We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded”

Sun Yatsen Mausoleum (Zhongshan Ling)
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Captivating Nanjing Historical and Cultural Day Tour including Qinhuai River...
Ranked #2 of 406 things to do in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From what I heard this is a place that must be visited in Nanjing. And I appreciated visiting places which could tell me more about the history of China. However, I felt a little bit regret visiting here. It was just too crowded. Full of people sitting in, eating, spitting, and messing up everywhere.

I heard that years before people need to buy a ticket to get in, but now it is free of charge. Maybe it is the reason why it is so crowded. I wouldn't mind it charge me a few dollars to get in, if the entrance fee could keep it from looking like a general park.

A hint for visitors: Some people selling "discounted tickets" around the entrance. Don't buy from them. The entrance is free of charge.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    607
    192
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Impressive huge mausoleum”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The memorial is located in part of a very large mountain parkland. It copes well with the huge number of mainly local visitors than come to pay respects to the man most responsible for the establishment of a unified republican China

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 65Graham65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I hope you're fit!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoy the trek up the stairs. The views are worth it. Impressive tomb for a revered figure of Chinese history. My second visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A good day out hiking”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It is now free, so it makes a nice day out. The fall colours should kick in around the first week in November, and at that time the views will be spectacular. Hiking up from either of the closest Metro stops made a decent hike, and we actually walked all the way back to Xinjiekou. The whole trek from Minggogong to the Mausoleum, and back to the Taj Mahal, took 7 hours.

There really isn’t much to do other than climb the steps and enjoy the views. The building themselves are very picturesque, and it is good for people watching.

As westerners we were inundated with photo requests, more so than anywhere else in the developed parts of China. I guess a lot of outsiders come for a pilgrimage, especially this time of year.

It was crowded, of course, but in some ways that made it more of an experience.

There are planty of snack options at the base, and the prices are not too bad.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent !”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sun Yat-Sen's Mausoleum is located in green countryside. Major structures made of moorstone and blue glazed tiles make them solemn and splendid. A feeling of respect to Sun generates naturally from visitors. Don't visit the place during public holidays in China.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Yatsen Mausoleum (Zhongshan Ling) also viewed

 

Been to Sun Yatsen Mausoleum (Zhongshan Ling)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing