We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs New Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The St. Regis in Lhasa is a great hotel going dangerously fast down a slippery slope of mismanagement and poor maintenance. The premises are fantastically designed and the rooms are by far the most extravagant and spacious rooms available in Lhasa, but unfortunately, the lack of training of staff, the declining state of cleanliness and the very poor maintenance of the grounds totally overshadows any good feelings you might derive from the architecture and the furniture. Weeds were growing through the wooden slat walkways outside; Paint was peeling off the side of the building; We never got so much as a greeting when we walked in the lobby; Several shied away from us because they were nervous about speaking English; the lady overseeing the lobby lounge didn't even have basic English skills; When we needed help we couldn't find anyone; etc. etc. It made me quite sad, to be honest, that such a wonderfully conceived hotel could leave such a bad taste in my mouth. I do hope for St. Regis' sake and for the sake of the Starwood hotel group, they get their act together and become what their brand says they are.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GarrettJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the Problems have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 496 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in a very spacious, serenely decorated Shigatse Suite with a view of Potala Palace. Our only issue with the room was climate control -- it got quite warm in the afternoon sun. The lobby and other public areas are very beautifully decorated as well and most have views of the Potala.

We took altitude medicine prescribed by our doctor and rested in the hotel for 24 hours before doing any touring. We were fine after that, especially since our guide kept reminding us to stay hydrated as precaution. We highly recommend this regimen.

The hotel staff was friendly and the service was very good, except for return of our laundry, which we had to ask for several times. Other reviewers have mentioned problems with the elevators. Unfortunately, we were stuck in one of the elevators in the main building for 45 minutes -- and this on the morning of our departure. There may have been some language barriers that didn't help, but once the front desk got involved, the staff managed to locate us and extricate us. The front desk was extremely apologetic and arranged for continental breakfast boxes for us as we needed to leave ASAP for the airport.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were quite good.

Room Tip: Potala Palace is off in the distance and visible from public rooms, so a garden view may be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N0nAccidentalT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the Problems have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting ... Great veiw of the Potala Palace from the lobby. The room was huge and luxuriuosly appointed. However the bathroon floor was dirty and carpets were stained.. although not easy to spot due to such dim lighting!
Although we enjoyed our stay, I would normally expect a supposed 5 star hotel @ £300 per night would be able to produce a couple of decent fried eggs at breakfast! after the 6th attempt I had lost the will and ended up without much to eat at all as the other choices were extremely limited and our guide had arrived to collect us!
Food in general was extremely average and the response we recieved to the issues we had were well below expectation and the staff had very limited communication ability due to the lack of English spoken ... I would suggest appearance is 5 star but service and staff need seriously looking at! Will not return !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TimGraham60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the Problems have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in the center of the fascinating city of Lhasa. The hallways to our area were dimly lighted and rather circuitous, but the room was huge and well furnished. Comfortable beds and a doctor on staff whom we were introduced to upon checkin. We were warned by our guide that many people traveling to Tibet suffer from altitude sickness. Several of those traveling with us required attention on the first night there, some with IV's and oxygen. All were treated successfully by the staff. Beautiful views from the lobby and good food in their restaurant. We would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

From the moment our group was greeted in the lobby with a welcoming glass, the hotel was a wonderful experience in all ways. The food was excellent, the rooms were totally unexpectadly spacious and furnished beyond excellent. The staff treated us like royalty and on departure were lined up waving adios to our group. We were travelling with Viking Tours with our wonderful Tour Guide Yang.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved the stay - pool is a must - the staff took great care of us! The views at night (if you can stay awake) are spectacular! Enjoyed my breakfast buffet soups. - and don't be afraid to ask the staff to escort you to the Chinese Restaurant or hard to find spots. Some of the maintenance can be improved but we tourists are tough on the property.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room was very spacious and had a stunning view of the Potala Palace. Unfortunately, we found the room "stuffy" at night as the AC was ineffective. The Butler Service was excellent but the House-Keeping area was not up to par for a 5 star hotel.

We had dinner & breakfast in the "Social Restaurant" which had either buffet or a-la-carte menu choices, including Western type dishes. My wife had no problems with "gluten free" options and our thanks go to Martin who provided a great service in ensuring these requirements were met.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and try to be helpful. Unfortunately, the level of English spoken was limited given that it is a 5 star international hotel.

The overall complex does need some updating in order to maintain its status in Lhasa as other luxury hotel options are now or will be available to visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of Potala Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Indy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the Problems have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 364 in Lhasa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 364 in Lhasa
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#7 of 364 in Lhasa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Lhasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Lhasa Resort

Address: No.22 Jiangsu Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lhasa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $105 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Lhasa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Lhasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
St. Regis Lhasa Resort Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing