We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good hotel though the service can vary.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Overall a very good hotel though the service can vary.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As the first five star hotel in Lhasa, you do expect a beautiful and top of the line hotel. The hotel overall is very good. The finishes in the rooms are beautiful though the attention to detail in the finish work left a lot to be desired. The excellent service you expect in a St Regis does not happen consistently here. I do realize this is a hotel in Tibet and the service leaves a lot to be desired. We came in one afternoon to find we had no water. The next day we had no toilet paper. Calling the butler for tea and coffee was always a guessing game for what you would actually get. Would I come back here? In a heartbeat! But my expectations for the service here are definitely lower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate receiving feedback and it is always shared with our team here.

I also want to take this opportunity to proudly let you know that we will be enhancing our signature St. Regis service in the near future for all our guests to experience;

We hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    86
    49
    30
    10
See reviews for
50
161
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with family. St.Regis has the perfect mix of Tibetan and modern design. Beautiful paintings and art pieces scatter throughout the hotel so it's worth taking a moment to appreciate. We ate almost every meal at the hotel and were especially impressed by the delicate dishes at the Chinese restaurant. Great wine selection at Decanter lounge. We enjoyed a great selection at breakfast as well.

My room was spacious and tastefully designed. Large sitting and working area. Bose ipod dock. Very spacious bathroom-- I like the Panasonic hairdryer identical to the one I have at home. Fresh fruits/treats were served daily. Some rooms have the stunning view of Polata Palace which is only 10 mins away from St. Regis. The pool is beautiful and there's yoga studio as well. Most importantly, we all felt very safe despite of the high attitude since St. Regis has doctor on call in case of emergency.

I highly recommend the St.Regis for the most memorable trip to Lhasa. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of a recent Tibet trip. Couldn't ask for more. Beautifully decorated place, really large and well appointed rooms, attentive and friendly staff. We only tried the "Social" restaurant (breakfast and dinner) and were very happy. Breads (apparently baked in-house) were outstanding. Had rooms in the main building (accommodating lobby and the "Social"), looked like a good choice. Only slight disappointment: intended to enjoy a glass of wine at "Decanter" (wine bar), but got driven out by eye-watering smoke from "fine cigars" which are also available there (outdoor seating available, but too chilly on that particular day). All in all, we had a lovely, hassle-free and completely relaxing time here and highly recommend this property, particularly to conclude a (conceivably somewhat tiring) trip within Tibet. However, be aware you have NOT seen Tibet if you have stayed at the St Regis Lhasa...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aexguesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Positives - beautiful, stunning, modern, yet derivative of Tibetan architecture rooms. Our regular rooms, are like spacious suites.
The Bathrooms have 2 sinks, lovely bathtub, seperate shower, amenities, hair dryer, plugs that work, tea kettle, b water, even cans of oxygen in the room for under $10.00 for some altitude relief.

Negatives -

Bathroom - shower water never really gets hot. The Internet, WiFi is slow and goes on and off, even in lobby.
There are few exit signs around the hotel - feels unsafe. I have more to say about this.

Spa - if you can find it, it is average.

Food - delicious if you are a big meat eater, but vegetarian seems to be unknown to them.
On 2 occasions, I ordered soups, made right in front of me in restaurant...just as they were finishing vegetable, noodle soups, the cook, dipped the ladle in the yak meat broth to add to my soup. So, I tried, spaghetti, and same thing, spaghetti, cooked in front of me at cooking station, and just as cook was about to hand over dish to me, he added quickly a ladle of yak meatball broth. I then tried pizza, but the 3 pizzas had ham. I asked for a vegetarian one and they said 20 minutes! I am not the only vegetarian in my group, so luckily, I have colleagues to laugh about this with. But this was our third time at this restaurant, and it would have been "nice" to have a vegetarian pizza, since the noodle soup, and spaghetti had yak broth added. I am sorry for the lovely cooks, for they don't understand English, and seem ill trained to just comply with a simple soup, or spaghetti or pizza - which was last resort.

It was difficult to book a spa appointment, the concierge had to talk to 2 others before I could receive, a stapled zerox copy in English of spa treatments available. Twenty minutes before appointment I asked how to get to spa and where it was...that needed a conversation with 2 other staff people. Finally, the staff person pointed down a hallway and told me to take a stairwell. I did and was trapped inside for ten minutes, for the doors did not open. Finally after receiving no replies from banging on door, I descended to a door that would open, but there were no signs for the spa. I bumped into a colleague on our trip, who pointed me with a short walk to where the spa was..saying that she and her husband were trapped in the stairwell, the day before!
By the way, lovely young staff in the spa, but no one could speak English!

When one is staying at a St Regis, one expects WiFi that works, hot water, exit signs in hallways, doors that open up and don't leave someone standing in a stairwell, as well as some moderate understanding of a small food preference.

Gift shop - there is only one gift shop that sells jewelry, etc. There are no postcards available.
A woman from our group was about to purchase what she thought was a "Tibetan bracelet" but checked the tag and noticed that the jewelry vendor was from South Dakota.

I don't like to write an unfavorable review so when I do, I like to give evidence, of the experiences that were not optimal for such an expensive hotel
And by the way I am a Starwood member and look forward to staying at Starwood hotels,.

Room Tip: Travelers in our group booked the Himalayan suite and had a view of the Potala Palace and Snow capp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the (Problem) have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great stay, I highly recommend this place in Lhasa.

food is delicious! Only place in Tibet we loved the food and service.


Ivan Zhao our dedicated butler is still being an amazing person and helping us out with requests.

Juani, an Argentinian manager, made sure our stay was great and personally took charge of arranging a private romantic dinner for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arianne04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and will share these to our staff, furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the St. Regis during a trip to Tibet. The hotel is low-key and has the feel of being very old despite the fact that it is very new. The rooms are very spacious, are equipped with all modern conveniences, and the bathrooms have heated floors, a quick way to dry your hand washing if you do not have much time we were told. The hotel has several buildings and the elevators and outside walkways were a little confusing at first. Even though the restaurant was not quite as impressive as we expected, our stay was very comfortable and relaxed. Exactly what we wanted. The staff were responsive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greentree33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our "standard" guest room was enormous with a sitting area, separate work area and huge bath, plus a small view of the Potala Palace. Beautifully decorated, it definitely had the feel of Tibet. We did not request a palace view so either we were lucky or it was because it was my husband's birthday-our tour escourt ordered a wonderful cake delivered to our room. There were small air canisters available for purchase (35 RMB), along with the usual mini-bar items, just in case you forgot that you were really are at a high altitude. We were on the 6th floor of building 6 and while it was a bit of a challenge to get there the first time, the room was worth it. The lobby is on the third floor so we needed to take the elevator down to ground to walk to our buidling. Path lightening between the buildings during non daylight times would be helpful.
The hotel is close enough to Barkor Street to walk but reception told us what to pay for a cab-we negotiated with a pedi-cab for the amount to get us there. We took a cab on the way back and the driver wanted more money to drive us up to the entrance of the hotel rather than dropping us off on Jiangsu Road! We opted for the street and the hotel's golf cart was there to give us a lift to the lobby.
We had two breakfasts and dinner in the Social restaurant and thought the food was quite good.
Small service things need to be worked out: location of rain shower head and gap in door allow water into the bathroom, windows require a special tool from reception to be closed (or opened), lighting controls are tricky and decided to turn themselves on and off during our last night's stay.
The lovely view of the Potala Palace from the lobby adds to making this hotel a wonderful base for your visit to Lhasa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarchessadePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 344 in Lhasa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 344 in Lhasa
88 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#31 of 344 in Lhasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Lhasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Lhasa Resort

Property: St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Address: No.22 Jiangsu Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lhasa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Lhasa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Lhasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
St. Regis Lhasa Resort Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing