We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nanjing Visit”

Nanjing City Wall (Ming City Wall)
Ranked #6 of 405 things to do in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nanjing Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Awesome place. Wear comfy shoes and clothes, bring an umbrella for rain and sun, and a poncho. It rained in the middle of the day.
You will go up the mountain with a ski lift chair. Coming down, you have an option of ski lift or a wagon!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    146
    46
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Day trip from Shanghai to Nanjing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went to the Shanghai railway station and found the English window (49). A colleague already printed out the train schedule for the day of all Gtrains to Nanjing so I circled the train I wanted and handed it to the agent. She indicated there were no 2nd class seats on that train or the next one so I opted for a first class ticket which was almost twice the cost of 2nd class. A friend’s voice was in my “head time is money”.
1:45 min later I was stepping off the train in Nanjing. I surveyed the train station then headed to the taxi stand. I wanted to see four sites:
• Nanjing massacre memorial
• South Nanjing city wall
• Yangtze river bridge
• Confucius Temple and surrounding area
I arranged for my hotel concierge to write the name in Chinese of each place on an A3 piece of paper so I could fold it to show each location to the taxi driver. It was a great day trip and the order of locations worked out great. Nanjing is hosting the World Youth Olympics in August 2014 so the tourist areas are getting a facelift. There was a lot of construction. Advice for anyone visiting now would be to wait until September 2014. Another tip is to pre-purchase your train tickets.

South Nanjing city wall is impressive in its thickness but the amount of the wall extending around the city is small for now. They are working on a section that could be open by August 2014. A University student chatted me up and we had a good 15 minute English conversation. The size and depth of this wall is amazing but I probably spent a little less than an hour here. if you exited out the front and go through a parking spot you are on a busy interchange to catch a taxi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wagsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Historic walls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Absolutely include this on your itinerary as it provides a fabulous perspective of fortifications - and the need for same - in centuries past. The length and complexity of the wall when it was constructed is quite extraordinary and you can certainly feel the history as you walk along the ramparts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuzhou, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had other plans for the day but somehow ended walking this wall and was very impressed without knowing at the time any of the history of the wall. You get great views to Xuanwuhu Lake and park below, the Purple Mountain district and the city. I walked this wall and continued walking to look at Pipa and Qian Lakes. About two years ago I cycled the Xi'an city wall which has a bigger reputation than Nanjing's wall but to me the views from Nanjing's wall are more impressive. Nanjing's wall does not seem to attract the Chinese visitor numbers like Sun Yat-sen Mausoleum and the Xiaoling Mausoleum of Ming Dynasty. I found myself walking a large part of the wall alone. Tip: Make sure you have good walking shoes as the surface is uneven.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 247CharlesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Probably the thickest of all the city walls in China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great story behind this wall with a great view from the top to the outer areas of the city. Back in the day you would have had to crazy to try and penetrate all four gates to get through the city wall! If the archers didn't get you the soldiers running out of the hidden dens would've definitely chopped you up.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanjing City Wall (Ming City Wall) also viewed

 

Been to Nanjing City Wall (Ming City Wall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing