We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Hotel I stayed in in Yunnan or Tibet”
Review of Thangka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thangka Hotel
Ranked #158 of 343 Hotels in Lhasa
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Probably the best Hotel I stayed in in Yunnan or Tibet”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This Hotel is hidden down a carpet-lined alley about 100 yards from the Jokhan Temple. It is ideally situated therefore for the Barkhor square area. I found the staff to be more cheerful and pleasant than in other hotels and although English was very limited, they did try to understand! The rooms were not overly large and the ensuite bathroom is seperated from the bed area by a glass screen and curtain. This posed no problems for us, however in the event of a stomach upset, it would have proved to be quite unpleasant for other room occupants. Cleanliness was quite good other than for a dirty carpet (which would appear to be de rigeur in all Yunnan and Tibetan hotels!) There is a coffee room and internet on the fourth floor though smokers tend to use this at times. Breakfast was OK - not exciting, but it did offer good yoghurt, toast and some variety of hot foods

Room Tip: Perhaps better to stay on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the Thangka Hotel with my mother for 4 nights, as arranged by the company with which we organized our stay (Windhorse tours). Admittedly, there is a very limited selection of "nice" hotels in Lhasa, but we were quite disappointed with our overall experience, particularly as we'd opted for the "luxury" option. That having been said, I would recommend staying at the Thangka hotel only having first given a few warnings.

Firstly, the few good points: Location - the hotel is an extremely short walking distance from Jokhang Temple and Bahkor square, as well as being close to a few of the restaurants in Lhasa that serve edible food. The staff are very nice and try to be very helpful, but I cannot imagine what we would've done if I couldn't speak Chinese - their English is pretty much just enough for greetings.

On to the bad: The breakfast was TERRIBLE. Only fresh fruit was watermelon (which ended up being the only thing I would have every morning), then there was toast, eggs (though if you say poached they just make a scrambled egg into the shape of a heart and serve it to you), and a selection of awful Chinese-style food. The congee had no condiments with it whatsoever (so was just plain rice porridge), and all of the (two) vegetables were absolutely drowned in butter/ghee. They had mantou, so I suppose there were some people satisfied, but for a hotel that presents itself as 4 star, it just wasn't right. I always had to go buy food at the supermarket for breakfast (which I never do).

The rooms were very simple (as expected, in line with other Lhasa hotels), but the carpet was very dirty, and they didn't seem to really clean our room much at all. They did not replace the loo paper when it ran out, the hot water was broken (key moment when Chinese was needed) for a while, and the internet would break almost every single time we tried to use it to the point that we just gave up (again, when my mother tried to call up in English, they literally said "okay" and hung up the phone and proceeded to do absolutely nothing!). Did I mention that there was no divider between the bedroom and the bathroom save a not-wide-enough shower curtain? And our shower door was broken so it would stay open and let in all the freezing cold air of the room while showering!

Though we had booked a Palace View room (the more expensive version, with a view of Potala Palace rather than Jokhang Temple), they decided without informing us that they would switch us to the cheaper room. When asked why they had done this, they said that it was too noisy on that side, but we went to check it out at night time and it was no louder than our room. (Noise heard in our room consisted of the same song being played over and over and over and over in the hotel bar on our floor and loud Chinese businessmen-types drinking and talking loudly in the bar).

Overall, I would say we had a pretty poor experience. That having been said, we asked other travellers what their hotels were like, and it seemed that their situations were even more dire. The Sheraton was under repair at the time, but my mother had also wanted a more Tibetan-style hotel. If you can handle the 'simplicity' of this Lhasa-style accommodation at the Thangka Hotel, I recommend it, especially as it is so conveniently close to the J Temple and B Square. I, however, wish we'd waited until the St. Regis was finished in November!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lhasa hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel is ideally situated in the very heart of Lhasa, within walking distance to both the Jokang and the Potala Palace. The entrance is typically Tibetan, and the rooms at first glance, are very modern for Tibet. The bathroom arrangement is strange, as it is in a glassed corner of the room, screened from the main bedroom with a curtain, but it is western and very functional. The room is totally adequate but the carpet was filthy, and although I asked for it to be vacuumed, It was not. The staff try very hard to do everything you need but their english is limited. The breakfast was basic. Even numbered room face the hotel square and can be very noisy in the morning when tour buses go out early. It seems to require the parking supervisor to shout at the top of his voice. You should ask for a room on the fourth floor in order to see out over the top of the city to the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Thangka Hotel at the beginning of our Tibet trip. The hotel is located in the city center of Lhasa. In walking distance of many of the places in the old town of Lhasa such as Junkhor Monastry, restaurants and a shopping street. The hotel is clean and the service is OK. In the morning the rooms with even numbers might be a bit noisy because they are facing the parking place. So if you try to ask for a room with odd numbers it should be ok. The bathroom is an unexpected surprise because it's no single room. Glass walls and a curtain are the only thing which separate the bathroom from the sleeping room. If you don't mind it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Thangka. It is quite good for a 3 star hotel. My only complaint is the incessant singing at the karaoke across 1 wing of the hotel which we were situated since the hotel is fully booked. we only got to switched rooms on our last night. but overall it is still a lovely experience with a great and accomodating staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timemasterSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks in China including five days in Tibet, Stayed at the Thangka as this is the hotel our tour organizer Tony recommended.. Lovely hotel but our particular room 8316 required a plumber to fix the pipe in the bathroom which caused a leak and damp carpet in the main part of the room. Also internet access was patchy. Apart from that I recommended the hotel. It local is superb and the breakfasts (included) pretty good as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed in the Thangka hotel for four nights as part of our organised trip to Tibet. The location is obviously fantastic but were mostly impressed with the friendly service of the staff. They were very welcoming and helpful throughout. We requested to have a room on the 4th floor (after two nights on the 3rd) just so that we could see the Jokhang temple from our window - stunning views!
The breakfast is average, although definitely the best compared to the other hotels we've stayed in in Tibet and China. Eggs, cereal, noodles - nothing too special.
I can't really comment on the cost of the room or value for money as this came as part of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 343 in Lhasa
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
#38 of 343 in Lhasa
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shangbala Hotel Lasa
Shangbala Hotel Lasa
#46 of 343 in Lhasa
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.5 mi away
Dekang Hotel
Dekang Hotel
#11 of 343 in Lhasa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thangka Hotel

Property: Thangka Hotel
Address: No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 343 Hotels in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thangka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Thangka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thangka Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing