We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
2
9
10
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
9
10
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I must agree that many aspects make this hotel a good choice like what Traveler 5548 noted. We stayed for 5 nights in September 2011 as arranged by a tour company. Yes it is very near to the Jokhang Temple and the Bakhor area, with a couple of nice restaurants. And the rooms are reasonably good and come with the internet and breakfast on the roof. Maybe because of the location it is very popular. The staff are generally friendly but what annoyed us (my wife and I) was that the linens were not changed daily or even at the third day so we complained but the management claimed that they were changed. We told them we were sure they were not changed and they (housekeeping staff) grudgingly did. Maybe they were trying to get back at us — they accused us of causing the "Do not disturb" sign used to hang over the door knob to be cracked and we had to pay for it — RMB15. We didn't even knew it was there. We argued and I refused to pay as a matter of principle so my tour guide paid to hush up the matter. I am sure there are other more friendlier hotels. And even if I had broken it management would not have demanded payment as it was old and would have cracked anyway in the harsh environment. Those who still want to stay there will have to be extra careful careful and check this and other items!
less

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is very near to the Jokhang Temple and the Bakhor area, where there are a couple of nice restaurants. The rooms are good, the internet worked well and the breakfast on the roof had something for everyone, including individually prepared eggs. Would stay here for the location alone. The only annoying thing is the bathroom has clear glass walls with only a sheer curtain over the glass. I am sure some archetect thought it exciting, but we are not used to such openness to all bathroom functions from the bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is not a palace but it is adequate and it is right the hustle and bustle of where everything is going down in Lhasa in the Tibetan quarter.

The room were a little bit cold, there was not much natural daylight and breakfast was very average and the alley which you have to go down to get there smells like a toilet.

Nevertheless it is Tibetan run, the staff is accommodating and it is right in the middle of where all the other foreigners are staying so there are a lot of places to eat and shop around.

Room Tip: High altitude sickness tablets are a must.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_attree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed three nights in the Cool Yak Hotel. Location is just perfect, 3 minutes walking to the Jokhang Temple and the Bakhor area. Rooms are spacious, clean and have a good working shower. The beds are average Tibetan (means: you will feel the metal fethers inside the matress).

If you stay there in the cold season, in will be a very cooooollll yak in the sense of really very cold! They don`t have a heating so prepare - you will need long underwear and thick socks for sleeping.

Breakfast is Tibetan style and usually included in the room rate. They have something related to bread but if you need something paticular for breakfast bring it with you otherwise you end up with some green jelly, brokkoli and cake.

A very fast, cheap and reliable laudry service is availiable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Cool Yak Hotel (this is not the Yak Hotel) was a great place to stay. The Location is very central, in a quiet alley right off the Barkhor Square. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated, there is a huge Tibetan painting hanging in the center. The center of the hotel is an atrium so it was also very bright. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable with good showers. The price was good and included the breakfast buffet. The staff was friendly except for the lady at the front desk, for some reason she was always miserable. One downside was that they allow smoking in the hotel, although most people didn't I could smell it sometimes. They had computers with internet. All in all I was happy to stay here, we transferred from the Kyichu Hotel and were pleased we did. The Cool Yak's location is much better and the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews