We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lhasa
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Your tour operator will probably pick your hotel. This is a good choice. The rooms are a good size. It needs a renovation but the rooms are clean and slippers are provided. Our room was in the back section which I would suggest you request if you are not accustomed to street noise. During our stay the city was installing natural gas lines so it was very dusty and noisy in front of the hotel. The breakfast is on the 4th or 5th floor terrace. NO LIFT. But worth the climb for both the view and the assortment of hot and cold items for breakfast. Will also make omeletes or eggs any style. Wi-FI throughout the hotel. Enjoy it because if you go to other locations you may not find it. Most restaurants in Lhasa also have wi-fi. Forget about data on your smartphone.
The location is great because there are many restaurants and shops to walk. Directly across the street in another hotel is the best restaurant in Tibet.(walk through a gift shop). Lovely garden and wait staff. We were not thrilled with Dunya. I would consider it average. There is a bakery across the street from the hotel to the left. It looks like green neon. It had wonderful cookies. You can point and a calculator will be used to show the total. We were even more disappointed with Lhasa Kitchen.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandie-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
15
50
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The name of this hotel is Lhasa Yak Hotel. The rooms in particular the bathrooms would benefit from a renovation. Rooms facing the street probably noicy. Roof terrace with view of Potala. The restaurant Dunya next door serving westernes a good choice of eetern and local food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qinghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is very close to Potala Palace Square. just few minutes i think. i walked to my hotel from Potala Palace.

There are garden and lawn near to the parking lot in the hotel. the water pressure, safety and health environment are not a case i think.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonD918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a back room, which was average. The room on the front side was plush although the street noise was greater. The folks at the Dunya next door are very nice and provide a good average fare. Hot water and a nice shower...you don't find that everywhere!
Breakfast on the 5th floor is well worth the climb!

Room Tip: Front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Was surprised reading some of the poor reviews here - I found this hotel excellent. Stayed as part of a group overlanding across Tibet so was not a personal choice.

Brilliant location, 5 minutes walk from Jokhang Temple etc, 15 mins from Potola Palace. I found the staff warm and friendly. No there are no lifts but this is Tibet (and in our case small, friendly women half our size carried our big bags up and down to our rooms.)

Rooms were cozy and beautifully decoated. The beds were clean and warm and the room serviced daily. We had hot water every day for 5 days and clean, fresh towels. Wifi was fine on my iPhone (though I did hear it was slower on laptops etc - but again, this is Tibet people, not downtown NYC or London). TV with a huge channel selection (all Chinese).

The adjoined Dunya restaurant does fab brekkies (and lunch/dinner) though I didnt find the owner very personable and the upstairs can get quite smoky. Theres also a lovely rooftop restaurant in the hotel (if you can survive the 5-flight trek at 3,600m!) with views of the Potola Palace (until they finish construction of the new building that lies directly in the way!).

Overall I liked this hotel alot and having travelled extensively in Asia and stayed in all kinds of accommodations, this one I would definately recommend

Room Tip: Request a room in Building B (this is at the back whereas Building A faces onto the Main Street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have read bad reviews of the Yak Hotel in Lhasa but my agent included this hotel in my package and claimed its a nice hotel. I then stayed in the Yak Hotel in early Feb 2012. This hotel is a traveler's nightmare! See my pictures in this review. The beds are tired, the sheets are brownish and torn (see pic), the bathroom is filthy and falling apart (see pic), the carpets are disgustingly dirty (see pic). On my last day I arrived at the included buffet (egg and potato every day) breakfast 40 minutes BEFORE the end of breakfast, and was just told "finish, breakfast finish!". I insisted on food but was told the fridge is empty. When I complained to the front desk, I was told its not her problem, and I should complain to the kitchen. By the way, the previous days there was breakfast, but incredibly boring. AVOID this place. I then moved to the "New Mandala Hotel" ....what a relief!!! Nice place indeed.

Room Tip: Don't try to get a nice room here. AVOID this place! If your travel agent insists on this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lhasa hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Small room, no lift, terrible internet wifi. If you are in three people don't ask for a extra bed, ask another room, the room is too small for 3 people. In this altitude any few steps are a challenge, imagine whith bags.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 340 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 340 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 340 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yak Hotel

Property: Yak Hotel
Address: No.100 Beijing East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Yak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yak Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing