We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the world's rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 343 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luxury on the world's rooftop”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

St. Regis Lhasa has a very unique decoration compared to other St. Regis I visited, in a good way. I like the many wood elements, it feels luxury and cosy. The hall with a full glass penal facing the Potala Palace is stunning. I was immediately greeted by the staffs and the check in was smooth. I stayed at 2 different types of room, 1 garden view and 1 Potala Palace view. In my opinion, I prefer the garden view, given the privacy and peacefulness. The Potala Palace view could be noisier as it is closer to the main road and if you want a good view, I suggest you to go to the balcony outside the main hall for better view without the glass window. I am not sure if it's just my room, but the Potala Palace room I had is quite a long walk to the entrance which is another thing I do not like.

From the hotel to the main road is a short walk with slope, which could be tiring after a whole day's activities outside at this altitude but not too big a problem. I guess this provided the hotel with better seclusion, but getting a taxi to go in or wait for the staffs to call a taxi into the main entrance is rather troublesome.

Breakfast was... hmm rather below St. Regis' standard.

Overall a good and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room with Potala Palace view could be noisier and further away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    86
    49
    30
    10
See reviews for
50
161
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

An absolute gem in the heart of Lhasa, with huge rooms, impeccable service and excellent food. I highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Lhasa. Anyone who thinks a visit to Lhasa might involve 'roughing it' will be pleasantly amazed by their stay at the St. Regis

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback; furthermore we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Echoing the other reviews. Hotel is good, great design, clean rooms, and good location. Service was personal and sincere. While we didn't see all the hotels, I'd imagine that this is the best hotel in Lhasa.

However, it is clear that the staff needs better training to get to the level one expects at a St. Regis. Employees seem sincere, but they don't always know how to respond to requests. We couldn't even order room service by phone for breakfast. Also service responses seem very rule-based, which may show that employees aren't given latitude to respond to specific scenarios.

Again, great physical hotel. Service has room to improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a Potala view (although may be an upcharge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezraulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate receiving feedback and it is always shared with our team here.

I also want to take this opportunity to proudly let you know that we will be enhancing our signature St. Regis service in the near future for all our guests to experience;

We hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at St. Regis Lhasa for three nights in June, 2013 as part of a river cruise package. It was a fantastic experience. We did not have any problems during the entire stay and what some people have considered "glitches" was never a problem for us.

Depending on which room you stay there is a short walk from the lobby but nothing that should be considered a hassle, especially for people going to a 3,750 meters high place. I found the oxigen canister very quick because I always check all drawers in all cabinets when I first get to any hotel. I was glad to find a bottle of a decent Chilean wine by the oxigen cylinder...

We have never had a problem with housekeeping. On the contrary, we had to refuse service when they came to clean a second time.

We have considered St. Regis Lhasa one of the best hotels we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review for us, we are happy to hear you had a memorable time during your stay in our resort.

we hope to welcome you back to St. Regis Lhasa Resort in the very near future.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed four nights in May. The room is very spacious. However it is quite a bit walk from my room
to the chinese restaurant in another wing. ( changing two elevators and asked direction from hotel staff). the hotel layout is bit strange to me, i spoke chinese, so it is easier for me to communicate with staff. The housekeeping service has a lot to improve. My bathroom sink need to be cleaned as i was sick on one morning and vomited, i was too weak to clean my self. It took quite a bit of effort to get someome help with cleaning. ( three phone calls and still it is not cleaned). I would not complaint on this if it is Holiday Inn, however it is St Regis and i do have higher expectation.
In the end, the butler came, he helped with a bit cleaning, but far from through. As i said, i speak Chinese, it is lot easier for me to communicate, it can be a problem for someone who do not speak chinese.

Room Tip: request the Room in the MAIN Wing, since some rooms are quite far away. The long walk makes harder i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 608Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the Housekeeping Service have been well documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest service and to rectify any other existing issues present.

We would like to apologize again and we look forward to warm welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Talk about a 5 star hotel in a out of the world location....hey had us captivated the moment we hit the doors. The lobby was beautiful. The staff greeting us upon arrival made us fell as if we were the most important people in the world. As you check in reception takes your passports. a little while after we start to unpack there is a knock on our door. Two of the staff are standing there holding a Birthday Cake for me. When checking the passports they noticed that I was going to have a big Birthday coming up, What a pleasant surprise. Hotel breakfast was excellent. I am only marking sleep quality as average because I found it hard to sleep due to the high altitude and thin air.The only problem with Lhasa is the altutude. The country is beautiful and the people are very friendly.

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry L, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel.

All of your comments will be shared with the team. We're glad to know that you are satisfied with our service.

Warm regards from Lhasa,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The St Regis is a new hotel that has a great lobby (if you are not handicapped). Floors in the lobby are a mixture of carpet, wood and natural stone which makes for uneven walking. Most people probably won't notice it but it was difficult for one of the ladies in our tour group.
The room was enormous and at first glance well appointed. I loved the soaker tub but the shower (rain head) did not seal and flooded the water closet (toilet area) every time we had a shower.
There is oxygen in the room but it is hidden in a bureau drawer.
I had mild altitude sickness while in Lhasa and appreciated the movie channels on the satellite tv while I took it easy.
The only glitch with the room was one day while we were out all day our room was not cleaned. We're ok with that as long as we get clean towels.
The main restaurant was fairly good - the menu items were better and hotter than the buffet but comes at a premium. Breakfast was average. Be warned, Tibetans serve their beer and soda at room temperature. The only cold beer was Budweiser (tap) that had been pre-poured and was flat as a result.
Again having good guides helps to see the city and highlights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downeyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 343 in Lhasa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 343 in Lhasa
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#32 of 343 in Lhasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Lhasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Lhasa Resort

Property: St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Address: No.22 Jiangsu Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lhasa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Lhasa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Lhasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
St. Regis Lhasa Resort Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing