We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suning Universal Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,969 Hotels in Nanjing
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip with three colleagues in April 2014. The hotel is clean and tidy, and the rooms are quite spacious. The checking area is on the third floor, where there is a buffet restaurant, which serves a good breakfast (Chinese and Western food) and coffee/snacks during the day. A minor annoyance is the failure to impose the non smoking rule in this restaurant area, where one or two people were allowed to smoke at breakfast and during the afternoon, despite a no smoking sign on every table.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank AJMTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family stayed at the Suning Universal Hotel for over 2 weeks between the end of June and July of 2012. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to many attractions. The hotel provides exceptional service to make every guest feel at home. The moment we arrived, the staff made us feel special and welcome. Special recognition for the guest relation manager Zhu Helen, lobby restaurant staff Zhang Zi Jun and housekeeping staff at 23rd floor. The suite we stayed at 23rd floor is little outdated, however, the hotel is renovating the suites floor by floor. Our two weeks stay was pleasant and we would return again in two years.

Room Tip: 25th and 26th floors are new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CIndy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the Suning Universal Hotel for 10 days in November 2011. Located on Guangzhou Road (next door to the Nanjing Grand Hotel), the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Zhujianglu‎ metro station (Line 1) on the corner of Zhongshan and Guangzhou roads in the downtown area.

This hotel is in a recently built office tower, with the hotel lobby, restaurant, and ballroom on the 3rd floor and the hotel rooms and suites located between the 22nd and 28th floor. There is a rooftop swimming pool on the 29th floor. There is also a health club on the 4th floor. There are staff located at the ground-floor entrance to escort arriving guests with their luggage to the lobby on the 3rd floor.

I stayed in a very comfortable room on the 23rd floor. There was no street noise and hardly any sound from my neighbors. My room was very clean, in good condition, with no strange smells, and no tobacco odor. I found the mattress a little harder than I was used to, but soon became comfortable with it. The white/beige room carpet was a little worn and is probably rather hard to keep clean. The bathroom was a little small with a showerhead over the bathtub with shower curtain (no separate shower cubicle), but perfectly fine for one person. My room (not really a suite) was divided into a separate bedroom with door and a living room with office desk. The bedroom had a large, wall-mounted, flat-screen TV with 30 channels; 26 in Chinese and 4 in English (CCTV News, CNN, Discovery Channel, and HBO). It would have been great to have a TV in the living room also. The hotel offers free internet access (wired) in the room and wifi in the restaurants and lobby areas.

Housekeeping was excellent.They also asked me which time was preferable to clean my room on weekdays and on weekends. The complimentary China Daily newspaper usually arrived in my room later in the day. Complimentary fruit (they asked for my preference) was provided in my room each day. The laundry service was fast and efficient.

Buffet breakfast is served in the Lobby restaurant on the 3rd floor. The breakfast choice was excellent with a large selection of Chinese and Western food. After my first breakfast in the restaurant, the staff asked me for feedback to improve their service. They took note of my special requests and made every effort to ensure they were provided for each subsequent breakfast.

I had dinner a few times in the "Sun" restaurant on the 3rd floor. The food was excellent and the serving staff are very attentive. At the weekend, you should not be surprised to find the hotel hosting wedding celebrations in the ballroom next to the restaurant. However, this had no impact at all on the quality of service.

I ordered room service once. When the language barrier made it clear that I could not communicate exactly what I wanted, the staff came to my room so that I could indicate what I wanted to order from the menu.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Suning Universal Hotel and I would certainly return here again. The hotel provides very good value and the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home and ensure sure my stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with breakfast included in the rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

All hotelrooms are actually very spacious, comfortable and elegantly suites, with splendid city view. The top (29th) floor is a large indoor swimming pool with almost panoramic city view.

Room Tip: Check internet for offers. Usually only one (1) breakfast included in room rate, but deals can be ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cees3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Angu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0 mi away
Han Yue Lou Hotel, Nanjing – A Solis Managed Hotel
0 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#17 of 1,969 in Nanjing
676 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#4 of 1,969 in Nanjing
1,289 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#5 of 1,969 in Nanjing
686 reviews
0 mi away
Liunian International Youth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suning Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suning Universal Hotel

Address: No.188 Guangzhou Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210024, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,969 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range: $74 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suning Universal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suning Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing