We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair conditions, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A few minutes from downtown and in a busy commercial area, the hotel have a quiet inner court ( it is advisable your room to face it rather the exterior), an impressive lobby and two (slow) elevators serving the three floors; the rooms are good, the bathrooms fairly large and Internet access only in the lobby (when it works). The breakfast is good according to local standards, including toast, yak butter, some cheese, fresh fruits and some Chinese dishes.
Around the corner there is a tea shop, with some very good selections and good prices. Five minutes down the road, opposite direction from Potala Palace, there are a couple of very nice live-music rock bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very luxurious especially after staying in some awful places around the Kailash region. It is very clean with nice touch of Tibetan decor and a fruit basket in the rooms. The shower is a strange beast that is self contained with side jets, fan, lights, and funny knobs without any indication of what they do. Breakfast is better than most with some variety of fruits and cereals. The hotel is close to the old Tibetan area and interesting shops are around the corner. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Gang Gyan lists itself as a "4 Star Hotel", however it is quite similar to most of the other 3 Star hotels in Lhasa. It is a good hotel located towards the end of the Tibetan Quarter. Jokhang Temple is about a 10 minute walk away as are most of the good restaurants in Lhasa.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel was WIfi throughout. Staff are friendly and can speak basic English. The main part of the hotel is about 100 meters or so off of the main road so the hotel is quieter than other hotels that are located directly on the street. Breakfast was good with a decent amount of options.

The Gang Gyan is a good Tibetan owned hotel to stay at in Lhasa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here in April. I have nothing good to say about this place. Extremely cold in the hotel. Heating only if you ask for a heater. Problems with water and electricity going off in the evening/overnight. Breakfast was miserable and I would only stay there if there was no where else in the city to go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for two, two night stays in April 2013: one on the way to Everest Base Camp and the second on the way back. The best thing you could say about this place is that it is barely tolerable and only slightly better than camping in the street in a tent!

Of our 4 nights, the electricity "failed" overnight for three of them. Interestingly, when there was no electricity, there was no cold water. I presume it was pumped in, given the altitude. So the first shower attempt resulted in a scalded scalp as there was only boiling hot water no matter what the setting. Also, there was only a single toilet flush possible. Made for an interesting way to leave the room.

The hotel was cold. The lobby is quite attracftive superficially, and there is a well-stocked convenience store where one can change money ($US only) but there is no heating and the non-English speaking staff are constantly dressed in puffer jackets. The rooms are also unheated. The staff diligently brought heaters but when the power goes out overnight, they just take up space in the room. The staff do bring extra blankets when you ask (it is useful to use them underneath you to soften the hard beds that others have noted so my advice is to ask for them on check-in shiould you ignore this review and actually stay there). Free internet is available in the rooms but the wifi network does not extend to all of the rooms and one has to ask for cables etc. to get it working (or at least we and our co-travellers did). The other effect of no electicity is waking in the dark (makes for interesting packing on the last day), so make sure you have a torch/flashlight or a previously charged smartphone with a light function.

Breakfast is basic but probably adequate (how much yak butter can one actually put on toast??) and in a very cold dining room. Don't forget your coat. Despite other reviews, we found the desk staff friendly enough but hardly fluent in English.

On the day we left (when there was no power) no-one answered the desk phone, we lugged our cases down three flights of stairs and had to wake the desk staff who were sleeping in a rooom behind the desk so that we could open the gate to let our driver in to take us to the airport.

We stayed in some pretty ordinary accommodation in China and Tibet and are by no means hotel snobs. It is just that this place loooks to be so much more than it actually is. My advice for Lhasa is to splurge big time and stay at the St Regis. It looked magnificent and when we were lost walking around Lhasa, the staff there were unbelievably kind and helpful even though we were not staying there. When you arrive in a location with almost no oxygen in the air, you deserve to be at least warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Transplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

was suppose to stay for 3 nights, but stayed only one, very very hard beds, the decor is very outdated, rooms are dark, breakfast was ok. good that our tour company moved us to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

It's a nice hotel. Like in almost all of the chinese hotels I've stayed in, the carpet is a little grody looking, but at least here it's clean. The staff is probably the best part about the hotel. I especially adore the woman who works in the convenience store downstairs. The front desk people are helpful and they all speak decent enough english. The location is very good - it's maybe a 15 minute walk to Potala Palace, but not a big deal. They have blackout shades on the backs of the curtains, and it's very quiet, so you can sleep in as long as you like. the beds are on the hard side, but that goes along with grody carpet. All in all, though, a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jgsportlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 362 in Lhasa
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.2 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#7 of 362 in Lhasa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 362 in Lhasa
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel

Address: No.83 Beijing East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $62 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tibet Gang-Gyan Lhasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing