We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Dekang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dekang Hotel
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spacious clean room. We had an extra bed in a twin room and there's still room to move about.

Hotel breakfast is ok, but we liked the butter tea here than anywhere else in Lhasa.

Staff is friendly and helpful. They are able to speak English and Chinese.

Wifi is available on lobby, reception in the room varies depending on location.

Next to the hotel is a small noodle shop with long queue everyday. There's a few grocery shop and eateries outside of the hotel. You can even walk further up the Main Street for more food and groceries. Walking to barkhor street takes about 10-15min, we referred to the map and walked through the alleys.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwaynefoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was with a tour group who chooses Tibetan run hotels whilst travelling in Tibet rather than Chinese. Friendly staff, Internet in lobby and 2nd floor. Breakfast food with great omelettes if you have the Nepalese chef and a short walk to the Barkhor which is where you want to be as a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here after living in Lhasa for almost 2 years, having passed this hotel almost daily we decided to stay here before leaving Lhasa. I have to say for the price you pay it is a decent hotel, Tibetan style decoration and friendly staff.
They can work on the cleanliness of the rooms though, the lobby was a bit cold and breakfast was so so, but overall value for money.
Only problem was we were asked to move out due to the full occupancy of the hotel, even though we booked in advance for 2 weeks, we moved to the Yak Hotel.

Room Tip: Not all standard rooms are the same size, there are some nice rooms, very spacious with sofa area, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hadn't heard of the Dekang hotel before we arrived in Lhasa as part of a tour, but were really glad we stayed there. The restaurant was great and the food was also good. The staff were very helpful and most knew quite a bit of English (useful when you don't speak Chinese or Tibetan!). The rooms were comfortable (better than in Beijing!), and internet access was provided via ethernet cable in the rooms which made it very robust compared with the fragile connections experienced elsewhere. The hotel staff were so friendly and very helpful, I would certainly stay there again, given the chance!

Room Tip: My son and I shared a twin bedded room on the top floor - great double aspect bedroom with lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this Tibetan owned hotel for a month. We spent two weeks with a tour group, then were offered great rates to stay for another two weeks. The staff were always happy and helpful. The rooms were spotless and very nicely decorated and the views are absolutely stunning! The restaurant is fantastic and we ate there daily. They have several computers with very fast Internet and skype. They even have their own hairdresser! The location is a little walk from the city centre, but an amazing experience walking through the stone lane ways scattered with monasteries, tailors, shops and restaurants. I loved these walks everyday, exploring Lhasa. I can't wait to visit here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thispreciousearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed this hotel for three nights. Although it is a bit far from the commercial area, they offer a nice service and have a nice restaurant attached to it. The room is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

If you want a room with a broken air-conditioner/heater ... book into the Dekang!
If you want a room without ANY hot water for a morning shower ... book into the Dekang!
If you want to drink warm beer ... book into the Dekang!

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room - book into another hotel. Try the Yak Hotel, it comes highly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kanga-roo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 366 in Lhasa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 366 in Lhasa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#12 of 366 in Lhasa
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 366 in Lhasa
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekang Hotel

Address: No.2 Shengtai Road, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $75 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dekang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekang Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing