We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,996 Hotels in Nanjing
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I enjoyed my 10 day stay in Nanjing at this hotel. The service was very nice. The breakfast was great. I did not have any other meals there so I can't speak for the service or food quality outside of breakfast.

The bell staff is top notch. The front desk staff is great most of the time, but sometimes they just don't know what the heck you're saying and they don't try to work on it. My favorite part, though, was when they realized in an accounting reconciliation that they had converted my money based on Euros rather than USD. That made them come up short a few bucks. They about had a cow calling me and trying to get me to hurry up and come back to the front desk to take care of it. It was kind of irritating, really.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msprof68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 368 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel is listed as a 5 star hotel but I am not sure how they got away with that. The rooms were outdatted. The bed was clean however the wall paper was a little scary with stains and peeling. The bathroom seemed to be clean but again not a 5 star clean. The room was requested to be a non smoking room but with a lingerin smell of smoke and an ash tray and matches in the room it was not non-smoking. Each night the neighbors proped ther dorr open and were loud inside and were smpking. This could have just been a bit of bad luck for me. I would not recomend this hotel as there are others close by that are much better for the price. The Westin next door should be considered. Mr. Edward Xue was the manager incharge at my check out that would not be considerate that they missd the request for non smoking.

Room Tip: If you want non smoking demand it don't just request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissfamilyridenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I would certainly not call this hotel plush at all but it was ok for a 4-star hotel. Service was indifferent as is often the case in China. The room was rather small but the price was good.
The location was excellent for my needs. The buffet breakfast was not elaborate but adequate. It is right next to a subway stop which is convenient.
I would probably return there for the convenient location and good price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Wonderful staff at Lakeview Xuanwu, and the location across from the expansive park provides great views and opportunities for walking. We booked a non-smoking room, and when we arrived, the entire floor (16) was signed as non-smoking. But it quickly became obvious that the sign was a ruse. Our room was ashtray-equipped, and the patron in the adjacent room was smoking, and smoking a lot. When we complained the following morning to the desk, we were told that they would not be able to move us that night. We decided to stay where we were, realizing that we might have smokers on both sides if we moved as the staff seemed unconcerned that someone was smoking on a non-smoking floor.

Imagine our surprise when we got off the elevator the following day and the non-smoking sign had been REMOVED from the wall, transforming our floor into a smoking floor! Ironically, our smoking neighbor left, making our room much more habitable.

Like I said, the hotel staff is gracious and professional. They helped us with in-town transportation, and they scrambled to help us locate gift wrap and tape when we needed to wrap gifts. I do not think the management understands the desire of many Westerners to reside in rooms that have not been smoked in. The view is that if you are not smoking in your room, then it is a non-smoking room. What happened the previous day or week or year is none of your business.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pullittogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

You walk in to a lovely foyer and are greeted warmly by the staff. So begins a great stay at this hotel in Nanjing. We spent 3 nights here in a comfortable, if not overly large hotel room. All the amenities loved by Western tourists were available: comfortable bed, hot showers, thick towels and great service. The hotel is located right next to the metro station and around the corner from Hunan Lu, one of the major shopping areas in Nanjing. It is right across the street from Xuan Wu, a lovely lake which can be viewed from your room. What's not to like!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Rooms are not huge as at others 5 star hotels (see Shangri-La for example) but are not on the small side.
Lake view rooms really offer excellent views, from high floors, with panoramic window, just near the bed.
Bathrooms are big and with separate showers and bath-tub.
Many staff speak english, and receptionists were very helpfull.
Location is wonderful. Hunan road is close by, you can get there on foot in 5 minutes. XuanWu lake is just on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamingOfChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel is one of the best in class in Nanjing.
It has very good co-operative staff
Kitchen rooms at very attaractive price and they have tie ups such that you can earn Air Miles with the bookings ( that helped me fetch tickets for domestic airlines free )
The siuggestions and also some helping items are how to ask some common querstions to Chinese people. thats written and available for you at no cost.
There is a Piano play and singing going on every evening at the groud floor opened for all near reception.

Many public telephones and ATM available at the hotel.
Currency conversion is also possible here - but not recommended as its slightly costly than getting from the Bank of China.

There is near by Hunan Road, where indian Punjabi restaurant is available with good spicy food and also KFC
They also have home delivery option.

Just few mins walk away is the metro station to catch to office or any place like Olympic stadium.

There is revolving restaurant on top floor which gives good view of the xuanwu Lake.

The lake is few mins walk close to this hotel.

In total the stay was very good.

Not less to mention the kitchen and the small refrigerator and the washing machine helped us greatly.

Internet connection speed is very good too...

Only thing is the television - we get only some chines movies and very rarely english ones.

So if you visit china make sure to take bunch of good movie CDs along to enjoy
their official web site is: http://www.xuanwu.com.cn

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijaymane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#10 of 1,996 in Nanjing
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Nanjing
The Westin Nanjing
#6 of 1,996 in Nanjing
350 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#17 of 1,996 in Nanjing
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#7 of 1,996 in Nanjing
693 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#5 of 1,996 in Nanjing
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel

Address: No.193 Zhongyang Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210009, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#12 Spa Hotel in Nanjing
#24 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range: $81 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Xuanwu Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing