We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great tour

Very reliable tour , Vivien was very helpful especially since the paperwork is complicated to get... read more

Reviewed November 23, 2018
Julie P
via mobile
SPECTACULAR!!! China, Tibet, Nepal - Beijing, Xian, Lahasa, Everest, Kathmandu

Our group of four retired guys, all seasoned worldwide adventure travelers, had a 3 week incredible... read more

Reviewed November 11, 2018
stanekj5
Read all 119 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lhasa
from $850.00
More Info
from $266.08
More Info
from $1,125.00
More Info
from $580.00
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
103
13
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
13
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews detailed instructions tour guide day trip tibet permit magical trip potala palace everest base camp travel agent local guide hotel accommodations tour members foreign tourists interesting things high altitude plane tickets booking process took great care
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Very reliable tour , Vivien was very helpful especially since the paperwork is complicated to get for Tibet, he was very quick to respond to all our questions! I strongly recommend !!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Our group of four retired guys, all seasoned worldwide adventure travelers, had a 3 week incredible private tour organized by Johnson Wang with Tibet Discovery. At each destination, from our landing in Beijing and throughout our trek across three countries (by plane, bullet train, touring vans, and mountain jeep) and ultimate departure from Kathmandu, Johnson had a top guide, driver, and vehicle attending to us from the time we landed in China to the time we left for the USA 3 weeks later. Along the way any question, request, or plan change we wanted to make Johnson was super responsive and accommodated our needs. Can't say enough about the service and itinerary, including all the sites, restaurants, hotels, and great food.

Especially want to mention our outstanding guides - Jeans Hsu in Beijing, Timo in Xian, LaQiong in Tibet; and I highly recommend that when in Nepal ask to be guided by Ghana Nepal who accompanied us over nine days. We had a great time with Ghana, just a wonderful, pleasant, and talented person. (I believe Ghana is also affiliated with Nepal Dream Travel in Kathmandu).

One comment about Tibet, hotel staff at the Intercontinental in Lhasa did not have a good command of English. Not too much of an issue but expectations were higher. When in Tibet adjust expectations. A good guide really helps.

Thank you Johnson and team!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank stanekj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

When I first asked about Tours available, everything was very good, they always answered me all the questions I had for everything.
But you have to know that when you take the trip, everything is amazing, formidable and excellent. I can not say with Word what perfect and how Hard the agency works for doing everything all right. All the guides, all the tours, all the meals included and overall all the sightseeings and landscapes are great, perfect, amazing and incredible.
The service is very professional. Wonder, the person Who attended us our requests about the tour is an excellent manager, he is always worried for you and looking if you are having a great time and enjoying.
The tour it's one of the best I have ever had, all the guides where awesome, everybody is taking carne of you, and trying to have everything perfect.
They always are waiting you in the correct time, at the correct place, in excellent service, so if you are taking the tour with them, you Will have to worry only for having a great time, and keep walking and make this time unforgettable.
I strongly recommend the tours with them, it's really perfect, and really excellent personas everybody. Just don't think there is a better option than this.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Voyage635593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We just returned from the trip of a lifetime. But before I begin my review I would like to thank our kind and very attentive tour organizer at Tibet Discovery, Riley Guo, who arranged this memorable trip for us. All worked out so very well for us, from arranging the required permits, the pick up at Lhasa airport, the whole tour itself, till the arrangement of crossing the Nepalese border, passing immigration and a drive to Kathmandu. All went very smooth and Ms. Riley was always there for us - thank you so much!

Traveling from Guangzhou to Lhasa by plane, we were warmly welcomed (Tashi Delek) at the airport and a driver who was already waiting for us brought us to our hotel in downtown Lhasa, where we indeed had to take it easy and adjust to the high altitude (3,600 m). The next day we met our native tour guide Dorjee (I hope I spell his name right) who proved to be a very special and an 'one of a kind' tour guide. Very professional, bright, well introduced and gifted with a good sense of humor. In short, a person you would like to have around. After staying in and around Lhasa for 2 days, visiting Drepung and Sera Monastery, the famous Potala Palace and Jokhang, we headed in the direction of Shigatse, together with 2 other people in our group.

The second part of our trip was towards Tingri and Everest Basecamp, where we had the privilege to be the only persons left of the initial group, so it was just both of us and the tour guide and driver. Mainly driving all day for 2 more days, the high mountains and mountain-desert landscape proved to be unbelievable scenic. Also everybody we encountered greeted us with curious smiles and kindness. Our guide allowed for many stops. Although we had to skip two monasteries on the way - the program turned out to be a bit ambitious time wise - we now had plenty of time to visit the Everest Basecamp. We arrived at the end of the afternoon to witness Everest at dusk. And going down to a guesthouse in a small village at a lower height, which turned out be interestingly basic, we returned the next day very early to witness dawn - personally my most favorite moment. The Everest is really mother of all mountains - very beautiful! And we feel very lucky and grateful that we have seen all this splendid nature with clear blue skies. Like Dorjee used to say with a big smile: "Just a matter of good karma.." We will never forget this - thank you so much for all!

Date of experience: November 2018
4  Thank Mischa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

I would say that Tibet trip organized by Tibet Discovery was one of the memorable trip ever. Tibet is blessed with good landscaping. Each corner has scenic beauty and lots of culture. People are very welcoming.

The tour guides assigned for our trip were knowledgeable and very friendly. Especially, our tour guide Dhargye and driver, who took us around in Tibet was very good and polite. He had a way to make you feel like local and unlike many guides gave ample time to absorb the culture and surrounding. He knew everything big or small about Tibet. No matter, if it was food, people, crowd, timings, altitudes... anything. His small small tips created the wonders in our whole journey. He never followed the crowd, so we saw and experienced the best ALWAYS. On food front, we are pure vegetarian but had lot of options (except in train) because of our guide. His choice of restaurants (even small ones) was excellent.

The 36 hours train journey was taxing but with beautiful Tibet plateaus around us it was bearable. I would recommend to take train from Xining rather than Chengdu (if one can skip Panda breeding centre).

The hotels were bit of let down. We stayed at Hotel Mansarovar in Shigaste and Hotel Gang Gyan in Lhasa. Both these hotels were below average without any concept of customer service.

The landscapes, Mt. Everest or the holy monstrosities make this trip a must do for everyone. Definitely, Tibet is a land of mysteries and with right guide it can be very welcoming. So, thanks a lot to the trip organizers for organizing an excellent trip.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Dheeraj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews