We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good accommodation choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Ranked #16 of 1,968 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although not in the city centre, this hotel is conveniently located for a tourist. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is part of the large Aqua City shopping centre, within walking distance of Confucius Temple and the adjacent shopping/recreation area; it is also close to a metro station for easy access to other parts of the city. Other reviewers have given (very helpful) directions to/from the station. It is worth mentioning that, as there is no escalator from street level, you must walk up or down steps to leave/enter the station.

We had a nicely furnished and reasonably spacious room on the Executive floor, which we thought was good value. Besides possibly providing a better room, the modest extra cost also provided breakfast each morning and alcoholic drinks with food each evening, as well as 2 items of free laundry per day. While we were staying in the hotel, the club lounge was unstaffed before 14.30 each day; a nice breakfast was provided in the restaurant, and complimentary drinks were provided in the lobby bar before 14.30.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 480 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Another trip to Nanjing and so back to the wonderful Holiday Inn. It is still very good and on this visit the staff again looked after me very well. the staff are great but you must make an effort to engage them. Try just a little bit of Chinese. Special mention to: the breakfast..brilliant it covers everyone's tastes; borrow the mountain bike to explore the city; the swimming pool and gym are terrific, maximum numbers using it with me were 4 swimmers.

Tony and the staff suggested some places to eat and to go for a drink. In aqua City try the banana leaf and the chilli Chinese restaurant on level 4. Both are great and pretty good value. For a drink you cannot beat Finnigan' s Wake on a Sunday night. There is a great duo singing all my favourites ... Doobies Bros, Crosby Stills Nash and Young and so on. Ask at reception to find it as it is not far but tricky to find. Don't bother with Blue Sky Bar or Ellen's in Shanghai Lu but DO go to the Beijing Duck restaurant next door to Blue Sky Bar. for some fun try Paulina's German Beer restaurant not far from Blue Sky Bar It is a funny night but be ready for the gay band. They are pretty outrageous. Normally I would recommend a visit to the 1912 nightclub precinct and the Blue Marlin Bar as they normally have great live music but my 2 favourite singers are gone and with them the reason to visit. However I did visit a brilliant teppanyaki restaurant in 1912. you MUST go there.

Room Tip: I think I was in block a and it is a bit noises with building happening next door. try block b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Nanjing-Aqua-City, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is our great pleasure to have you stay in Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City!
Very appreciate your good comments for our hotel. We constantly strive to improve on services, and therefore value your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have just spent 3 weeks at the holiday inn at aqua city in nanjing and I can't fault it. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in nanjing and nothing compares with this hotel. After a tiring flight from Australia it was lovely to be greeted by english speaking staff who checked me in efficiently and with a smile. I was in tower b but my colleague was in tower a and we were both happy with our rooms. Decor is nice and the beds are so soft and comfortable. Especially good is the shower which has good pressure and is hot. Linen was of good quality and changed daily. After a long day at work it was good to be able to go to the well equipped gym or have a swim in the pool. Breakfast was superior to any of the other hotels I have stayed - western, Chinese, a whole smorgasbord of excellent fresh food. Dinner is a bit pricier but the choice and quality makes it worthwhile. Extra touches is the turn down service at night - thanks to the lovely friendly lady who left the choc each night. And of course thanks to Tony who always makes my colleagues and I feel at home. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - business workers, families, tourists - close to aqua city shopping and very good restaurants, subway, sightseeing.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed in all the 5 star hotels in nanjing and decided to try this holiday inn since it is rated higher than most of the 5 stars here, and boy was it a mistake. I struggle to find the reason why this hotel is rated so highly. The location is next to the aqua city mall and thus convenient for quick bites, but certainly not a unique asset. The lobby looks 4 star and the check in was acceptable. The room is very disappointing for its tripadvisor rating. It's very 1990s, uses horrible brown all over and has no shower. The shower head is horrible and doesn't stay still when you try to shower in the icky bathtub. The towels are old and don't absorb water. I skipped the hotel breakfast as I know it would suck and ate at the mall next door. The pool didn't look that appealing so I skipped that too. Overall, very average hotel that tricks people looking at the tripadvisor list, a big yuck from me

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel in central location next to shopping centre with good eateries. The stand out of this hotel is the staff who are friendly, efficient and go out of their way to help you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel on two different occasions in June 2012. I booked the hotel directly via email since I had a special rate (that included breakfast) through a local company with which I'm working in Nanjing. I highly recommend asking if your business partner in Nanjing has a deal with this hotel, because the rate was really good.

I arrived at the hotel after taking the subway from Nanjing Train Station, I exited line 1 at the Sanshanjie station. A quick walk east on Jiankang Road for one block and then north on Zhonghua Road for half a block, the Holiday Inn driveway is on the right.

The hotel consists of two towers connected in the middle by a five floor middle section that's connected to the Aqua City mall. The reception area and hotel lobby is on the first floor of this middle section and on the fifth floor is the outdoor patio of the hotel restaurant.

My room had a king-sized bed and the room was average in size. The bathroom was above average, but nothing to write home about. The service was pleasant and good, but not overly outstanding..

The location was very convenient to the Qinhuai area with its shops, restaurants, river, and Confucius Temple. In addition it's only a 15-20 minute walk up to the shopping district downtown.

Room Tip: The fitness room is located on the 6th floor of the west tower. Guests in the east tower must go do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwilson793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just steps away from Fuzimiao, hotel is amazing. One of the nicer hotels I have stayed at throughout China, and at a great price. The gym, bar and restaurants are top notch. Hotel is located adjacent to a mall with a variety of dining options, but definitely take time to walk around Fuzimiao at night to sample street dishes and mingle with tourists and locals alike.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullyryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#4 of 1,968 in Nanjing
1,287 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Nanjing Riverside
Hilton Nanjing Riverside
#14 of 1,968 in Nanjing
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#15 of 1,968 in Nanjing
676 reviews
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#5 of 1,968 in Nanjing
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City

Address: No. 1 Jiankang Road, Qinhuai District, Nanjing 210001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#8 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#12 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City is located in the ideal place where Xinjiekou central business district meets the Confucius Temple area; meanwhile the hotel is connected with the shopping park Nanjing Aqua City. It takes 35 mins from the Nanjing Loukou International Airport and 15 mins from the train station by car. Hotel is close to San Shan Street metro station. From metro station to Nanjing Railway Station or the South of Nanjing Railway Station only 15 minutes away. Meanwhile, guest can take NO.1 Metro line transfer to Lukou airport via S1 metro line directly only 90 minutes away. It is an ideal place for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City Hotel Nanjing
Nanjing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing