We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Ranked #8 of 362 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Excellent service: Extremely friendly and helpful hotel staff, always with a smile. They helped us a lot when one of us fell sick and needed help. The manager even visited us in the hospital - thanks a lot for this most helpful service and friendly support we have experienced so far!
Moreover, the hotel is in a great location, just a five minute walk from Jokhang Temple and the center of Lhasa, but still very quiet and relaxing. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, food is great. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA_K1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you take your precious time to leave us the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay.
It is a pleasure to learn that you satisfy with our facilities and services, we sincerely welcome you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa in the short future and create another impressive vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 242 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Spacious hotel room. The staff tries their best and does fine. The front desk staff speak decent English, and the others speak less English. The room has a humidifier, which we used. Oxygen bottles in the room, which we didn't use. The hotel checks out umbrellas, which we used for sun protection.

We walked to the Barkhor Circuit and Jokhang Temple, with interesting shops along the way -- a real treat. You have to cross a 4-lane street with no traffic signal. Watch the locals and cross with them, or wait for a break in the traffic. The traffic is much lighter than larger cities in China.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charley280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent visit at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
We're very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and satisfy all of our services and facilities.certaily, Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa is always a perfect choice for rest and relaxation.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Four Points with our tour group in September, 2011. Our room was great. Modern, spacious and a great heater in the bathroom. The buffet selection and display for breakfast and dinner were fantastic. And the staff was professional and very dedicated.....I accidently misplaced a gold wedding band and couldn't find it by the time we had to check out. After numerous emails between Mr. Liu and myself and a thorough inspection and cleaning of our room, my ring was found outside, in the grass, by room attendant Ms. Minday. And is now back on my finger. Thank you mr. Liu and the Housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
It's our honor to offer a nice stay, friendly service and comfortable facilities to you.
We're happy to learn that you're satisfied with everything in our hotel. Certainly, we will pass your warm thanks to our staffs regarding finding your wedding band and definitely they’re more than happy to offer their assistance to make your stay at home.
Once again, thank you very much for the praise that you gave to our team and we are look forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here during a 2 week trip to China. Most of the othe places that we stayed were much more comfrotable. But remeber that this is TIbet and it is not like the rest of China. That being said this is a reasonable choice. It is a 3 star hotel. Very simple and basic. Rooms are Scandinavian style clean and basic. However there is always hot water and the toilets work. We had trouble with the heat in our room and the manager promply changed it for us. The staff aims to please and that is what makes this a good place to stay. Food is not great but is edible. We found this to be what we liked least about this hotel. Breakfast has variety but little tast. Dinners were not great but ther were few choices around. Location is not great but it is not worth paying triple to stay at the St Regis. We saw it.

Also to avoid altitude sickness see your doctor and get acetazolamide. We took it abnd had not problems

Room Tip: stay in main building there is an elvator
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
We're very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here in general. Your feedback is valuable to us as it helps us improve the facilities and food taste in the future to better meet our guest needs, we will share your comments with hotel management team and focus on improving the issues you mentioned.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I suppose before writing a review for any hotel in Tibet, you must consider the harsh inaccessibility of this gorgeous remote part of the world, and you have to remember that most of the time, the staff are trying their best to provide you with a decent place to stay, even though they sometimes fall short of the mark.

If I was rating Four Points Lhasa as a regular hotel in a modern city, it would be considered an average, pretty decent business hotel. Nothing special.

However, because I returned to Four Points after a 5 day road trip outside Lhasa and immediately after 8 hours on the road in a 4WD, I would rate Four Points Sheraton as easily one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

It's easy to start with the negative points...................
- Breakfast buffet was not fantastic. Somehow, food doesn't taste exactly as it should. eg. The bread is lumpy and comes chilled, the cheese is rock hard because the weather is just so darn cold, the noodles are dry and stuck together because.... they are cold
- The hotel lobby is tiny and dull
- There is no wi-fi in the hotel room
- The "business centre" is a strange little room by the side of the reception with old computers and malfunctioning printers
- We spent an inordinate amount of time (on two separate occasions!) trying to explain to the staff that our room will be paid for by our tour agency
- The sliding wooden door to our bathroom was jammed and required brute force to open and close it

BUT, I would still consider this hotel a heavenly oasis in Tibet, because :

- After a 5 day road trip outside of Lhasa, this place looks, feels and smells like a million bucks
- There's lovely hot water at all times
- Beds are extremely comfortable, huge and simply heavenly
- Everything is fantastically clean, sheets are crisp and stark white, pillows are fluffy
- Room service (especially when you're returning to the room after 8 hours on the road) is delicious because you get your familiar comforts (eg. spaghetti carbonara, wonton soup, warm walnut tart) after days of roadside restaurant foods
- There is a humidifer in the room!! This small gesture was greatly appreciated, you wouldn't realise how big a difference it makes until you're there
- The staff are generally helpful, though it helps if you speak Mandarin

The location isn't the best - it's in a quiet area of town and you're a 15 minute walk to the heart of Barkhor Street. But there are convenience stalls just opposite the hotel where you can get basic supplies like water.

In short, if you need your creature comforts in a western style hotel, this is THE place to stay in Lhasa. At a more affordable rate than St Regis but actually still rather pricey by any standards.

Room Tip: 1215 or 1216 - you get to tap onto the free wi-fi at the ground floor hotel lobby
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlasticTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa and we appreciate that you take your precious time to give us the valuable feedback.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. The hotel management will further reinforce training and supervision to ensure that similar occurrences are not happened again in the future.

Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa has always been committed to offer a nice stay, friendly service and comfortable facilities to our guest, and we have no excuses for our service shortfall. We hope that the inconveniences will not mar your overall impression of Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

FOUR POINTS SHERATON LHASA

Typical Sheraton Four Points. Rooms have hardwood floors, comfortable beds, rain shower with no tub. Rooms are comfortable but the HVAC is not very good. HVAC has a remote control which is written in Chinese. If you look on the back of the remote the instructions are in English. A/C is under a window sill so the air flow is directed onto the floor. The air flow is very weak. We had it checked out but were told it was working. There is a window seat with two pillows which comes in handy if you cannot sleep due to the high altitude. The minibar features oxygen for purchase but again instructions are in Chinese. You are given 2 bottles of complementary water. You can buy water and oxygen directly across from the front entrance at several “convenience stores”. The prices at the store are really cheap. Snacks are also sold there.

The restaurant Oxygen at the hotel serves a wonderful breakfast buffet and buffet dinner. The buffet dinner is a bit pricy.

A word about the altitude. When we first arrived in Lhasa we developed a headache that passed after a day or two. Check with you doctor before you go to make sure you are ok to go. The minor issues we had were a headache, cough, loss of appetite, upset stomach, nausea and inability to sleep at night. You need to rest the first day, eat very little and take it slow. The hotel does have a doctor and portable oxygen which we did not use. No one in our group of 7 had any major difficulty other than that mentioned. Other groups were not as lucky. The doctor was seen several times in the halls rolling the oxygen tank to a room! An ambulance came during the night to take someone to the hospital.

The hotel looks like a warehouse form the outside but it fits in with the local architecture. The lobby is very small with a red glass chandelier. There is also a refrigerated glass case with various cakes, pastries and beverages for sale.

This hotel is good for Lhasa and better than expected with a friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Single beds can be into queen beds.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUCKETLISTTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
It's our honor to offer a nice stay, friendly service and comfortable facilities to you, We're happy that you have enjoyed your vacation here.
We highly appreciate your valuable feedback, and we'll focus on improving the issues that you mentioned.We sincerely hope that the minor inconvenience didn't affect your entire vacation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We staid 4 nights in the Sheraton. The beds are very comfortable. The mattress is soft ! like at home. You do not find it often in China ! The room is well furnished with a humidifier because the air is very dry in Tibet. My mum and I could sleep quite well despite of the high altitude 3,600 meters.

The buffet in the morning is huge and the variety from western to asian dishes is great. I liked a lot the croissants with chocolate. They had cheese and meet, youghurt, lot of pastries etc. We had all our dinners in the restaurant at the Sheraton and the buffett was great as well as the à la carte dishes. There is only one very nice lady who is fluent in English at the restaurants. She is managing the whole restaurant because the other staff does not speak English.

In the garden you can relax on the chairs and sofas after sightseeing. It was very peaceful there.

The hotel has a doctor on duty but we were very happy that we were healthy and did not get the high altitude sickness. If you feel bad there is a button close to the bed where you can call aide.

As tour guide we recommend Purpo Tsering / www.thetibettour.com which was an excellent tour guide during the 5 days. We booked the 5 days tour in Switzerland trough our travel agency in Zurich which recommed this leader.

If you wanna have European standard in Lhasa I fully recommend the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L, Hotel Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
We're very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and satisfy all of our facilities.certaily,Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa is always a perfect choice for rest and relaxation,and you'll always find the delicious food to your taste in our restaurant.
Once again,thank you for you comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 362 in Lhasa
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 362 in Lhasa
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#7 of 362 in Lhasa
114 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#33 of 362 in Lhasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa

Address: No.5 Section 1, Linkuo East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $74 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
4 Points By Sheraton Lhasa
Sheraton Lhasa
Four Points Lhasa
Lhasa Sheraton
Lhasa Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing