We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Dhood Gu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dhood Gu Hotel
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Lhasa
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights. Very good location close to square and johkang monastery. Loved the rooftop patio. The food was fine. Clean rooms. Stayed in the upper floors....climbing the stairs with altitude sickness wasn't too fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
38
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great location and truly outstanding managerial staff. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfasts were very good, one other meal we ate there was also quite good. Space heater provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This hotel was great, close to Barkhor square and the Johkang monastery. The food was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and apart from the hard bed (which is the norm through China, Tibet & Nepal) was comfortable. The view from the window was excellent and the place was very quiet. Always had hot water and we couldn't have been happier.
Even had an elevator so you didn't have to heave the rucksacks up four flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors so you have a view of either the Porata Palace or Sera Monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReptonChris1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for 5 nights and then a week later for another 3 nights. We loved the charming Tibetan furnishings and the friendly, helpful staff. Our first room was quite small but faced onto an alley and was quiet. The beds are fairly hard but this is typical of China. the room was clean and the small bathroom was quite functional. the breakfasts were great and they will cook omelettes, scrambled eggs etc to order. It was all delicious. Our second room was on a higher floor and at the back of the hotel and we had an amazing view of the Potala Palace in the distance- it was magical, especially at night! the position in the Tibetan part of town can't be beaten- it is a short stroll to Barkhor square and the Jokhang Temple. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel for anyone interested in Tibetan culture- it is not a 5 star hotel, but it is perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or on the side alley are quieter, rooms overlooking the courtyard would be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
224 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Small-ish, cosy, warm, comfortable rooms, richly decorated in traditional Tibetan style. A great location right on Barkhor bazaar and a few minutes walk to Jokhang temple. Very friendly and helpful staff. After several days on the road from Kathmandu it was a warm and welcoming experience to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Although location is great, within 2 blocks of the pilgrim Kora and with views of the Potala palace this hotel has lot's to be desired. Unbearable tough beds, shredded linen sheets, spotty water pressure(sometimes none) and poor house keeping. Small rooms. The service it's very attentive and they try their best, they just don't have a clue. The decor is typical Tibetan and nice but, Lhasa has much better hotels than this. Avoid it if you have some other options.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a higher floors rooms with views of the Potala Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerdieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lhasa hotels

Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Dhood Gu is located within a block or so of the bazaar and main temple in Lhasa. It is charming, with traditionally painted and decorated rooms. The bathrooms are very western and functional, which was a hit. The staff is particularly attentive and friendly. For example, when we asked for a restaurant recommendation, the desk clerk dropped what he was doing and walked us over to the recommended place, about 10-15 minutes away. The breakfasts are quite good. We stayed there three nights and would be happy to return. If you go, don't miss climbing to the roof and seeing the Potala Palace by night. Wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris32137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 341 in Lhasa
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 341 in Lhasa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#7 of 341 in Lhasa
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhood Gu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhood Gu Hotel

Property: Dhood Gu Hotel
Address: No.19 Shasarsu Road, Trom Si Khang, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Lhasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhood Gu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dhood Gu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhood Gu
Dhood Gu Lhasa
Dhood Gu Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing