We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of House Of Shambhala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House Of Shambhala
Ranked #2 of 359 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed several nights here, and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel itself is very beautiful and full of character. We had two rooms on the first floor, and my room (the first one on the left) was quite large, larger than my brother's room.

The restaurant here prepared AMAZING food. Everything we tried was absolutely delicious. The breakfast menu was simple, with maybe 4 different choices, but everything was delicious. We ordered a to go breakfast one morning when we left before the restaurant opened for breakfast, and it was the best to go breakfast I've ever had from a hotel. It was two slices of toast with a large portion of scrambled eggs, which I ate as a sandwich, and a milk. The tea here is to die for, as well. They pour little pouches full of various herbs and dried fruits into your cups, and then add the hot water - oh, they were magical. You can eat in the restaurant or enjoy it on the rooftop patio.

The location is great, in a little pedestrian-only area, with narrow streets that twist and turn. It's a close walk to the Jokhang temple. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within a short walk.

Everyone who works here was friendly, with a ready smile. We felt so welcome here.

The beds were a little on the firm side, but we slept well. On the first floor, we did notice a bit of noise from the pedestrian traffic on the street, but this completely died down before bedtime, and didn't interfere with sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
44
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide selected this little hotel and we couldn't have been happier with his choice. We stayed 4 nights in the second floor and 1 night on the first floor. Although both were perfect, I preferred the 1st floor because our room was a bit bigger.
The wooden doors will not protect you from loud neighbors but some earplugs might help.
Walking distance from Jokhang temple and about 15min to Potala.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the1travelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful, tranquil, and friendly hotel placed in the old town, close to Jokhang temple. Really nice atmosphere and warm and caring staff. A perfect place to withdraw when your overwhelmed by impressions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciszuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Most amazing hotel experience! Would stay here anytime again without a second thought, the best ever. Beautiful, comfortable and just amazing. Feels like your own home. We stayed on the top floor the hotel was empty and were the only guest so we got even more special treatment. The lady in the kitchen makes amazing food we usually had two dinners just because of her cooking. The deep fried beef and yak butter milk - awesome.

House is better than palace...it's much closer to the square as well. Both hotels have the same owners, palace has a spa, house does not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekingduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is by far the best I have ever stayed in. Seriously...EVER. It is an old historic Tibetan house with an open plan interior and I believe only 9 rooms. Much like a Moroccan riad. You walk into a gorgeous courtyard with potted flower plants and candles and are greeted with masala chai by the friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They are very attentive and want to make sure your comfort level is at a maximum. We stayed in room 204. When we walked into the room, my mouth dropped open. Absolutely breathtaking space. All traditional Tibetan furniture and rugs, wooden floors that must be at least 100 years old, wood ceiling and huge thick wooden beams. Saffron colored sheers hang around the bed from the ceiling, throw pillows with Tibetan designs, it goes on and on. Only pictures will do justice...will post many soon. There is a restaurant on the roof with fantastic views of Lhasa and the surrounding mountains. Food is very good!! Everything about this place is magic. It is especially recommended for couples, does not get more romantic than this. Oh and most importantly, it is very quiet! A wonderful oasis away from all the Lhasa construction. Take my advice and book here. You will remember it forever.

Room Tip: Room 204 is exquisite. I wish I could live in this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trisong J, Manager at House Of Shambhala, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings from Lhasa and all staffs of House Of Shambhala!!!

We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We feel flattered when our hotel is compared with 5 start hotels . But yes we do really feel if you are looking for Tibetan syle boutique hotel,we are one of the best choice in Lhasa.
We wish you and your daughter a good and safe trip in Nepal and other places.
Shambhala Serai Groups
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First of all let's set the record right. Under this "House of Shambhala" you actually have reviews for two different locations: House of Shambhala and Shambhala Palace, which should be rated separatey. See this site for details http://www.shambhalaserai.com/html/House-of-shambhala-1.html . Now, my review is for the actual House of Shambhala. Staff was great, room unique, wifi ok, hot water any time, so the basics were ok. On downside the beds are seriously rock hard and as the building is old there is no sound proofing, thus no privacy. You can hear everything, people talking on the street, in the hotel courtyard, next door.. it was most annoying. Breakfast is poor, basically two slices of toast and a simple omelette OR muesli. Location is convenient as it is in old Lhasa. Cars cannot access the gate so you need to drag luggage about 100m. Finally, the advertised yoga studio and spa was closed, according to the staff it was closed already few months back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nicely designed and located very centrally in the old town Lhasa.
The rooms are really cool and give you a sense of what they may have looked like when Lhasa was on the trade route with Nepal.
Staff is very helpful especially when we were struggling with altitude sickness.
One downside is the current construction in Lhasa old town. This is out of the control of the hotel, and should be over by August.
Very good value

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.2 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 359 in Lhasa
93 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.7 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#14 of 359 in Lhasa
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tashi Nota Khangsang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Of Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Shambhala

Property: House Of Shambhala
Address: No.7 Jiri erxiang, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lhasa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — House Of Shambhala 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Palace is a restored home of a high ranking Tibetan Lama. All of our rooms provide guests with the utmost comfort while surrounded by Tibetan history and tradition. Our rooftop restaurant together with four of our king rooms offer full on views of Potala Palace with other rooms looking out over the quiet alleyways of the ancient quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your House Of Shambhala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing