We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute And Comfy Kyichu”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Ranked #7 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute And Comfy Kyichu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

After a few weeks travelling across China in quite variable hotels, I was delighted to spend 4 nights in Kyichu Hotel.

The common areas for guests are adorned with Tibetan art, beautifully furnished, decorated and immaculately clean.

The bedroom was spacious, warm and very comfortable. Overlooking the courtyard meant for a tranquil nights sleep and on brighter days, the courtyard itself was a nice place to chillax.

The buffet breakfast was simple, western and uninspiring though service friendly and coffee topups regular. The yoghurt with honey and fresh fruit saved the day.

Any future opportunity to return to Lhasa, I wouldn't look any further than the Kyichu. It's a nice place to spend time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
21
60
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Reading the reviews from Kyichu Hotel it looks like two different Hotels, depending on which room you pick. I was unlucky with my room I belive. It was big however it was old and not well maintained. The shower was hot and the internet worked nicely inside the room. The breakfast was resonable and the courtyard was great for relaxing. It is well located also, 10 minutes walking from Potala Palace.

Room Tip: Ask to visit different rooms and pick one. Apparently there is a big difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a room on the 3rd floor that looked out to the courtyard. The afternoon sun shone in and heated it up so it was warm. It had hot water for showers which is a bonus. The room was a bit shabby. There were stains all over the roof and walls from a bottle of coke exploding due to altitude - it could have done with a repaint. Breakfast was average. There was a selection of hot food. The staff seemed rushed and a bit moody. Best to get down to breakfast early before the groups come in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeAberdeenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice at the Kyichu Hotel. First time had rooms 101 and 102 and they are really bad - dirty, everything broken, cold. Second time I stayed in room 218 and 319 they were spacious, clean, floor heating (or it at least seamed like). So make sure you get a good room. Location is great, garden very nice and restaurant also very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

First the positives:
* a great location in old town
* a fabulous courtyard
* an adequate restaurant: western breakfast was served but the food was not high quality (few choices and often cold) but the Indian food dinner was delicious
* our room was quiet and relatively clean
*plenty of hot water and pressure in the shower
* cool tibetan decor
*nice staff
* good wifi

Now the negatives: (we stayed in the old building)
*the room felt like a jail cell--only one window looking into another building (some rooms look into the courtyard. they might be different)
*cracks and holes in the walls and ceilings
*filthy carpet
* no heat
*the hardest beds in the world with springs poking us

Bottom line: for a night or 2, it's fine. for an extended stay: look elsewhere

Lhasa is excellent!! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Hotel is in the centrally located place. Near to Monastries, Potala palace etc. The management is very nice and very co-operative. Though we had some language problem, but it was well sorted thru Hotel Management. The Rooms are too cool.; The restaurant and stff very friendly. The vegetarian meals was no problem at all. The rstaurant has an Indian cook who takes care of Indian/ vegetarian food. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KantilalMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this hotel in Lhasa! It is owned and managed by the local Tibets and is one block from Barkhor street which is the main thoroughfare in Lhasa. The staff was very helpful and the
restaurant food was good. There was also a courtyard with several tables and chairs where one could have a beer or soft drink. The room and bed was very comfortable and quiet (room 213 in
the main building).

Room Tip: Most rooms were in the rear where they were away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.7 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Property: Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing