We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nanjing
Ranked #4 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was good but could be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Check-in was swift, everything was prepared before hand. Appreciated the towels and Nanjing places of interest introduction.

Stayed in a high level and the view was good.

Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

The curtain switch was impressive, first time seeing it.

Had dinner at Prime, food was good and prices were reasonable.

Special praise for Dora at Prime for her attentive service.

Breakfast at horizon cafe was the only letdown.

Came in at 10am, not much crowd but was led to a table which was uncleared.

Food spread was not too good as they didn't restock the dishes we came in late.

What was frustrating was that when we were about to leave, they prepared everything again for Brunch.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lYuxiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear InterContinental Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Nanjing. We are glad to know that our facilities and staff especially Ms. Dora helped make your stay enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and your feedback has be shared with all concern as it inspires us all to continue to work in the same spirit towards excellence. We are also taking the necessary steps at Horizon Café to ensure such scenarios are not repeated. Any inconvenience caused to you is regretted. Rest assured we will continue to work towards improvements in areas mentioned as well as delivering the best of service and hospitality that one comes to expect from InterContinental Nanjing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    195
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
63
21
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

It's a new hotel with modern amenities, but there are still service issues especially with the concierge that need to be fixed. Although the Concierge sign says they are at your service it does the opposite. On two occasions we tried to utilize the concierge and both times they failed badly. The first was to ask for help recommending a restaurant which they did but told us to make the reservation ourselves. Then the next day we asked if they could make a reservation for us at their own restaurant, but they said we had to go up to the 47th floor to do it ourselves. To top it off we asked the front desk for a late check-out while we were having lunch at their Chinese restaurant which they kindly said would not be a problem, yet when we tried to enter our room the key didn't work. When we ask the front desk why she said because the key stop registering at 12:00.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winner D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear InterContinental Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience. We believe that it is through our valued guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities. Your stay, concierge and room key card experiences have been shared with all concern and necessary steps have been put into place to ensure such scenarios are not repeated. Any inconvenience caused to you is regretted. Rest assured we will continue to work towards improvements in areas mentioned as well as delivering the best of service and hospitality that one comes to expect from InterContinental Nanjing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. If we can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us the hotel email address ic.nanjing@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Great business hotel.
Rooms on the top floors are extremely high up - we had a room in the 65th floor and the view was amazing. Nice rooms, a bit loud though, but nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karkestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear InterContinental Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are indeed pleased to learn your enjoyable stay experience and the fact that it was further complemented by the amazing Nanjing skyline view from the room. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nanjing in the near future.
Sincerely,
InterContinental Nanjing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I just loved the service I got here. I felt like a film star. In fact the wonderfully friendly girls on the Club Lounge reception took photos of me with them.
I adore this place. So friendly! So kind and so very very focussed on treating me like an honored guest. I think it's called 5 star treatment. Martin: Gold Ambassador M.Gwyn@Murdoch.edu.au

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyFreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Mr. Martin
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience. We are indeed pleased to learn of your enjoyable overall stay experience and that you were made to feel very special. Your gracious comments has be shared with all concern especially the Club Lounge team and it has inspired us all to continue to work in the same spirit towards excellence. Rest assured we will work towards delivering the best of service, facilities and hospitality that one comes to expect from the InterContinental brand. We look forward to welcoming you back to your favorite InterContinental hotel at Nanjing.
Sincerely,
InterContinental Nanjing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,653 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I am here on a business trip for an extended period of time,my wife came to join me this past week for our 38th wedding aniversary. We had an experience that can only be explained as "Once in a Life Time" event. I commend Mr. Edwin Kats (Intercontinentals Director of Food&Beverage) and his Staff (especially Alice) on giving me and my wife a very memorable evening that we will remember for a life time! I will recommend to all people I meet in the future to experience the InterContinental Nanjing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience. We are indeed pleased to learn of your enjoyable experience made possible by our staff. Your gracious comments has be shared with all concern especially Mr. Edwin Kats as well as Ms. Alice and it has inspired us all to continue to work in the same spirit towards excellence. Rest assured we will work towards delivering the best of service, facilities and hospitality that one comes to expect from the InterContinental brand. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to InterContinental Nanjing.
Sincerely,
InterContinental Nanjing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

It was new anew hotel, eveything was nice and clean. As I am a clean-freak, so fussy about the cleaness, and i was really happy too saty there.

Staffs were nice and helpful. We have also got discount on foot massage . After a long day with tired body, nothing is better than a nice massage.

The location is very convenience, which is right next to the subway station, easy to travel anywhere by the subway.

We can also see whole lake view - the famous XunWu Lake from our room. Nice view! abd also save us time (so that we do not need to visit that place) for other famous places.

With the room, the view and the service, I think it is a good value for the stay

The only thing made me a bit dissappointed was, they do not have free wifi, it charges

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear nali1,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience. We are indeed pleased to learn of your enjoyable overall stay experience. Your gracious comments has be shared with all concern and it has inspired us all to continue to work in the same spirit towards excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nanjing in the near future.
Sincerely,
InterContinental Nanjing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

This hotel lives up to the expectation of a 5-star hotel. The staff know understand what service means and do it intuitively. The room was beautiful and so were the amenities. The breakfast was also quite good stocked with quality local and imported products and simply displayed. Overall we were very satisfied with the hotel and would definitely recommend it. However, I would balance out my statement by mentioning that the concierge staff need to
improve their service training. They should ask for further clarification when a situation arises that they are not familiar with and not assume they understand and therefore do the mistake 5-10 over!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMeliL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukipu, Manager at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Ms.MeliL
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience. We are indeed pleased to learn of your enjoyable overall stay experience and service provided by our employees. Your gracious comments has be shared with all concern and it has inspired us all to continue to work in the same spirit towards excellence. We will also work to strengthen our Concierge services based on your feedback as we believe that it is through our valued guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nanjing in the near future.
Sincerely,
InterContinental Nanjing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#2 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#6 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Nanjing
The Westin Nanjing
#7 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#14 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nanjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nanjing

Property: InterContinental Nanjing
Address: No.1 Zhongyang Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#23 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nanjing 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nanjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nanjing Hotel Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing