We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
25
95
73
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
95
73
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstibet vistatour companiessimple englishtourist hotelhigh techminute walktibetan areachina standardslocal standardslocation was perfectcomfortable staytibetan dishesricerooms are cleantibetan quarterother travelersthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 225 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

As far as other stays in Tibet have gone, this was the most luxurious.
However, we had the room beside reception which was prone to noise from other guest checking in and out at all hours as well as roudy groups having a sing along in the foyer late at night.
The breakfast supplied was very good with a great range. Fruit was always fresh and the hot food was hot and cold food cold.
The location was not too bad. 1800m to the Potalla Palace give or take and close to the old city.
Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Zambuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2014

I booked a 9-days trip to Tibet with Ctrip tour agency, the whole trip was poor organized.
- Dirty sink- dirty toilet, it seems that they don't use detergent at all.
-Hair inside the shower.
-Power cut during i was in the shower
- Flies in the room.
-Dangerous broken switches in the bathroom!
-Dirty towels, it seems that they are not always changing of towels after last guest's check-out.
-Dirty carpet as they never use vacuum cleaner!!
-No complimentary bottled water in the room
-Extremely rude and aggressive hotel staff soon after i complained about the lack of cleanliness!
-No internet connection inside the room however hotel's brochures suggests otherwise.
- Unprecented unhygienic conditions in the kitchen/restaurant. I wasn't willing to put the rest of my journey at risk because of this hotel's hazardous and disgusting hygiene condition therefore i went to a nearby decent bakery were i had a wonderful breakfast.
-Next day i heard from other guests that they experienced upset stomach soon after they had breakfast!!
-The restaurant's staff they are wearing their own clothes as well as heavy jackets on top of them and not proper uniform as in any respected hotel around the world!
-Soon after a quick rain a big water pool is being created just outside hotel's main gate making the hotel totally unaccessible!
I HAVE PHOTOS TO PROVE ALL THE ABOVE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kosmopolis2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Bed was alittle on the hard side but comfortable for Chinese standards. Room were clean and shower facilities were great. Wifi connection were stable. Outlook of the hotel looks more like hostel with many tibetan flags hanging across the sky to the other side of the building. Hotel lobby is decorated in tibetan style, even the lift door. Spacious lobby , there is a medical center at the lobby area. Once you step out of the hotel, it walking distance to the Jokhang temple (about 10 mins). Staff were able to communicate in simple english.

Overall no fancy deco in the room but comfortable and clean hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CharmaineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014

The hotel was not a 4 star even for Tibet, maybe a very low 3 star. They do have two towers and we were suppose to be in the better one but who knows. The room was only surface clean the carpet was disgusting and never was vacuumed for all the time we were there. The showers were suppose to be these fancy things that had jets on the side ect. but they did not work. You could not get hot water before 7:00 am.
The beds were rock hard, I am not sure what the others are talking about with the duvet it was on the thin side as well. Breakfast was below average but I must say that the coffee was great. we did not eat at the restaurant, I was worried that it would be like breakfast, but others found it fine.
On a positive note, the location is very good and I was told that the medical center was very helpful as well.

Room Tip: Tower A is better, looking out over the courtyard is better than the back of the hotel, those would be the odd numbered rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stephenavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is adequate and comfortable, though the beds are a bit hard. It looked a lot better when we went back after spending some time outside of Lhasa. The duvets are nice though the wifi is very slow. The location is wonderful and the staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. The medical centre in the lobby was good for a quick consultation on altitude sickness and provided some seemingly effective medication.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank JHYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews