We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yak steak and lhasa beer”
Review of Dunya Restaurant

Dunya Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Yak steak and lhasa beer”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great place for a relaxing meal.
Dutch owner will explain in english the details of all meals
Lhasa beer is great and so is the Yak steak made by western standards
Also the dessert is continental / american style

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    73
    38
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Clean and tasty”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After a while eating noodles, rice and soup, trying to avoid at all costs eating meat, we had Yak meat at Dunya Restaurant. The restaurant is good for those worrying about lack of hygiene in Tibetans restaurants. It does look clean and the service is quite good. The food is not the tastiest but definitely one of the best options we tried around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Western style rstaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We sat upstairs in this western style restaurant. I ordered the yak burger which was excellent. If you want a little taste of home this is a good choice however, there are much better local restaurants around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and cold beer”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate here for lunch and had a fresh orange juice which was lovely and tomato soup. We went back at night to have pasta and pizza (a change from the usual Chinese menu in all the other local restaurants) They were both very good - a bit heavy with the basil in the pasta but tasty. The beer was cold which is the only cold one we had the whole trip. Service was prompt and the owner was friendly. Toilets were clean (bonus for Tibet!) Best meal we had in Tibet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudeAberdeenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1hr waiting for a wrong dish”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were here for a dinner on Sep, staff served a dish that we didnt order and acted like its not her mistake. Had to order again and waited for 30 min more when all another in my group finished their foods, then they bring my dish but not sure what it was so have to bring back to kitchen for checking again.
After all the owner of Dunya came and asked for help, nothing to do then. Anyway the food is so so not bad, restaurant is nice, just remember to check again the order note before staff leaves your table to make sure she writes the right food you want.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huongle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dunya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing