We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value near Qinhuai tourist area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Ranked #14 of 1,904 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value near Qinhuai tourist area”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel on two different occasions in June 2012. I booked the hotel directly via email since I had a special rate (that included breakfast) through a local company with which I'm working in Nanjing. I highly recommend asking if your business partner in Nanjing has a deal with this hotel, because the rate was really good.

I arrived at the hotel after taking the subway from Nanjing Train Station, I exited line 1 at the Sanshanjie station. A quick walk east on Jiankang Road for one block and then north on Zhonghua Road for half a block, the Holiday Inn driveway is on the right.

The hotel consists of two towers connected in the middle by a five floor middle section that's connected to the Aqua City mall. The reception area and hotel lobby is on the first floor of this middle section and on the fifth floor is the outdoor patio of the hotel restaurant.

My room had a king-sized bed and the room was average in size. The bathroom was above average, but nothing to write home about. The service was pleasant and good, but not overly outstanding..

The location was very convenient to the Qinhuai area with its shops, restaurants, river, and Confucius Temple. In addition it's only a 15-20 minute walk up to the shopping district downtown.

Room Tip: The fitness room is located on the 6th floor of the west tower. Guests in the east tower must go do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwilson793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    240
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
42
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just steps away from Fuzimiao, hotel is amazing. One of the nicer hotels I have stayed at throughout China, and at a great price. The gym, bar and restaurants are top notch. Hotel is located adjacent to a mall with a variety of dining options, but definitely take time to walk around Fuzimiao at night to sample street dishes and mingle with tourists and locals alike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullyryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf/Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

China becomes more & more a tourist destination for guests from Europe as well as the Americas and cities such as Nanjing ( former Southern Capital) and/or Qingdao (Home of famous Tsingtau Beer and Seaside Resort) offer plenty to do and to see, are to me more attractive than Beijing or Shanghai, just because the latter are by far too big to be 'digested' in a week or so.
If you are not forced to stay in an Intercontinental or Westin Hotel for certain reasons, Holiday Inns are usually a good choice for a comfortable good value for money stay and the City Holiday Inns in the cities mentioned above in particular. Clean and spacious rooms with all the amenities you may need for your stay overseas, inclusive of comfortable beds :-)) and on top located in 'strategical' areas suitable as well for business as for sightseeing.
One may argue about the hotels' coffie shops, but who is expecting a gourmet's temple in a 4* city hotel. I felt as at home and liked in particular the security measures taken. Even for those not familiar with the Chinese language, the staff of both Holiday Inns was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper, superior floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Aqua City for over 3 weeks now and it is excellent. Have stayed in 3 other hotels in Nanjing but this is the best by far. For starters the beds are so comfortable, not the usual hard as rock beds that you come to expect in china, the room is clean and spacious, shower pressure great, and the air conditioning/heating works, and on top of all this the service is excellent. From check in with Kitty whose English was really good and who went out of her way to make me welcome. Then there's Tony the Food and Beverage Manager, who takes the comfort of his guests very seriously. Has made my stay here very comfortable and is always making sure that everything is up to standard. The ladies who clean my room everyday and even provide turn down service at night are friendly and very efficient; the wait staff, front of house staff, all helpful. The Holiday Inn is close to shopping, restaurants, Confucious Temple, the subway and within walking distance of Finnegans Bar. Or just pop into the Happy Bar of the Holiday Inn where you can get a drink or play a game of pool. The restaurant at night provides an excellent buffet for a reasonable price, once again overseen by our favourite Tony and his well trained and friendly staff. And after breakfast which caters to everyone’s tastes you can pop into the gym which actually has good quality equipment. Having travelled a bit around China this hotel gets my top vote. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the road side. Road can be a bit noisy but if you close your window you wont even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Really enjoyed the breakfast spread, the room was not large but well appointed and the bed comfortble, storng shower (yes!), and close to the Aqua City Mall which is nice. Best value of any similar hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have stayed in 4 hotels over the last 4 years and the Holiday Inn is the best. The Zhongshan Hotel ( also known as the Jiangsu Conference Centre) was my first and favourite. Authentic chinese with minimal western influence, great staff and wonderful grounds. The beds are firm. The Huang Pu hotel is ok but has a outsiders visiting the kraoke Bar (KTV) and they are not so nice to share a lift with. The Manadarin Gardens, next to the touristy Confucious Temple (Fuzi Miao?) is very good. I think the staff are great and the location is good but only down side is it is a bit noisey. So ..we are left with the Holiday Inn. This is my first stay with Holiday Inn and it is great. Top staff, really well trained by Tony, the manager. Breakfast is over the top...chinese, western, french, ...every taste provided for.. The pool and gym are excellent with great staff. The Gym instructor has represented China in gymnastics. She is a classic. The front of house staff led by Phillipe and Tina are terrific and Rudi Li has kept my room looking sensational for the 2 week stay. Hire their bike for an exciting tour of Nanjing and Tony will suggest where to eat and get a drink. Really can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
720 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very nice room, in a perfectly central location near Confucious Temple, food stall, shopping, eastern and western. Excellent breakfast buffet. Book it along with the room to get the best deal. The pool was not real warm. Don't stay there for the water activities but all else is good. Room was about $100US. Went on a nice river boat ride at night. The gate just a short cab ride to the south is a great attraction which takes about an hour or so. Then went to Purple mountain and saw some of the temples. Purple mountain is very nice, big and plan on spending a half day. Arrange transportation back as it can get busy after 5pm to leave park.

Room Tip: Ask for street side. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
1.3 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,904 in Nanjing
1,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,904 in Nanjing
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,904 in Nanjing
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden
Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden
#19 of 1,904 in Nanjing
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City

Property: Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Address: No. 1 Jiankang Road, Qinhuai District, Nanjing 210001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#8 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#14 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City is located in the ideal place where Xinjiekou central business district meets the Confucius Temple area; meanwhile the hotel is connected with the shopping park Nanjing Aqua City. It takes 35 mins from the Nanjing Loukou International Airport and 15 mins from the train station by car. Hotel is close to San Shan Street metro station. From metro station to Nanjing Railway Station or the South of Nanjing Railway Station only 15 minutes away. Meanwhile, guest can take NO.1 Metro line transfer to Lukou airport via S1 metro line directly only 90 minutes away. It is an ideal place for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City Hotel Nanjing
Nanjing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing