We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Ranked #8 of 341 Hotels in Lhasa
Newark, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Sheraton was the least favorite of hotels on our stay in China. The staff was helpful and the breakfast buffet and hot pot dinner was good. Food was included but the gift shop was out of sight expensive. It does not meet American standards but manager asked what they could do to improve. The rooms were clean, unless you looked at the window sills. A dehumidifier helped us breath with windows open. I was told this was one of the best in Lhasa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdb5327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_St_Regis_Lhasa, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are very proud to have made your stay comfortable. Looking forward to your next trip to Lhasa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
29
70
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The FourPoints by Sheraton is in a perfect location: walking distance to the Bharkor and dozens of great restaurants. The staff spoke enough English to make us feel welcome even without us knowing any Tibetan. The breakfast buffet is hearty--a great start to long days: Omelets, fresh fruit, yoghurt, nuts, cheese, bread, and plenty of Chinese dishes. The dinner buffet was a welcomed treat--be sure to try the hotpot (but plan around the high altitude affect on the boiling water). The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy. The bathrooms show a bit of age. All that said, we'd stay there again. The staff is gracious and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for Garden View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Warning; this hotel is not up to American Sheraton standards, but it is VERY WELCOME in Lhasa!
The rooms were clean, comfy, with soft beds and heat, clean bathrooms and very hot water.
The restaurant was crazy expensive: US$15 for a plate of spaghetti. US$10 for a bowl of mushroom soup. We gladly paid for this for a bit of "home" after altitude sickness and several bad hotels.
The breakfast buffet was superb!
The staff was helpful.
The location is within walking distance to old town and it is easy to find. You can take a rickshaw back after exploring the streets! (Cost US$5)
The river behind the hotel offers a nice walk.

We stayed in Lhasa for a week. This was the best of our hotel choices.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights when we were in Lhasa in September. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was good and clean. On the last night our room was warm as the heater instead of the airconditioning was turned on. We switched off the unit and opened the window for some cool air but our room overlooked the courtyard where the staff were quartered so occasionally we could hear people talking. But it was alright in the night.

There was wifi in the small lobby but with many people moving about, it was a bit
inconvenient to sit too long on the only round sofa there.

The buffet breakfast was mainly Chinese food and by the third morning it was a bit boring to eat the same food. We had dinner at the hotel on our first night and it was rather expensive as we paid more than 450 Rmb for the two of us. There was a BBQ and other food but we did not quite enjoy the food.

The location was good as we could walk to attractions such as the Jokhang Monastery and Barkhor Square through a short cut shown by our guide.

Despite the food served at the restaurant, our stay at this hotel was comfortable and good. The staff were friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I am writing this review a lot later after we were in Lhasa in 2010, just before the St Regis opened. We were living in Shanghai and this was a short trip for us...... it was superb. I was dubious of good international hotels in Lhasa, but having arrived at Four Points, we were not disappointed. It is not as glitzy as its cousin, St Regis, but it was modern, clean, pleasant and I really couldn't get enough of the clean air in Lhasa! The hotel efficiently arranged our private guide and transport which is totally recommended that you do contact the hotel to arrange. We were not too sure of going outside for this service and the hotel seamlessly arranged everything. The room was unexpectedly large - it was a suite! The food in the hotel was good, but only one restaurant outlet so it is limited. The staff were attentive and thoughtful. Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am writing this review from Tibet while my husband and I are staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa. We stayed at the hotel twice during our 8-day trip in Tibet, first from Sept 1 to 3 in Room 1223, and now from Sept 5 to 8 in Room 1301. It is centrally located, close to Barkhor Street and Jokhang Temple. We want to thank the general manager and the staff at the hotel for their impeccable service.

ROOMS:
Room 1223 is a standard room on the second floor, nonetheless with all the amenities and wired internet/WiFi one would expect from the Four Points brand. Our request for a non-smoking room was honoured with no incident. The room is big enough even by western standards. There is no view – the room faces a white wall below which is a courtyard. However, unlike other rooms, Room 1223 has large semi-circular bay windows which allow lots of light into room. The bathroom is spacious, with all the standard toiletries. Some guests earlier highlighted that the curtains installed to cover the glass partition separating the bedroom from the bathroom seems a bit awkward. I concur – it does feel somewhat like makeshift curtains. However, it’s not a big issue and it certainly does not detract from the good qualities of the room – clean, comfortable, predictable. There are no negative surprises – and that’s always a good thing when travelling in countries/areas where not many international hotel brands are present just yet.
My husband and I are very lucky, thanks to the kindness and attentive service of the hotel, to be upgraded to a Starwood Preferred Guest Room 1301 on the third floor, on our return for the second portion of our stay. The wonderful suite really made our day, especially after a rather “local” experience in Tsedang and Shigatse the previous two nights. We kept saying that we truly looked forward to returning to the Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, and Four Points did not disappoint us. The decorations of Room 1301 are relatively more sophisticated, like those of the regular Sheraton brand. Again, it is equipped with all the amenities, internet/WiFi one would expect. I am sitting comfortably in a sofa as I write this review.

FOOD:
Breakfast is sufficient with plenty of hot and cold items – please do not expect this to be St. Regis – it would not be a fair comparison. The food is of good quality and matches the Four Points brand.
Similarly, the buffet dinner (at RMB198 for international or RMB238 for international + BBQ) is full of asian and western dishes to satisfy the diversified palates of the hotel guests. There is even a hotpot corner, which clearly was a draw for all diners the evening we ate at Restaurant Oxygen. Highly recommended if you are not in an adventurous mode to seek out the neighbourhood restaurants.

SERVICE and LANGUAGE SKILLS:
Some earlier guest reviews seem to be unhappy with the standard of English of the hotel staff. I did not share their experience at all. I do recognize that some of the staff on duty at the front desk, or the housekeeping staff, might not be able to speak much English. However, there is ALWAYS a more senior staff/supervisor nearby who is proficient in English to assist. All it takes is a little more patience from the guests, I would say. It is unfair to expect every person in the hotel in Tibet to be fluent in English, quite frankly. More importantly, the staff are all very helpful and polite, always ready to assist. Service is swift and precise. We had a little bit of problem with our bathroom during the first two nights of our stay, but the problems were promptly fixed when we reported the issues to the front desk. We were very pleased and grateful.

Overall, we are very, very happy to have chosen the Four Points by Sheraton for our stay in Lhasa. It’s difficult to find fault with Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa in this rather remote corner of the world, if one is fair and objective. To all potential travelers to Lhasa out there, I would strongly urge you to stay here, even though it is more expensive than other hotels in its category. It is an international brand, and it deserves a premium for its quality and service. You will not be disappointed.
We intend to try out the hotel’s massage services, which are very attractively priced, as well as Restaurant Oxygen’s a la carte menu in the next few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OllieOlnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Large Clean room, basic furniture, great customer service. We stayed there Aug 9, 2013 for three nights. Manager Peter Xu went above and beyond to help with a small crises we had. He was professional, caring and thoughtful. He made out stay there comfortable and safe. We highly recommend to stay here.

Doctor on site to help with altitude sickness. Staff will go out of their way to assist. Wifi did not work in room. Room service forgot to bring eating utensils but quickly returned to correct. Location walking to Bankhor and old town. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Try the yak momo dumplings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 341 in Lhasa
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 341 in Lhasa
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 341 in Lhasa
111 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#15 of 341 in Lhasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Address: No.5 Section 1, Linkuo East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Lhasa
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
Sheraton Lhasa
Four Points Lhasa
Lhasa Sheraton
Lhasa Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing