We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming old hotel and a spot of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Ranked #7 of 361 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Kyichu Hotel is located on Lhasa's main street next to a busy bus stop, 5 minutes walk from Barkhor Street and Jokhang Temple and about 15 minutes walk from Potala Palace. The hotel entrance is very unassuming but when you walk into the courtyard at the back of the hotel you are transported in a gentile and serene garden where tourists and locals gather to have long lunches and pass the afternoon away playing cards. And they have an espresso machine and they make good lattes!

I stayed at the Kyichu for 2 days at the beginning of my trip and 3 days at the end. Both times, my rooms overlook the courtyard which was quiet at night. I stayed in an older room at the front of the hotel and, later, a newer room at the back of the hotel. The rooms are large by USA standards. Both rooms had a flat screen TV, a hot water kettle and complimentary Chinese tea. Free WiFi is available in the hotel but the signal was weak in my rooms. The shower in the older room did not drain properly. There was an ethernet socket in the newer room which I could plug my wireless router into.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the dining area next to the courtyard. Breakfast is hot and cold western continental buffet. Dinner and lunch menus had western, nepalese and local dishes. Their Nepalese curries were quite good and so was the Sizzling Yak hot plate.

The staff was friendly and greeted everyone with a smile. Most of them spoke English. They made my stay very pleasant indeed and made a good hotel a great experience.

Room Tip: The newer rooms at the back of the hotel are better
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EngYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spent with my family two weeks in the hotel. We loved it and Kyichu hotel will be only adress for our next visit. The Team there was always very friendly and nothing was too much. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and on a very busy street, however, moment you enter the hotel, its like a different world of peace and harmony, what one would expect in and from Tibet. Offers a high quality of authentic Tibetan, Westen, Indian and Nepalese dishes. My kids loved Yak Burger!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tashi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved our stay at Kyichu in Lhasa. The staff was great and helpful. They have an elevator which really helps with getting to the higher floors (especially when you're getting used to the high altitude). Our room was huge and had 2 double size beds and a couple of sofas with a separate dressing area. Our room also over looked the garden which was very pretty and tranquil. The restaurant serves western and asian style food and was one of the best restaurants we went to in Tibet. The Kyichu Hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance to Barkhor Street and Potala Palace. There is also a supermarket/convenience store diagonally across the street to stock up on water and snacks. Overall, I would say the Kyichu Hotel was great value for money (we paid 320 RMB per room with two double beds, which we booked over email directly with the hotel) and a great start to your stay in Tibet!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitt3n89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Caters mainly to Western tourists...most staff speak some English. Except for one notable exception in the restaurant, everyone was helpful and friendly. However do not expect Western standards and facilities,. Breakfast was average, they do have a good Nepali and Tibetan restaurant. . All rooms do not have air conditioning only air coolers.This together with the adjustment to the high altitude contributed to the poor quality of sleep. There is a quiet garden in the centre. The plus point include its central location. You are able to walk to the Potala Palace and Bakhor Square.The Internet is iffy and works only on some days.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishdocbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

With a dizzying number of places to stay in Lhasa, look no further unless you want to spend a mint at the hoity toity St. Regis. I've had the great pleasure of being able to stay at the Kyichu Hotel four times now over the past years and it's become my home away from home in Tibet. This last time I was there for 17 days as a I deepened my understanding of Lhasa.
In a nutshell:
* The location can't be beat...walking distance to the Potala, Jokhang, Barkhor, grocery stores, good places to eat, blind massage studios (not to be missed).
* The staff are ALL superb....friendly, smiling and just great.
* The restaurant is super.
* The couryard is an oasis among the clamor and toot-tooting of Beijing Lu outside the front door.

I've travelled extensively and the Kyichu is the one place I look forward the most to returning to.

Tashi delek!

Room Tip: The newer wing has a number of superior rooms. My favorite is 109.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank albert_davet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We moved here from Hotel Yashi Phunkhang Heritage . It was down the street. We were much happier here. Our room was in the new building and had nice wood floors, not cold concrete like at the Heritage and central heat, not two space heaters placed on the floor. Another difference was the restaurant was open and bright and the food was good. The only problem with this hotel was getting the shower water to be warm, not cold or too hot .We tried two rooms with the same problem. The staff was very nice and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I enjoyed every minute of my stay, feeling totally relaxed and feel so much at home. All staff & management are service oriented, extending warm and genuine hospitality which is so lacking in most 5 star rated hotels. It's a bliss to have coffee by the garden courtyard in the midst of peach blossoms, tinkling of water cascade from the mantra water fountain, fluttering of prayer flags, and birds twitters. Hotel is centrally located and is within easy walking distance to most must-see places in Lhasa. There's WIFI service provided and fret not if you didn't bring your lap top as it's also provided in the restaurant for internet access without charges.
All in all, it's a good place to stay for the value and experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 361 in Lhasa
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 361 in Lhasa
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 361 in Lhasa
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.7 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $44 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing