We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tibetan Service”
Review of Mandala Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandala Hotel
Ranked #163 of 361 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed at the Mandala Hotel as part of a tour package. The hotel is beautiful and clean. The only thing I would change is that in the part of the hotel where I was staying the rooms did not have air conditioning or heat. Tibet has crazy weather and I was freezing at night! I put on my long underwear, shirt, sweatshirt, and big jacket and I was still shivering. I finally went to the front desk and asked them for a heater (in English!). The hotel clerk understood me and gave me a hand held heater that worked like a charm.

Upon checking in I was told that I could get dinner if I went to the restaurant of the hotel. I walked up there (through a courtyard and up to the third floor) and it was an empty room. It wasn't clear to me if they would serve me a meal or not - there were no menus. I was confused so I left!

The hotel has 5 computers hooked up to the internet which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Mandala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2008

If you want a Tibetian experience, this is a good place. The
location is right across the street from the Jokhang Temple. Very
good people running this hotel. They serve a great western
breakfast. Plain and simple rooms. The only drawback here was
quite a few bedbugs. Since I travel with a fully enclosed bug tent
for sleeping, they didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank artyhues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Mandala Hotel, in the very Center of old Lhasa overlooking the Johkang Temple and Pilgrams walking the kora day and night. Best location for real Tibet, Lhasa stay. No fake Chinese fancy tourist hotel in the newly sprawling glitz of Chinese Lhasa. This hotel and location is how it still should be. Napali and Tibet run, pleasant and helpful stay, very basic rooms, nothing fancy, clean, funky plumbing. single to triple rooms. left luggafe, bicycles, laundry very cheap. Fantastic location, Everything you could wnat except for Chinese experience.

5  Thank drdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank istvandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Deze kamers hebben vloerverwarming die avonds om 20.00 uur aangaat.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cilia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MartolinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.7 mi away
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
#35 of 361 in Lhasa
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 361 in Lhasa
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 361 in Lhasa
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yak Hotel
Yak Hotel
#1 of 46 in Lhasa
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 361 in Lhasa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Hotel

Address: No.31 Barkhor South Street, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 361 Hotels in Lhasa
Also Known As:
Mandala Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing