We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good hotel but unlike any other St. Regis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 374 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Its a good hotel but unlike any other St. Regis. the service is extremely slow (room service at 11pm took 2 hours to be delivered). the Cleanliness of the hotel is questionable and there is dust everywhere. the Garden view Villas are similar to the regular deluxe rooms (seemed smaller despite being 25% more expensive). However that being said its probably the most comfortable hotel in Lhasa to discerning travelers might not have another option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 515 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

its a beautiful property. everybody right from the doorman , bellboy , receptionist, butler, restaurent managers and the manager of the hotel are very warm, helpful and friendly. the entire property is well maintained. rooms are well decorated and are huge. bathroom is huge and very clean. butler service is exceptional. the food quality is very very good

Room Tip: rooms should be preferred in the reception building or near spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Assistant Front Office Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear arunsf,

Greetings from the Roof of the World, The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you had a memorable time in our resort.
We appreciate your positive comments and we hope we can welcome you in Lhasa and in our hotel in the very near future.

Best regards from Lhasa,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the St. Regis, Lhasa for three days after a one of a kind train journey from Xining, Qinghai to Lhasa, Tibet traversing the Qinghai-Tibet plato. For the geography and topography buffs, it no doubt constitutes the ultimate experience since it reaches to 5,072 meters above the sea level. When we checked in the hotel for our sojourn we were received very warmly by the national and international staff. Our suite was simply exquisite. The view of the Potala Palace from our suite was breathtaking. The decoration, the furniture, the colors, the space and the overall texture in the room were all commensurate with the spritual atmosphere awaiting the visitors out side. The hotel being located at a walking distance to the Great Mosque of Lhasa, Potala Palace and Jokhang Temple made it quite convenient. The local staff and the health related assistance was simply superb. However, the service at the restaurant was not at par with the other amenities. The staff lacked basic English, thus elementary Chinese proved to be more effective. The Italian olive oil at the restaurant was nice in packaging but horrendous in taste (it was too high in acidity and possibly a bad mixture). The catering should open room for Spanish, Turkish or Tunisian olive oil. Somebody has to educate the olive oil consumers that it is a product akin to wine. Also We think that at the breakfast buffet there should be some local products like local cheese available like local Tibetan cheese rather than camembert (French cheese). In terms of pricing of the hotel, I think the management knows that they have cornered the market early on. Well, given the fact that the hotel is at the 3,600 meter hight, I guess we have to be more lenient. In a nut shell,even with few hitches, it is the venue for legendary Lhasa.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south west direction with the Potala palace view are great. Floors from 4-6 should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xiao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Assistant Front Office Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Xiao H,

Greetings from the Roof of the World, The St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Thank you very much for your review and the feedback provided about your experience in our resort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lhasa and in our hotel, rest assured that we are having ongoing training in place to improve the English language level of our associates and your recommendation about local products on the breakfast buffet is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward welcoming you again and send you best regards from the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed 4 days at the St. Regis in Lhasa, Tibet. It is beautiful, well appointed and has the best bathroom I have ever had in any hotel thruout the world. There is even a heated tile floor, 2 beautiful sinks, separate areas for shower & toilet. The entire hotel is clean, decorated in a spare and modern way, with incredible lobby space. It is situated in a wonderful location in Lhasa. It is quiet, has beautiful furnishings and includes a polite and friendly staff. Best hotel ever!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kthebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Assitant Front Office Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Kthebert,

Greetings from the Roof of the World, the St. Regis Lhasa Resort.
Sincere thanks for your review and we are more than happy to hear you had a memorable stay in our resort.
We hope we have a chance welcoming you again in Lhasa.

Best regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is the second time I visited Lhasa, an amazing city. St Regis just come to my mind of excellence. The hotel is not obvious when you are seeing from outside (it's just a simple white wall covering the hotel). However, when you get into the hotel, you cannot stop surprising how it's nicely built, especially it's 3700m above the ground.

The services is excellent, a Bulter called Nicole has served me and she's very detailed in mind. She will help you in making all the necessary (when to wake up, breakfast, order tour, or taxi). It's just a one-stop services and contact you can find.

It's also nice to enjoy a Tibetian style Spa which is not very costly. The food is also not costly in terms of 5 star hotel. It's worth trying their Tibetian restaurant and Chinese restaurant. The western buffet is okay but not many variety to choose.

The hotel located not exactly at the city center, but it takes about 10 mins walk to the main street (the Bajiao street). I suggest you to take a taxi to there and it only charge 10cny. However, catching a taxi in Tibet seems a bit difficult..

Still pondering the time in Lhasa, it's certainly one of my most relaxing trip ever in my life, and add my special thanks to St Regis!

Room Tip: Can try to find a room can see into the Potala Palace. The room facing the central pool is also love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Joejoejoehk,

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in December.

I am very pleased to hear that Nicole and the Butler team of the St. Regis Lhasa made your stay even more comfortable and please rest assured that we will acknowledge Nicole's outstanding service delivered to you.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Lhasa and The St. Regis Lhasa Resort!

Warmest regards,

Edward Korving
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Luxury and the best hotel in Lhasa, and of course, the most expensive one, but its best services and facilities make it worth. It makes my stay in Lhasa this time much more comfortable than years ago.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Froehlich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Froehlich A,

Warm greetings from the Roof of the World!

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Edward Korving
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A real surprise in Lhasa, which does not have a surfeit of luxury hotels and visitor facilities. Hotel is well designed in an extraordinary and convenient location. Opulent facilities, large and well maintained rooms, very good service, and interesting restaurants. Not inexpensive, but worth the price if you are seeking luxury and quiet within Lhasa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at St. Regis Lhasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear jpmsenior,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Roof of the World and The St. Regis Lhasa Resort!

Warmest regards,

Edward Korving
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 374 in Lhasa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#8 of 374 in Lhasa
114 reviews
0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 374 in Lhasa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Lhasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Lhasa Resort

Address: No.22 Jiangsu Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lhasa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $101 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Lhasa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Lhasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
St. Regis Lhasa Resort Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing