We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and convenient boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen
Ranked #31 of 1,921 Hotels in Nanjing
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A comfortable and convenient boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and very fashionable, with a Chinese sense of fashion. The staff are friendly and helpful. Some of the staff have good English skills. The hotel is conveniently located to transportation and dining. The price is very reasonable for the level of quality. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    274
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
15
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is very modern in fashionable "contemporary" decor. Each room is spacious clean and well equipped with gold fish and iPod dock. There is a TV but it has no western channels. I found the monochrome decor a little like an 80's disco however the rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was quite acceptable if simple. The hotel differentiates itself from other hotel chains by its modern look and fancy electronic mood lighting etc frankly I found it difficult to work out not what I want at the end of a busy day. I did sleep very well although the ambient sound from outside can be quite off putting with constant horn blowing from the many vehicles going by. Getting a taxi is nearly impossible, just too many people so its fortunate all the shopping and tourist attractions are with in walking distance of the hotel. Not the sort of hotel I would pick as I didn't find the modern approach as relaxing as I find from my normal choice of hotel but if you like a bright, modern approach then don't be worried about picking this hotel for your stay in Nanjing

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road if possible to avoid excessive traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyhorse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place is outstanding value and feels like an expensive hotel in many respects. The room was very comfortable, modern and stylish, with some unusual features, like a tiny fish in a little tank. The shower was great, the bed was great and I felt my limited budget had bought me a bit of luxury. The service was sharp, but few of the receptionists spoke much English, and they were not able to do things like book train tickets for me or advise well on other things. I found this difficult as I'd got used to hotel staff being able to write down in Chinese what I wanted to show other people and helping with travel and accommodation elsewhere. The hotel is in a good location, by the lake, by some big malls, not too far from Hunan Street a lively shopping and eating area. It's not right in the centre of town though, so you will probably need to use the metro or taxis. It is difficult to find, as it's not on the main road but set back from it down a much smaller street (which my taxi driver wouldn't go down). It's just along from a large furniture store. If you wave a bit of paper with the address on it at a security guard or a passer-by you'll get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location of the hotel is quite well, allthough it is difficult to find, because it isn't really at centre road.

Staff at the reception is friendly and they know the basic english words and common phrases for check in/out procedures and typical questions. Asking if trains to Shanghai only depart from Nanjing South Railwaystation or also from Nanjing Railwaystation is too much for them.

The rooms are furnished with standard things like bed, table and chair, sofa, tv, telephone, air con. What I really liked is that you can open the windows a little. Except in the lobby area and floor 4 you can smoke in every room. Free WIFI is only accessable in the lobby, but even there is a bad connection.

Beds were comfortable and we always had a good sleep.

unfortunately the toilet door did not close well. The "wall" of the toilet and shower is made of milky glass but just in the middle, the first about 30cm from the floor are glass... crystal clear!

What I really would miss if I would stay there longer is a fridge and maybe bathrobe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Betty_Sue_1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had a very pleasent two night stay at the Orange Hotel nanjing.The rooms are pleasently airey,modern and well equipped with plenty of storage space.The bed was most comfortable and a good size too.The bathroom is excellent,a great shower and the toiletries are included.My room had a balcony overlooking the street,nice to sit out here in the morning watching the hustle and bustle below.Others overlook the river,probably nicer still.Could'nt find any English speaking channels on the TV,not a problem as they have free internet to keep up with world events.

The location is ideal for the touristy part of the city,literally 200mts to most of them .Also handy for Restaurants and fast food places,the food was some of the best I've had in China.Did'nt seem to be much local nightlife around,as a buisness traveller that did'nt bother me much.The Staff were always pleasent and helpful and a certain amount of English was spoken.The breakfast,£1/10RMB,whilst a little quirky is worth a try.

All in all,a very good value place to stay in an area with much to interest and amuse.I would'nt hesitate to use Orange Hotels again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourfourtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Cool, funky hotel located convenient to the railway station and within walking distance to the city wall, the lake and the park. It's down a little alley off a fairly major street. It is also within walking distance of restaurants in a strip center and a large grocery store.

The room was clean and charming. On the desk is a real goldfish in a bowl, a Rubik's cube and several types of power outlets. There is a large screen TV that gets Chinese channels. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern.

The people at the front desk were extremely nice although I do not think they speak English. Maybe some do. I'm not sure. My friend was Chinese, so she did the talking. The porter who stored my bag for the day would not take a tip. Absolutely refused it.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The bill, after translation to American dollars on my credit card statement, was $47 for one night. This was a week night in March.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Orange Hotel chain in China, so far I have visited this one and the one on Moganshan Road, Hangzhou. The chain seems very good, clean, pleasant and efficient. This Nanjing Xuanwumen is located in a quite side of the city, near Dr Sun Yat Sin memorial park. Rooms are nice, comfortable bed and linen, simply but novelty styles of decorations.

The weakest issue is room 1208 (not sure others), once you open the door you could smell from the sewage system which seems to be common situation in hotels in China, including some "5-star" as they did not design the sewage system properly with valves to prevent the smell feeding back into the bathroom and even the bedroom. The staff delightfully changed to another room for us, luckily this one was ok. Other than this, I recommend this chain, especially for business travelers.

We were out and left baggage checked in the cloak room, however being late to catch the train. I called the front desk 10 minutes in advance to get the baggage ready once our cab arrived. They were there wating for us.

Room Tip: check the smell once you enter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
Eastern Pearl Hotel
#39 of 1,921 in Nanjing
114 reviews
Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
#28 of 1,921 in Nanjing
361 reviews
Atour Hotel(XuanWuMen)
#34 of 1,921 in Nanjing
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Nanjing
#18 of 1,921 in Nanjing
238 reviews
Gulou
Jingli Hotel
Jingli Hotel
#36 of 1,921 in Nanjing
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen

Property: Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen
Address: No.224 Centre Road, Xuanwu District, Nanjing 210018, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,921 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Orange Hotel Nanjing Xuanwumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing