We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel for lhasa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed June 19, 2012

was suppose to stay for 3 nights, but stayed only one, very very hard beds, the decor is very outdated, rooms are dark, breakfast was ok. good that our tour company moved us to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

It's a nice hotel. Like in almost all of the chinese hotels I've stayed in, the carpet is a little grody looking, but at least here it's clean. The staff is probably the best part about the hotel. I especially adore the woman who works in the convenience store downstairs. The front desk people are helpful and they all speak decent enough english. The location is very good - it's maybe a 15 minute walk to Potala Palace, but not a big deal. They have blackout shades on the backs of the curtains, and it's very quiet, so you can sleep in as long as you like. the beds are on the hard side, but that goes along with grody carpet. All in all, though, a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jgsportlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Neat, clean, spacious, the usp of this hotel is it's proximity to the Jokhang Temple and the narrow inner lanes of old Lhasa. It exudes warmth and a doctor on call 24 /7 is reassuring for the myriad problems regarding high altitude. Helpful staff, a fair breakfast by Lhasa standards, with a convenience store thrown in inside it's compound.....it's as good as it can get.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Its billed as a 4 star hotel and it compares with other "Chinese" 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are clean, the shower is a nightmare to work, but once you suss it out you are all set. The Breakfast is okay, you may think its not too clever until you try breakfasts in other Tibetan hotels, and then you will be grateful for the breakfast here.

We booked this through ChinaYak tour company, who provided the very best service and made sure our Tibetan experience would be one we never forgot for all the tight reasons. Best thing about this hotel, LOCATION location location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights in April 2010. Overall I think I had a pretty good time there.

Location:
Walking distance to the old marketplace district. Many restaurants, gift shops, and sightseeing places nearby.

Room:
Was clean, had no problem.
One minor issue I had was trying to understand how the shower & sink equipments work. But I got accustomed to them fairly quickly so no big deal.

Internet:
They let me use the PCs in the lobby for free. Had some connection problems sometimes, but were still usable.

Breakfast:
Average. No complaint.

Hotel staff:
Many members didn't speak good English, but I was still able to communicate the important stuff one way or another.

Others:
Had a doctor's room for people with altitude sickness. I didn't need it personally since I didn't get sick, but many first-time tourists who come to Lhasa on a plane do get sick.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We were aware that Chinese 4-star hotels (like Gang Gyan) were approximately equivalent to 3 star Western hotels, so we went in with that mindset when booking. Turns out, not quite accurate. I would compare the quality of the Gang Gyan Lhasa Hotel to a 2-star motel like a Days Inn or a Super 8 Motel. Not as nice as a Comfort Inn, but better than a Motel 6. We expected a bit better than this from a 4-star hotel, particularly for the not-cheap price they charged. Almost the entire clientele at the hotel during our stay was large European and Chinese tour groups.

THE ROOM - When we arrived, our room was very dirty, badly in need of a carpet (heavily stained and old), and the desk lamp didn't work. The bed was horribly hard, and neither the air conditioning nor the heat worked. I called down and apparently , this time of year all the hotels in Lhasa turn both off. I find it hard to believe that the folks down the road at the Sheraton were experiencing the same thing. So, we roasted like rotisserie chickens all through our stay. The room was very dark, with only one floor lamp and a desk lamp, which made it hard to work. Also when we arrived, after being assured the hotel had broadband internet in the room (very important for us as we have to work on the road), we found that the internet didn't work either. We had to go down the street to a hostel and use their wi-fi. After a day and a half, the internet was fixed, so that was good. The bathroom features an add-on shower stall, which at 6'2" I was unable to use the tropical rain shower because my head was against the nozzle - I had to bend over to use even the hand-nozzle. Turns out the water pressure was so low that it wouldn't have worked in any case. The toilet had a strange spring-loaded seat so guys have to either sit or do a one-handed maneuver while holding the seat up. There is cable TV with lots of channels, but only one in English - and that is a Chinese channel that played the same program at the same time each day we were there. Unlike every other hotel we stayed at in China, they did not provide complimentary bottled water - you had to buy it. There is no iron in the room or even available at the hotel, so make sure you bring one if you need to iron. There is nothing in the room in English that tells you how to call the front desk, but it is 5555 we found out after having to go to the front desk to ask. There is a hair dryer that worked well until it mysteriously stopped working on the last day, and a small wet bar that consisted of Lhasa Beer and Budweiser and water (maybe a couple other things, I can't recall).

AMENITIES - There is a 2-person internet station in the gift shop with computers. There is a restaurant where you have breakfast (included) and it is also open for dinner (not lunch). The breakfast is of poor quality, the dining room is always dirty, as is the egg station area. The buffet is almost entirely Chinese, seemed like leftovers from the previous evening - but there is an egg station where you can get fried and scrambled eggs (not omelets). There is no service, it is entirely self-serve, including coffee. The tables are large circular tables with lazy susans. We didn't chance the restaurant for dinners. There is no room service or other amenities we could see.

STAFF - At first it seemed like the staff was a bit surly, but later they got a lot better. Overall, the front desk staff, despite limited English, were helpful and nice. Housekeeping was nice too. We did not receive bell service. Breakfast staff weren't too friendly, just going about their business.

BUSINESS - There is a desk in the room, and high-speed internet (when it works) if you have a computer. No business center that we saw or conference rooms, but there are two internet kiosks in the gift shops. We didn't see a single person there that seemed to be a business traveler, and with the lighting situation and flaky internet, probably not a place for that.

LOCATION - The hotel is well located, on the main drag through town (Beijing Ave), about a 10 minute walk to the Old Town shopping district. There is wi-fi just a few doors down at Lowoo Restaurant if the internet breaks, and taxis are easy to get if you want to go to Potala Palace. You can walk to Jokhang Temple in about 20 minutes. It takes about 1:20 to get here from the airport if everything goes perfectly - took us over 2 hours to get back, then there is a line outside at the airport where you have to pass security to get to check in, so make sure you allow lots of time for your return trip.

On your first day in Lhasa, don't do anything but rest in your room. Even a quick walk to the market greatly increases your chances of altitude sickness. We got this on the first day, I was very sick with severe headache, dizziness and nausea, and that was with Diamox. I think it was because of the exertion of walking around looking for a wi-fi connection that first day. The second day I felt much better. Spend your first day entirely at the hotel resting, then head to Potala Palace on your second day. The first day, there are a few restaurants within a 1 or 2 minute walk that are probably fine to hit for dinner. Stay hydrated, no alcohol (not a problem because the beer in Lhasa is served warm and there isn't much else to choose from in most places).

We weren't expecting a 5-star hotel, but at least we don't need to have filthy, stained carpets, dirty all over the hotel, and lots of broken things...and A/C and internet, both advertised, were expected.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel during our trip to Tibet in May 2009. Hotel was built recently and the location is very convenient. However it is bit far to Potala Palace and Jokhang Temple. Taxis are plenty in Lhasa and charge 10 RMB to go anywhere in the City. The rooms are fairly new and spacious. Front desk staff was very helpful and assisted us to find information required to walk around the streets near the hotel. The breakfast is reasonably good and included in our package. Hotel also provides free unlimited Internet access for the guests. Overall we are quite happy with the services we received from this hotel and recommend the hotel to other travelers.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank upalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 361 in Lhasa
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 361 in Lhasa
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 361 in Lhasa
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel

Address: No.83 Beijing East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $62 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tibet Gang-Gyan Lhasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing