We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Nanjing
Nearby Hotels
$102
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$80
Sofitel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
196
110
32
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
110
32
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsxuanwu lakegreat view of the lakeadjacent mallheavenly bedlarge tubroom service was excellentfront desk staffsubway stationspent one nighthotel lackswarm servicexuan wubusiness tripthe club loungenight staylocation is greatsame building
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 359 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having stayed at Gt Wall Sheraton already one would not know it was part of the same chain ! Nice touches in the room and good value for money

Room Tip: non smoking is always a good start...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights as a short vacation. The hotel is very new, located next to a shopping mall, where finding a good place to eat is not a problem. I highly recommend the ZEN restaurant (which is not entirely Cantonese food). The hotel is 3 min walk from the nearest metro. Most tourist spots (sun yat sen memorial, the Nanjing masaccre museum, the confucious temple) are only 6-7 stations away. Highly recommend it to avoid traffic jam during peak hours. And it only costs RMB2 for a single ride!

The breakfast buffet is good, though not top-notched. Lots of selection and the staff are very friendly and always ready to serve.

The room is well appointed with good lighting. Bed is comfortable. The shower is spacious. Every room has a small side window overlooking XuanWu Lake. It's nice when the sky is clear. There's iPod docking and universal power outlet (which is handy if you forget to bring a convertor)

Why I said it's a hidden gem is that judging by the standard, service and price (which is rather reasonable) of the hotel, it should really be the top 3 in Nanjing, if not the first. The only place to avoid is the Chinese restaurant which us a rip off.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer_Traveller_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Westin and W are in mind a synonim of great service and wondeful hardware. At Westin Nanjing i found new hardware already mistreated and a so/so service.
Down side: at check in my room choice (confirmed booking) was not available.i was not offered any other choice than the available room (it was late in the night i did not want to complain).
I ordered room service (wonton soup) and something tastless was servced, without spoon and napkins.
I decided then to raise my mood with a chocolate bar and found a melted squeezed Sneaker bar you would not touch.
Breakfast was also a disappointment: nothing more than a little bit westernized 4 star chinese hotel service.
Up side: the service at the bars/restaurants are really great: helpful and smiling.

in general an expensive hotel (you might not mind it) not able to ffer what the Westin family normally delivers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rimassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A reviewer before me wrote that they were unhappy because the rooms at the Westin Nanjing smelled of smoke -- after having been to countless hotels in china over the years, i would like to point out that 95% of the time, the air ducts move the smells into the rooms, rather than people actually smoking in them... The Westin Nanjing is a solid hotel with knowledgeable staff, clean, ultra-modern rooms, and good location... It beats the rest of Nanjing hotels hands down...

Room Tip: The hotel is relatively new, therefore, all the rooms are still in superb condition...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Earlier reviews of this hotel have been mixed, I think because the hotel has strong good points and a few real defects. It is conveniently located and regular rooms offer partial views of Xuanwu Lake. No smoking problems in my case. The rooms are beautifully designed--utility, comfort, and even style. Someone has really thought how to make a relatively small space as perfect as possible for the guest. Staff is eager and friendly, if young. Curtain and lighting, which many good hotels screw up, are perfect here. Room size is plenty for one person; OK for 2 as long as you are not hanging out in the room. A few minor flaws (bathroom counter smaller than expected, especially for 2), but wonderful small touches are numerous. Good breakfast, and great gym & pool, though a bit of a schlep. Defects: the elevators pop your ears (in the 21st century?); construction was not as good as design (cabinet doors loose, drawers sticking); and the last night it sounded like someone was marching about in wooden shoes on a wooden floor right above my bed at 6 a.m. (hotel staff doing something somewhere?). I had a good rate including breakfast and internet from expedia; I don't think I'd want to pay rack.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taipeipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews