We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A Pleasant Experience

Being the 1st organised tour in our travels of 29 countries the trip went like clockwork. Great... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Norm K
,
Jaipur, India
Mesmerizing Lhasa !!

A very well organized, professional and fulfilling tour of our Lhasa trip. It was great to be... read more

Reviewed April 9, 2019
S M
Read all 63 reviews
  
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
58
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train tickets day tour everest base camp private tour tibet tour altitude sickness yamdrok lake sera monastery anita yuki murphy wishes organisation planning company itinerary driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Thanks to Windhorse tour and Anita, our correspondant, we had the best !
Starting from our guide, Kelsang, who was excellent to all the tours we did with him.
China Eastern airlines cancelled our flights but Anita was able to rescheduled them for us in a couple of hours ! super efficient !

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank armida907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Was supposed to write a review for Windhorse Tour much earlier but was caught by my busy schedule, so here we go.

We are a group of budget travelers so we planned and booked our tour almost one year ahead in hope that we could get the best deal possible to go to EBC with limited budget, and thankfully we came across Windhorse Tour, which was the only company that offered the cheapest package that we could find at that time.

Ms. Anita Fan of Windhorse Tour was the person in charge of our tour arrangement before we actually flew over to Tibet. She was very caring, helpful, very accommodating and professional. I had been liaising with her almost every week ever since we booked the tour with her company until our departure for Tibet. She has always been helpful to adjust our itinerary according to our request and changes without compromising on our tight budget. Thumbs up for her!

As for the tour, our guide was Tenzin, who was also assigned to us by Anita. Tenzin is a very experienced local guide with 12 years experience of guiding foreigners like us. He speaks very good English. He knows how to avoid the crowd in the touristic areas without compromising the quality of our trip.

We really enjoyed the tour arranged by Windhorse Tour and would strongly recommend them to those of you who really want to visit Tibet and EBC with limited budget.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank FrederickS404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuki_WHT, Manager at WindhorseTour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Hi Frederick S,

Many thanks for your time for sharing your Tibet story with WindhorseTour.

It's always our pleasure to be able to assist you with your Tibet trip, and we are very happy that you have had a great time in Tibet with the local experienced guide. If you need any other information or assistance for your future China tour, please feel free to contact us again.

Keep in touch and we shall see you again.

With warm regards,
Yuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

Excellent planning and organisation by Yuki at Windhorse tours. Trains, planes ,boat and accommodation all went to plan without any hitches. A wonderful trip would recommend Windhorse tours to anyone traveling to China or Tibet Tom Brisbane Australia

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Windhorse organised every aspect of my recent trip to Lhasa very well. Alice was very helpful while I was planning my visit and responded swiftly to all my many questions.The Windhorse representative in Kathmandu came to my hotel and arranged my Tibet entry permit. I was met on arrival at Lhasa Airport and was shown around Lhasa by drivers and guides who were knowledgeable, helpful and always friendly. My hotel was as promised, good quality accommodation. With a good mix of guided touring and independent leisure time I enjoyed a wonderful few days exploring the city and learning about Tibetan culture. I am sorry I did not have the time to venture out of Lhasa and see some of the countryside. I recommend Windhorse wholeheartedly.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank ge0ffreyclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuki_WHT, Manager at WindhorseTour, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Ge0ffreyclark,

Thank you for spare your time sharing your trip experience with WindhorseTour and we are glad that you enjoyed a nice time in Tibet.

We are very happy to know that our guides and drivers organized your sightseeing and free time well, so that you have chance to know our culture and also spend some leisure time on your own.

It is regretful that your time is limited, and no chance for sightseeing out of Lhasa. Tibet is very large, and we do hope that you can come for a visit again. We will be very honorable to show you more beautiful lakes and mountains.

If you need any further help, please feel free to contact us. We are always here.

Kind regards,
Yuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

We generally travel independently, even with two small kids, but as that's not an option for Americans in Tibet, we started looking for a tour company. We were recommended to Windhorse Tours while living in China by other expatriates and we were not disappointed.

Our tour agent was Victoria. She communicated promptly and accurately via email while setting up our trip. She had just the right mix of listening to our wishes and proactively suggesting things based on those wishes. She held our hand through the process of applying for our Tibet Travel Permit and made sure it got delivered to our hotel via courier as we were traveling in southern China prior to leaving for Tibet. But when we stupidly, through our own mistakes, were unable to board our train from Guangzhou to Lhasa, Victoria and her crew really went above and beyond. She helped us find new train tickets, walked us through the process of getting a partial refund for the tickets we couldn't use, and hastily re-arranged our whole tour, since it was now two days shorter. Finally, Windhorse even issued us a refund for the portion of the tour we were going to miss, even though the mistakes and responsibility were entirely ours.

In the end, we had a great six days in Lhasa and the surrounding area. Our guide, Jhampa, was wonderful, especially with our kids, who were tired and a little altitude-sick and honestly not being their best selves. He was always punctual and well-informed. When our questions exceeded his knowledge, he always let us know, instead of BS-ing a non-answer, which is a sterling quality in a guide.

We loved our time in Tibet and we are already planning our next trip. When we return, we will definitely use Windhorse, and you should too!

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank jtrabue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews