We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Potala Palace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xin Ding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xin Ding Hotel
Ranked #12 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Close to Potala Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 15min walk to the Potala Palace. Lots of contruction around the hotel, but we were not bothered with noise. Room is comfortable.

Breakfast lacks western items. We had noodle soup for dinner and it was delicious.

Oxygen tanks available if you are not feeling well.

Most of the staff is not bilingual, but they try to be helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
5
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place was booked as part of a tour. The hotel is not in the centre but some 20 mins walk away.

The lobby is nice and quite grand but absolutely freezing with the poor reception staff having to wear coats.

Our room was fine, above average with TV that had one English channel and heating which was welcome.

It was the beginning of the season so the restaurant was not operating at full capacity, so our first night there was limited options, but the food was tasty.

This was a big contrast to breakfast which was not good, the choice and quality was poor, the plates were not refilled when empty and the butter and jams were very old and sticky. Not a pleasant breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
286 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

In Tibet, many hotels don't have heat, and almost none have heat in the lobby or restaurants, so this was better than average because it had heat in the rooms, had hot water (this is a challenge and roll of the dice in Tibet too), and the rooms were clean. For Western visitors, this place would be akin to a 2-star hotel, but in Lhasa, it is rated as a 4-star. Only having stayed in 2 hotels in Lhasa, I can't judge completely, but after time in Tibet, I have to think that this is a good choice in Lhasa for the price. If you want amenities (like heat), then you have to pay up and either stay at the St Regis or Shangri-La in Lhasa. We did exactly that after a week in Tibet at cold hotels.

In terms of negatives, we couldn't find any staff that spoke English, so arranging things was difficult. You have to book ahead for meals, and the meals are pretty cold and disappointing too. Finally, the location is a bit outside of the center of the town, and due to the altitude, you can't just walk over to the town center area, and catching a cab in town to get back is a challenge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmanJunkieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on our recent trip to Tibet. At first glance I was wondering where we were and what we were in for. The location seemed remote from the centre of town and it seemed in a semi industrial area.
Checking in was easy and the room was spacious if somewhat dated and worn.
Hotel has a good lobby , and lounge area where you can relax and use the free Wi Fi , as well as have some food or drinks.
There was a supermarket across the road, but we could not find any suitable food outlets as it was late , so we ate in the hotel, which was not too bad.
Our room had a great view of Potala Palace but unfortunately there was a construction site across the road which went on till 2 am. Along with the road noise below , sleep was not an option. To their credit our room was swapped the next night after we mentioned the problem and they credited our account with the previous nights meal.
The next room was comfortable and quiet.
We discovered that a taxi got you to the old town for 20 CNY ( $3.50 AUD ) so it was not too bad after all. It also allowed you experience the joy of hailing a taxi back ( prepare to share or have the drivers partner in the cab as well etc. )
Breakfast was as good as anywhere , service was good so for the money it was not a bad place to stay.
Out of the action , but a close cab ride away, a bit dated and worn , but clean and good service.

Room Tip: Whist the construction is going on ask for a room away from the back, the views are the best but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of our Odysseys Unlimited tour. This hotel was so uncomfortable that i felt that it pretty much ruined our trip to Lhasa. The major problem was the heating system or the lack thereof. Even though the temperatures were frequently in the 40s and 50s, there was no heat in the restaurant and lobby of the hotel. We had to wear our coats to breakfast. Since the only place for wifi in the hotel is the lobby, we also spent time freezing in the lobby. We were able to get some heat in the rooms through antiquated boxes mounted on the wall, but it was impossible to modulate very well.

Although the bad heating system was the major problem, it wasn't the only problem. The staff spoke no English whatsoever. The rooms were missing such things as light bulbs and toilet paper, necessitating a game of charades with the staff. Another major issue was the construction going on next door 24 hours/day. The racket all night long made it difficult to sleep. The hotel is in a very unattractive, possibly unsafe neighborhood. I would happily have packed my bags to move and pay for a better hotel if I could have managed it with the tour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank daasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lhasa hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
522 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is amazing - with a huge brass relief panel behind the courtesy desk. The location is great also. We had a veiw of the Potala Palace from our hotel room. And it is an easy walk to a local park and shops. A convenient grocery store is just across the street and down a bit. One drawback (for many people) is the hardness of the beds. But apparently this is trypical of beds in China. However, the TIbetan beds were VERY hard.
The room was clean and nicely appointed. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights while on a tour of China and Tibet. It was lovely, with
a terrific view of the Potala Palace, absolutely unobstructed for now. (Something is being built
right in front of it which will no doubt obstruct the view in the future, but for now it is just
perfect.) We kept having trouble with the air conditioning and also the television, and the
staff was really so gracious and helpful getting us straightened out. One afternoon we
needed a taxi and the hotel people went out of their way to flag one down and get us on our
way. Very, very helpful with all our needs. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Clean
and comfortable with an excellent, helpful, pleasant staff.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room that faces the Potala.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
1.2 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#13 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
1.4 mi away
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xin Ding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xin Ding Hotel

Property: Xin Ding Hotel
Address: No.8 Jinzhu Second Road, Zhonghe International City, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xin Ding Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Xin Ding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xin Ding Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing