as we'd opted for the "luxury" option. That having been said, I would recommend staying at the Thangka hotel only having first given a few warnings.

Firstly, the few good points: Location - the hotel is an extremely short walking distance from Jokhang Temple and Bahkor square, as well as being close to a few of the restaurants in Lhasa that serve edible food. The staff are very nice and try to be very helpful, but I cannot imagine what we would've done if I couldn't speak Chinese - their English is pretty much just enough for greetings.

On to the bad: The breakfast was TERRIBLE. Only fresh fruit was watermelon (which ended up being the only thing I would have every morning), then there was toast, eggs (though if you say poached they just make a scrambled egg into the shape of a heart and serve it to you), and a selection of awful Chinese-style food. The congee had no condiments with it whatsoever (so was just plain rice porridge), and all of the (two) vegetables were absolutely drowned in butter/ghee. They had mantou, so I suppose there were some people satisfied, but for a hotel that presents itself as 4 star, it just wasn't right. I always had to go buy food at the supermarket for breakfast (which I never do).

The rooms were very simple (as expected, in line with other Lhasa hotels), but the carpet was very dirty, and they didn't seem to really clean our room much at all. They did not replace the loo paper when it ran out, the hot water was broken (key moment when Chinese was needed) for a while, and the internet would break almost every single time we tried to use it to the point that we just gave up (again, when my mother tried to call up in English, they literally said "okay" and hung up the phone and proceeded to do absolutely nothing!). Did I mention that there was no divider between the bedroom and the bathroom save a not-wide-enough shower curtain? And our shower door was broken so it would stay open and let in all the freezing cold air of the room while showering!

Though we had booked a Palace View room (the more expensive version, with a view of Potala Palace rather than Jokhang Temple), they decided without informing us that they would switch us to the cheaper room. When asked why they had done this, they said that it was too noisy on that side, but we went to check it out at night time and it was no louder than our room. (Noise heard in our room consisted of the same song being played over and over and over and over in the hotel bar on our floor and loud Chinese businessmen-types drinking and talking loudly in the bar).

Overall, I would say we had a pretty poor experience. That having been said, we asked other travellers what their hotels were like, and it seemed that their situations were even more dire. The Sheraton was under repair at the time, but my mother had also wanted a more Tibetan-style hotel. If you can handle the 'simplicity' of this Lhasa-style accommodation at the Thangka Hotel, I recommend it, especially as it is so conveniently close to the J Temple and B Square. I, however, wish we'd waited until the St. Regis was finished in November!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel is ideally situated in the very heart of Lhasa, within walking distance to both the Jokang and the Potala Palace. The entrance is typically Tibetan, and the rooms at first glance, are very modern for Tibet. The bathroom arrangement is strange, as it is in a glassed corner of the room, screened from the main bedroom with a curtain, but it is western and very functional. The room is totally adequate but the carpet was filthy, and although I asked for it to be vacuumed, It was not. The staff try very hard to do everything you need but their english is limited. The breakfast was basic. Even numbered room face the hotel square and can be very noisy in the morning when tour buses go out early. It seems to require the parking supervisor to shout at the top of his voice. You should ask for a room on the fourth floor in order to see out over the top of the city to the mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Thangka Hotel at the beginning of our Tibet trip. The hotel is located in the city center of Lhasa. In walking distance of many of the places in the old town of Lhasa such as Junkhor Monastry, restaurants and a shopping street. The hotel is clean and the service is OK. In the morning the rooms with even numbers might be a bit noisy because they are facing the parking place. So if you try to ask for a room with odd numbers it should be ok. The bathroom is an unexpected surprise because it's no single room. Glass walls and a curtain are the only thing which separate the bathroom from the sleeping room. If you don't mind it is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Thangka. It is quite good for a 3 star hotel. My only complaint is the incessant singing at the karaoke across 1 wing of the hotel which we were situated since the hotel is fully booked. we only got to switched rooms on our last night. but overall it is still a lovely experience with a great and accomodating staff

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timemasterSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks in China including five days in Tibet, Stayed at the Thangka as this is the hotel our tour organizer Tony recommended.. Lovely hotel but our particular room 8316 required a plumber to fix the pipe in the bathroom which caused a leak and damp carpet in the main part of the room. Also internet access was patchy. Apart from that I recommended the hotel. It local is superb and the breakfasts (included) pretty good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penelopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 366 in Lhasa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 366 in Lhasa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.7 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 366 in Lhasa
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yilu Xiangxi Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thangka Hotel

Address: No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Price Range: $45 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thangka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Thangka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thangka Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing