We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Lhasa
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here after spending the coldest night of our lives in a expensive 4 star hotel without heating and without hot water, so this seemed perfect to us.
Perfect value for money: clean, accurate and well located, in the city center. Breakfast simple but correct. Tibetan staff very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meri_tamon_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
15
50
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good hotel in the center of the city. Only a couple of minutes away from Jokhang and 15 minutes walking from Potala Palace. It is the perfect place to explore the city.
Breakfast is buffet and is ok but it is always the same.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SergeSchmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Second floor room, street facing - organized as part of a tour.
You know where I'm going with this, right?

Actually the Yak ain't half bad. Room was traditional Tibetan decor, two single beds, desk, chairs, with plenty of amenities ( bathrobes, slippers, daily toothbrush kits, soap, shampoo, tea). Housekeeping swept and mopped hardwood floors in room daily. Tv had one English station - CCTV, wifi worked relatively good during the stay. Bathroom was clean except for the stinky dirty shower curtain. SRSLY? I opened it so housekeeper would notice, no action taken on their part. Odd since so much time spent cleaning rest of bathroom.

Noise - honk honk honk was constant thru 22:00 then quieted down. Can feel the springs on the mattress - fine the first night or two, exhausted after travel could have slept on a rock, but after 3 days it was just painful.

Location - excellent as others have stated. Quick eats, drinks or oxygen ( if u needed it) all a minute away.

Overall it's a decent stay for a couple days. Beyond that, I would recommend staying somewhere else more reliable in terms of cleanliness and a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Not street-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days upon arrival in Lhasa to acclimatize to the altitude. Location is good just across from Bakhor square. However, we were allocated a main road facing room as courtyard inward facing rooms are smaller. On the 1st night, we were woken up at 2am to see Tibetan lady being beaten & forced into a SUV by 2 men from hotel across the road. That was pretty scary for 1st night in Tibet.

The hotel has no heaters or safe. There are safe deposit pigeon holes in room behind check in counter on 1st come 1st served basis. Counter staff are downright rude and unhelpful. Luckily there is a pleasant young lady at the tour desk next to hotel counter who could help us with directions to St Regis hotel where we went for nice buffet dinner on return leg to Lhasa.

There is no elevator so you need to lug your own luggage to your rooms upstairs. Luckily we had room at end of stairway. Breakfast is on 4th floor roof top in the cold morning air with a pathetic spread. The only saving grace is a view of the Potola Palace about 2km away.

Overall, the hotel feels filthy like a backpacker's hostel (they have a backpacker rear wing which is really filthy). There are many other 3 star hotels in Lhasa around the Bakhor Square area which are much cleaner and offer better service/food and has elevators (we stayed at another on return leg as Yak was full for one day - what a relief!!!).

Please don't be tricked by Lonely Planet's recommendations. The book is outdated for Lhasa.
Yak Hotel in Shigatse is even worse - toilet doesn't drain & there is a terrible smell emancipating from the drainage. Again, no heater in room & breakfast sucks.

Room Tip: Please stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divespyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lhasa hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Yak Hotel for 4 nights in October 2011. The location of the hotel is great, right in the Tibetan quater of town close to both the Potala and Jokhang.

The breakfast was pretty poor but the view from the roof top was fantastic. We has room 9207 which is on the 2nd floor at the back. The main advantage is it's quiet and overlooks the courtyard rather than the busy street, though the room is quiet dark. The bathroom is also a glass box at the back of the room meaning there is no bathroom privacy.

All the staff were very friendly and make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: If quiet is a priority as for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

the location of the hotel is fab, make sure you get a room at the top floor as they seem to be the best.
view from the roof top to Potala and the hills, free wifi available.
Breakfast as buffet at Dunya was nice, but only of its included.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunchforone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

NO elevators, many stairs; small decent LOOKing, crammed rm. Spacious bath. Noisy hotel w/loud laughing & talking til 2 & 3 a.m. Advertised business center was NOT open, NO WiFi. Good location but not very clean; thick carpet was filthy with many stains & what looked like 2 years top filth. Requested it be vac'd but never saw or heard a vac. Housekeeper came back with a BROOM and an attitude. She slightly swept the carpet (which didn't help much). Gross. There was a tasty breakfast w/the usual Chinese fare(vegetables and porridge) + eggs, meat, potatoes, and coffee. It was served on the rooftop w/ a clear view of the Potala Palace, which is a plus, but I wouldn't stay again. Staff had much attitude and no smiles or welcomes. Guess they know you'll be leaving in a day or two and don't care

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go someplace else. Very disappointing stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.2 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#7 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.3 mi away
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yak Hotel

Property: Yak Hotel
Address: No.100 Beijing East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Yak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yak Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing