We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend it”
Review of Tashitakge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tashitakge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 343 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's sure the best in Lhasa. The most important is that you have hot water in bath. Most expensive hotels 4-5 stars has cold water! The hotel is like monastery inside, very tradisional place. Rooms is warm and comfortable. Very clean! The staff is amazing, they give us a gifts also. The location was excellent next to Barkor street that you can easily enjoy old town of Lhasa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giannis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
25
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely cozy hotel. The owner of the place is very nice and helpful. She gave good directions and suggestions about where to visit and traffic. Other staff are helpful too especially helping to move our luggages. I love the decoration esp. the lock at the door. The food is okay and location is great. Just around the corner u can get fruit, find restaurants and bus stop. The cleanliness is quite good compared with many hotels there. Deco itely recommend it.

However though the top floor is quieter with good WiFi connection, ppl just arriving Tibet may want to think twice. I had a hard time walking up to the top floor on the first day of arrival.

Last but not least, their milk tea served to guests is one of the best I had in the trip :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank val_c2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

First time to Tibet and found this hotel with lots of positive reviews. Front desk was very nice and helpful, I was worried about cant having any decent food but the hotel s restaurant provide really good western food. Specially their egg sandwich and soup noodles. Really enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhatripvisor420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel in September, 2012. The hotel is located off a quiet street close to the middle of the old town (Tibetan quarter) of Lhasa. It is about 5 minutes from Barkhor and 7 minutes from Jokhang by foot. It is also within walking distance to some tea houses and restaurants frequented by the locals and try some of the milk tea and Tibetan cuisine. There are also some shops where you can get souvenirs without being worried about being ripped off at Barkhor.

The hotel is nicely decorated with many intricate Tibetan patterns and ornaments. Fine Tibetan objects dot throughout the hotel, giving you an unmistakable reminder on where you are. The room I stayed at was spartan, but clean. They assigned me a room at the top floor, one floor below the roof deck where you can get a panoramic view of the old town of Lhasa and a stunning view of Potala Palace. When visiting Lhasa for the first day you probably will feel the effect of high altitude sickness, save yourself the trouble of carrying anything heavy. There is no elevator in this hotel, just ask the hotel staff and they will be happy to carry your luggage to your upper floor room. The hotel staff is very friendly and responsive. The only concern I had was that they locked the front door at night and you have to bang on the door of room where janitors stay. The janitors have to get up and open the front door for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pros:
- 2 mins walk from Barkhor
- Traditional decloration
- Clean room
- Helpful and nice staffs
- A local laundry outside the hotel

Cons:
- Taxi cannot get there directly, 2 mins walk from main road

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

These were all part of a lovely experience. The room was quiet, scrupulously clean and comfortable. Every person, from the front desk to the housekeeping, was friendly and helpful. I look forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from Lhasa after having spent 3 nights in this hotel. Tashitakge Hotel made our trip to one of the most rural part of China a memorable and comfortable (to the best extent) journey.

The hotel is very clean, cosy and good value for money. It is well equipped with hot water, warm blankets, humidifier (a must in high altitude) and free wi-fi.

The hostess is very friendly, speaks good English and offered good travel advice (recommended us to visit Grand Canyon and spend more time in Linzi which was one of the best part of our trip).

Through the hotel we booked a Tibetan driver called BaSang (巴桑). 巴桑 drove us around Tibet for 6 days. It was a pleasure to have him with us as he drives really safe along the rocky mountains - one of the best drivers we had! He also made efforts to accommodate our requests such as driving from 6am to 8pm due to our tight schedule, helped us avoid tourist traps, and brought us to extra places to experience the Tibetan culture. Would highly recommend to book this honest and skillful driver for your next visit.

Excellent location in the heart of Barkor Street (old town / central Lhasa). Walking distance to major monestaries. Some 15 minute walk to Potala Palace.

The cute little cat 王小虎 is also a highlight of this hotel.

Unfortunately there was heavy drilling in Barkor Street during our visit so the environment was very dusty.

Would definitely return to this hotel should we visit Lhasa again. We really enjoyed the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmokieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.2 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 343 in Lhasa
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#32 of 343 in Lhasa
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dekang Hotel
Dekang Hotel
#11 of 343 in Lhasa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashitakge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashitakge Hotel

Property: Tashitakge Hotel
Address: No.7 Lupu 1st Alley, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashitakge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Tashitakge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashitakge Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing