We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelling Place to stay in china”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)
Ranked #38 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelling Place to stay in china”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This place is right next to Zhunghuamen metro station, therefore the accessiblity is great. Secondly its just 10 min walking distance from Nanjing main hub Xienjiekou.

The rooms are large as compared to other restaurants in china, and very convenient. Only problem is that in rooms, they dont have any english channel in TV. Other than that eveything is very good.

All rooms have wifi and wired internet connectivity free of cost.

There is no restaurant. Buffet breakfast is provided which is always a fixed menu and fixed quantity. But it is sufficient. The travellers can order the breakfast in room or get it packed also if they are in a hurry. This is very convenient.

Secondly there is a Indian restaurant very near to the hotel. You have to walk towards xienjiekou and turn left from the first petrol pump which will come on you left.. walk straight and you will find indian restaurant.

Also if you walk to xienjiekou there is a walmart there which is walking distance from hotel.

The most important thing is that some reception staff do speak in english. So incase there is anything you need, you can explain to them. It is really difficult to find english speaking people in china to it is a added plus.

There are also many laundry shops nearby, incase you dont want to give your laundry in the hotel.

All in all its very good choice to stay in nanjing for short trips.

Room Tip: Buy a metro card. It connects most of the places of interest in nanjing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anant25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    208
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
7
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a strange hotel. It shares space with an English language school so students use the same elevator though you need a key card to access the hotel area. The rooms are not super clean. If you use the stairs as I did you'll notice that the doors near the staircase leading to an enclosed alley are always open meaning any critters are free to enter as they please.

On the other hand, it's pretty cheap at less than 300 rmb a night. The Zhangfuyuan metro station is right nearby (it's one stop south of the Xinjiekou station as I learned too late). This means that even though there's no decent food nearby, a 2 rmb token gets you to more happening areas of town. Plus, the shower is excellent: clean, good water pressure and what feels like a granite floor. Overall, price performance wise, I would stay here again. Oh, the stand outside the hotel serves a great burrito like breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoytSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is my second Orange Hotel, I stayed at the far more stylish property in Hangzhou, which I agree with a previous reviewer, is much nicer. This place doesn't seem to get away with the 'cool' feeling that it's sister has.
The staff speak no English, and have no maps in English either, they charged me 10 RMB for a map in Chinese which I gave back to them. There is a few bookstores up the road in Xinjiekou, where I purchased a Travel guide.
The rooms are basic, no fridges, no English channels, no literature etc but comfortable and have the same concept as Hangzhou with a Rubics cube in the room and gold fish.
Once past the shock of lack of English spoken around you, Nanjing is stunning and well worth the visit. The Zhangfuyuan MRT stop is seconds away making for easy passage to Nanjing Railway station.
Don't expect any westerns here, this is purely for the Chinese, but at around $45 not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed five nights while visiting our son in Nanjing. The room was comfortable with a decent mattress and good bedding. The bathroom was spacious and had an excellent shower. Overall, the room was a clean and efficient space. The hotel is located just around the corner from a station of Nanjing's brand new efficient subway system and within walking distance of the Confucius Temple area. Breakfast (included) is OK, but there is also a restaurant around the corner called Lazy Time Coffee that serves an excellent cappuccino. Although the reception desk staff had somewhat limited English, they were helpful in arranging for our laundry to be done and in purchasing train tickets on our behalf. The one fault was that our flight into Nanjing, which was due to arrive at 11:00 pm, was delayed three hours. Despite the fact that our son, who speaks fluent Chinese, called the hotel as soon as we informed him of the problem at 10:00 pm, they called him twice -- once at 1:00 a.m. and again at 2:30 a.m., to make sure that we were actually coming since they had a customer who wanted a room -- and ours was the last one in the hotel. Our son was furious, not only that they woke him up twice, but that they were trying to give away our room in the middle of the night. I'd say that if you can manage to arrive at a decent hour, then there would be nothing to complain about. Certainly the price was right: approximately €30/$42 per room per night, including breakfast. And we liked our fish :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keagriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

This confirms all the reviews I read before I booked this hotel. Nice clean rooms and excellent service from reception. The breakfast is also good considering it is only 10RMB. Hotel is just next to train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

The hotel is great value for money. The location was so-so, as this particular part of Zhongshan Road is not very interesting, and Xinjiekou subway station is a couple of km away.
The décor is nice and simple. The beds are hard – the hardest I have yet experienced in Asia. The orange theme is carried out throughout, and setting tangerines in the rooms are nice. The gold fish (which in my room was black, not orange for some reason) is perhaps a bit overrated; life in that “bowl” is pitiful for the fish.
Breakfast is good for all those of us who like Chinese food and breakfasts – for those craving Western breakfast you’ll leave the table with an empty stomach. Services at the hotel are good, although not luxurious – and the staff speaks little English, but do their best to understand and help.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is the second we stayed at an Orange Hotel. This was less impressive than the Orange next to the West Lake in Hangzhou but still represents excellent value for money and a safe bet for a short stay in China. Expect clean surroundings, friendly staff and a reasonable night's sleep.
This hotel is tucked down a side alley on Zhongshan Nan Lu, a couple of minutes walk from the Zhangfuyuan metro stop. The No.41 bus which stops next to the metro entrance will take you directly to the Nanjing Massacre Memorial.
10-15 minutes down the road is a main shopping area where you can buy your McDonalds and KFC, as well as high class international brands (if you have to).
Pros:
Good transport links
Very good value for money
Nice shower
Rubic's cube and fish in room
Cons:
Breakfast is a bit random and not a real delight
Chinese guests get up early in the morning and don't worry about disturbing others
Hard bed.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#2 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden
Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden
#18 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#13 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
#15 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)

Property: Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)
Address: No.288 Zhongshan South Road, Baixia District, Nanjing 210002, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing > Downtown , Baixia District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou) 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing