We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Ranked #6 of 374 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed October 19, 2011

As a budget backpacker, I normally do not stay in hotels, preferring instead to stay in locals' homes and hostels. However, my travel companions (two "high maintenance" females) wanted to stay in more upscale establishments. So I grudgingly agreed to try out this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel's offerings, given its budget class rating. Its location is quite superb, within a 5 minute walk of Barkhor Square and Jokhang Temple. The Potala Palace is only a 15-minute walk away. The rooms themselves are fairly commodious. I especially appreciated the heat lamps in the bathroom ceiling, especially after a shower in the cold evening. However, of the five nights spent at the hotel, I had a hot shower for only one night. The bathroom itself is very clean and modern, with faux marble walls and flooring. We stayed in this hotel in November, when it was quite cold at night. Fortunately, the hotel staff is happy to provide portable heaters if you so request them. The hotel has a functioning elevator, which some people may find welcome (particularly if you are suffering from altitude sickness). I stayed on the third floor, so I just used the nicely-angled stairway. As for the hotel restaurant, I only partook breakfast. In addition to the usual Western breakfast fare, the restaurant also offers a traditional Tibetan breakfast. Since I was in Tibet, why not try it? I was especially eager to try the Yak Butter Tea after having heard many travellers vilify it, with one likening its taste to "unwashed athletic socks". The first impression that came to my mind after the first cup was "Ovaltine". It was somewhat sweet but not altogether a gag-inducing beverage. In fact, I was to order Yak Butter Tea as my preferred drink over our two and half week stay in Tibet. I recommend that everyone try it at least once. Overall, I enjoyed this hotel. By the way, do consider visiting Tibet in November. There are few travellers (Chinese and others) to encounter; many Tibetan faithful make their pilgrimages to Lhasa at this time; and the skies at Mt Everest are usually clearer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JODYxBUFFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Pros:
--Well -situated on the main road within walking distance of Potala Palace, Jokhang Temple, and Barkhar Bazaar.
--Nice courtyard for an afternoon cappuccino.
--Hot buffet breakfast including stewed tomatoes, bacon, eggs, toast, tea, and coffee.
--Firm mattress and comfortable beds.
--Free wifi in courtyard and restaurant, but can be slow and unreliable.
--Elevator to all 4 floors.

Cons:
--Noisy at night due to location on the main street. Bring ear plugs. Lots of construction across the street.
--Lots of mold in the room.
--Cleaned the bathroom every other day.
--Strong smell of incense throughout hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is located on the Beijing main street, which is very convenient. The room is quite good for an old hotel, and it has a little garden on the back. If your room is in the back area, be prepare to walk up the stairs as there's no lift. This quite a challenge in the first day of your arrival in the city. The hotel restaurant serves very good food, although the price is a bit high for Lhasa standard. Bhakor street is just a 10 min walk away, and there's also a huge supermarket only 5 min away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Game_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed there for two nights, then I had to leave because my friend could not stand the altitude and unlickly we have had to leave immediately.
The hotel is not a 5 star (not even a 4) but it is one of those places that has some magic. The location is very convinient (easy to reach everithing) and the garden inside is really really relaxing. The restaurant is pretty good at lunch and dinner (I would work a little bit more on the brakfast that could be better).
Rooms are big, clean and simple. Everything you need, but no frills.
I would suggest to go there especially for the people who work there who are really lovely. We have had to leave in a rush. They made part of my luggages and anything were missing. Great place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baroun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Excellent value for money- good location, nice garden to relax after daily activites. Good rooms. Most of staff speak English, what seems to be difficult in Tibet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato-Mariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a large tour group in mid-May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My rooms was spacious, clean, and even the beds were comfortable for westerners (they are usually harder according to Chinese standards). The room had two beds, a desk, TV, bathroom, and the window opened up into the inner courtyard which made it quieter during our stay. The only inconvenience was the inconsisten water pressure in the shower. On the first two mornings I waited for a couple of mintues for the water to start coming through the shower head. (We were on the third floor so maybe it just needed to build up pressure.) The breakfast was filling and offer selections selections such as eggs, cereals, fruits, orange juice, toast, and other western favorites. The hotel was modest looking from the outside, but don't let that fool you. It is a full-service hotel with a nice adequate lobby and reception desk, elevator, restaurant, and gift shop. The view from the roof of Potala Palace all lit up is spectacular! The hotel is only about a block or two walk to Old Town Lhasa. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the view of Potala Palace from the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Really top-notch hotel - we had a great room - the beds were the most comfortable, warm and soft beds we'd had for two weeks - the ensuite was newly refurbished and was superbly clean (beware the hot/cold taps though - if you want hot water, turn the tap towards the blue dot, not the red one!). Our ensuite door handle came off in our hand, but was soon fixed - but these are all slight niggles in what was a great hotel. The staff were brilliant, the internet worked, the food was good and they did a very early breakfast on request. The hotel is half-way between the Potala Palace and the Barkhor, so really good for sightseeing and just round the corner from the Summit Cafe coffee shop, which caters for all the tourists, with their great range of coffees etc. Really quite sorry when it was time to leave........

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 374 in Lhasa
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#8 of 374 in Lhasa
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 374 in Lhasa
101 reviews
0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 374 Hotels in Lhasa
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing