We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favourite in Nanjing”

Taj mahal restaurant
Ranked #9 of 2,712 Restaurants in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Favourite in Nanjing”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I go to this restaurant once a week and order lots so I have left-overs between visits. It's nothing fancy, but the people are charming, and the food is fantastic. It's definitely a favourite restaurant in Nanjing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGW_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic and authentic”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's deceiving. This place is amazing. When you walk in you are greeted by a sweet lady from Sichuan. The menu is in Mandarin and English, so it's easy to order. The woman is super nice and friendly. The food is really great. The samosas are warm, flaky and full of flavour. The paneer: creamy and sweet.
All in all, this place is a jewel. Hidden away from the main road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

When we first arrived I was expecting something a little more flashy. Frankly my first impressions was that it was a dodgy cafe. However I was pleasantly surprised.
We were served by who I believe was the owners wife. Friendly and helpful. the menu was in full English so we had no problem picking our dishes.
there is a choice of local and imported beers.
The food that was served was excellent, in fact it was delicious. I was stunned at how good it was and thanked the chef.
Here's a helpful tip though - there was no toilet paper. this seems to be the norm in china I am finding so make sure you carry some in your hand luggage for such occasions.
apart from that it was impressive and I would recommend it .
If you find my review helpful then please hit the helpful button below,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Welcome change”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pleasant atmosphere and very attentive staff coupled with some of the best Indian food I have had in a long time, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better Indian food than in Guangzhou”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The garlic naan was great! Besides that, I couldn't remember the names of anything, but it was all delicious...and more fresh and flavorful than even the best Indian restaurants in Guangzhou. This is really a local Indian restaurant (workers from Nepal and India, as I understand).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj mahal restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taj mahal restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing