We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dekang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekang Hotel
Ranked #9 of 320 Hotels in Lhasa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hadn't heard of the Dekang hotel before we arrived in Lhasa as part of a tour, but were really glad we stayed there. The restaurant was great and the food was also good. The staff were very helpful and most knew quite a bit of English (useful when you don't speak Chinese or Tibetan!). The rooms were comfortable (better than in Beijing!), and internet access was provided via ethernet cable in the rooms which made it very robust compared with the fragile connections experienced elsewhere. The hotel staff were so friendly and very helpful, I would certainly stay there again, given the chance!

Room Tip: My son and I shared a twin bedded room on the top floor - great double aspect bedroom with lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this Tibetan owned hotel for a month. We spent two weeks with a tour group, then were offered great rates to stay for another two weeks. The staff were always happy and helpful. The rooms were spotless and very nicely decorated and the views are absolutely stunning! The restaurant is fantastic and we ate there daily. They have several computers with very fast Internet and skype. They even have their own hairdresser! The location is a little walk from the city centre, but an amazing experience walking through the stone lane ways scattered with monasteries, tailors, shops and restaurants. I loved these walks everyday, exploring Lhasa. I can't wait to visit here again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thispreciousearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed this hotel for three nights. Although it is a bit far from the commercial area, they offer a nice service and have a nice restaurant attached to it. The room is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

If you want a room with a broken air-conditioner/heater ... book into the Dekang!
If you want a room without ANY hot water for a morning shower ... book into the Dekang!
If you want to drink warm beer ... book into the Dekang!

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room - book into another hotel. Try the Yak Hotel, it comes highly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kanga-roo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We 've been stayed there for few nights. DeKang Hotel was the best hotel we'd stayed in Tibet. Staff there are professional, friendly and helpful!. the room settings were good, good hygiene, plenty of water supply, internet service available. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fung-Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

A lovely family run mid size hotel with friendly professional staff (with good English) who were keen to help. I stayed for 4 nights as part of a tour group on a 3 week trekking and cultural tour of Tibet. It was definitely the best accommodation on our tour. I had dinner on 2 nights at the restaurant and the meals were excellent. Quiet location and my room was spacious with a spotless bathroom. The bar and terrace on the top floor have wonderful views of the Potala Palace. Within walking distance of most of Lhasa's main attractions. A real find if you are tired of the big hotel chains and want a nice place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris191156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
255 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I am currently at the Dekang as part of a National Geographic trip. The staff is very friendly, and the food has been great. There's even made to order omelets at breakfast. Some of the room furnishings are weary, but the room is clean. There's plenty of hot water, and wifi! TV in each room; I haven't watched anything, though. Kettle and tea are supplied. My room is on the back side of the hotel. You can hear traffic and honking occasionally. Those on the front side of the hotel hear it more. There's a small garden with ducks below my windows. I find the quacks to be just part of the atmosphere. Be sure to go up to the 4th or 5th floor around 9 pm when they turn on the floodlights to the Potala.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brngckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 320 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#5 of 320 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 320 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekang Hotel

Property: Dekang Hotel
Address: No.2 Shengtai Road, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dekang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekang Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing