We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable Hotel for short stay in Nanjing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Ranked #14 of 1,927 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Acceptable Hotel for short stay in Nanjing”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I just spend one night at this Hotel and service at check in was efficient and they help me to book a taxi for the following morning to go to airport.

Room was spacious, although lighting in the bathroom was poor (badly designed). The most annoying issue was Internet speed as it was slow. Besides that this is one of the hotels in China that they still charge for Internet access, although 60 RMB per day, I think hotels should realize that Internet should be added in the price room and make sure you can use for as much devices you may need at the same time, like you can do in Shangri-la or Traders Hotels.

Going to airport from Hotel at 5.45am was fast (30 minutes) and cost me 110 RMB from the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    241
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
42
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

At check-in, Allen Y. was pleasant and cooperative, and endeavored to give us the type of room we requested. Otherwise, we found other staff we encountered courteous and helpful to varying degrees, though all acceptable, and speaking some English.

The room was clean, spacious, comfortably appointed and well maintained. The hotel provided a small welcome-bowl of fruit, which we did not expect and so appreciated. Windows were double-glazed, but you could open one panel. Some street noise entered the room, but it was not bothersome. The air conditioning worked well, as did the hot water system. The hotel provided tea-coffee making facilities and a small bar fridge with beverages (expensive) for which you had to pay. We emptied the fridge and used it for provisions we bought at the supermarket in the lower-level basement of the adjoining mall. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Daily room cleaning and servicing were dependable and comprehensive.

The TV service provided over three dozen channels (some duplicated), but most in Chinese and the others (mainly in English) devoted to news and sports. The room safe in the closet accepted a netbook-size laptop. Each afternoon the hotel delivered a copy of the China Daily in a bag hung on the outside handle of the room door.

The Internet connection for our class of room cost 15 yuan for an hour, 60 yuan for a day. You could use Internet WiFi for free in the lobby (ask at the reception desk for the password), and in the mall at Starbucks and the Bistro Cafe Bar. Quite frankly, a hotel of this class (especially this Holiday Inn) ought to provide free Internet connection in all rooms, not just some.

The bathroom had a full bath-shower, but not a bidet. Note the following if you take a shower. Where the shower hose connects to the tap-faucet outlet there is a metal ring (which is difficult to see because the connection is underneath the neck of the tap-faucet). Pull the ring down (if I remember correctly; otherwise, push it up) to make the water flow up to and out of the shower head. Also, the plug in the wash basin is fixed in place and rotates around its horizontal axis.

As another reviewer noted, the wall between the bathroom and bedroom is a double-glazed window with an adjustable Venetian blind between the panes of glass. This quaint novelty did not make any difference in our using the bathroom, though it could disturb someone requiring complete privacy.

Though soundproofing between rooms was good, that from noises in the corridor was very poor: one could hear slamming doors, people talking, and housekeeping staff going about their work cleaning rooms. Fortunately, not much of this went on during our stay, so we managed — but would have preferred not to have outside noises coming into the room.

Even if distinctly better than an equivalent Holiday Inn in the U.S., this hotel did not have any tourist literature on Nanjing to give us, nor a free street or subway-metro map of the city (you had to buy one at the hotel or elsewhere such as a newspaper kiosk for 3 yuan — which seemed counterproductive to promoting tourism in Nanjing). Also, it is pointless to offer pay guided tours to visitors who prefer to go sightseeing and to explore by themselves.

To get to the hotel from Sanshan (Sanshanjie) subway-metro station. Use Exit 3 "Jian Kang Road". Go up the stairs and walk ahead. (Note that the metro stations (sometimes) have escalators up but not down. Hence, in using the system you will need to have the stamina and strength to carry your luggage down and up flights of stairs. Lifts-elevators exist but are not always easy to find, or functioning without staff to operate them.)

At the corner of the intersection, turn right into tree-lined Shengzhou Street. Walk away from the intersection for one block to the next set of traffic lights — the intersection of Zhonghua Road and Jiankang Road. The Bank of Jiangsu will be at your right. Aqua City is diagonally across the intersection. The Holiday Inn building is at the left of the mall entrance. Now comes the fun of finding an entrance to the hotel. The main entrance is hidden on the opposite side of the building, so you cannot see it from either of the main streets.

Cross over to the corner entrance of Aqua City mall, but do not enter the mall (or you will probably get lost as it is multi-level, extensive and designed with both interior and exterior sections — all worth exploring if you have the time and inclination). Walk up Zhonghua Road along the outside of the building (away from the intersection). Ignore the side entrance doors to the mall till you see a small sign sticking out from the side of the building which reads "24h Self-Service Banking". This indicates a small branch office of ABC (Agricultural Bank of China). Just before you reach the bank, go through the side doors leading into the mall and then turn left. There will be a small, unobtrusive sign which reads "Holiday Inn Entrance". The double glass doors between two jewelry shops will bring you into the lobby of the hotel. Alternatively, just keep right while walking around the outside of the building and you will eventually reach the main entrance on the opposite side.

Aqua City mall (open 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.) had a variety of restaurants on the two basement levels, and others on upper floors, especially the 5th. Some menus had English. Ask someone in a restaurant which might interest you as menus with English are not always displayed but available from under the counter. Restaurants in the common-dining-area basement food court close by 10 p.m., but formal restaurants with waiter service usually closed by 9 p.m.

The food hall in the lower basement had a distinctive system for paying. You first looked at the various vendors and decided what you wanted to eat. Then you worked out roughly what it should all cost. Next you went to a special counter in the area and bought a card which had a credit on it for the amount you paid the cashier (minimum 50 yuan). You bought the food you wanted using the card, remembering to collect and to keep the receipts the vendor gave you. If you still had credit remaining on the card, you returned to the cashier, gave her the card and your receipts, and she refunded to you in cash the amount remaining on the card. If you did not have enough credit on the card to make your purchases, you had to return to the cashier and pay more money to have the card topped up.

Also in the lower basement is a supermarket, just at the edge of the food hall (bring your own grocery bags). It sells a range of domestic and imported items; consequently, the prices are usually higher than in an ordinary local supermarket.

A short walk (10-15 minutes) from the hotel is Confucius Temple old town quarter (Fuzimiao) with a canal, numerous shops, restaurants and market streets. Just down from the hotel on Zhonghua Road and across Jiankang Road is a side entrance to the Zhanyuan Garden (worth visiting). If you continue walking down Zhonghua Road (20-25 minutes), you will reach Zhonghua Gate which you can climb and take a walk on top of the old city walls, which are quite impressive.

From the hotel you can get to Nanjing airport using public transport. Go to nearby Sanshan subway-metro station a block from the hotel. Take the train to Zhonghuamen station, one stop away. As you leave the station, go down the left-hand set of stairs to street level. Carefully cross the main road (under the expressway) at the traffic lights. The (old) bus terminal building will be to your left just inside the parking plaza and the ticket sales counter inside the doors at the side of the building. The ticket seller was pleasant, helpful and spoke some English.

Note that as you cross the road and as you enter the bus parking area taxi drivers will approach and offer to drive you to the airport. Though still cheap, their prices will be slightly higher than the bus fare. We thought that the trip on the bus was probably more comfortable than that in a small taxi. Also, we did not know what surcharges, if any, taxi drivers might have added to the flat fare they ostensibly offered — either by telling you directly or by holding up a sign displaying the fare.

The airport bus was air conditioned, ran every half hour from 6:00 a.m. till 8:30 p.m., and left on time. Tickets cost 20 yuan per person one-way. Large bags went in the luggage compartment under the passenger cabin above. The driver gave us a numbered, claim disk which corresponded to another disk he attached to our luggage. The trip in the early morning took about 35 minutes along expressways. At the time of day, we had a smooth drive without delays; however, the usual estimate quoted for the trip was one hour, so we planned on this time for getting to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Good points:
VERY close to subway
Staff speak good english
Aqua City is just downstairs - great selection of restaurants
Room is comfortable and has all the standard amenities

Bad points:
NONE ^.^

Overall, very satisfied with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Good points:
VERY close to subway
Staff speak good english
Aqua City is just downstairs - great selection of restaurants
Room is comfortable and has all the standard amenities

Bad points:
NONE ^.^

Overall, very satisfied with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed there 3 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. Hotel is very conveniently located close to an amazing shopping mall (it's even adjacent to it) with lots of animation and of course a wide choice of food, both exotic and occidental.
Rooms were large and well furnished. Buffet breakfast was great with a large choice. I recommend it if you stay in Nanjing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I've booked this hotel for my family (4 guests / 2 twin room) to stayed in this hotel between 11 - 13 Nov.

1st the hotel staff couldn't locate such booking. (which I've fully paid online via dragonair holiday/cathy pacific limited) 10 days prior to the departure date. Thus my family had to sit in the lobby and waited for almost an hour. Finally check-in completed, and went up to the rooms and saw a cleaner was still tidying up one of the room. Which again had to wait outside the room for it to be finished.

The nightmare was the breakfast, which our package states "daily breakfast" is inclusive. Since the holiday package requires 2 guests to travel together in order to purchased such package. It's unusual to include 1 guest out of the 2, I have never encounter such holiday arrangement. Staff claims this is due to the business deal made between Nanjing Holiday Inn and Cathay Pacific Limited at a Low value. Thus to save cost, they have to cut 1 guest breakfast out for every 2 guests whom travelled on its package!?!

I've sent written to Cathay Pacific to have this verify whether this is the case?
I think this should be notified to us before hand, not on the spot at the hotel resturant!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Nanjing-Aqua-City, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City guest,

First of all, please accept my sincere apology for your unpleasant lodging experience during your recent stay with us. Upon receiving your comments, we reviewed our work process with our team, coaching and training had been given to ensure we will take good care of our customers. Only through the customers’ feedback that we can continue to improve our service.

As a token of apology and to experience our improved service, I would like to invite you back to our hotel on your next trip to Nanjing, please contact me at waley.wai@ihg.com so I can discuss with you for the proper arrangement.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again with much improved service.



Waley Wei
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here seven days. Great breakfast Buffet. It is a hotel used by Chinese and value driven westerners.

Language sometimes a problem, but they try. Close to subway and lots of places to eat. Try Finnegan's Wake for Irish food and drink close by.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolftoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
1.3 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,927 in Nanjing
1,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#13 of 1,927 in Nanjing
664 reviews
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,927 in Nanjing
662 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Nanjing
Hilton Nanjing
#10 of 1,927 in Nanjing
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City

Property: Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Address: No. 1 Jiankang Road, Qinhuai District, Nanjing 210001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#8 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City is located in the ideal place where Xinjiekou central business district meets the Confucius Temple area; meanwhile the hotel is connected with the shopping park Nanjing Aqua City. It takes 35 mins from the Nanjing Loukou International Airport and 15 mins from the train station by car. Hotel is close to San Shan Street metro station. From metro station to Nanjing Railway Station or the South of Nanjing Railway Station only 15 minutes away. Meanwhile, guest can take NO.1 Metro line transfer to Lukou airport via S1 metro line directly only 90 minutes away. It is an ideal place for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City Hotel Nanjing
Nanjing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing