We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Pan

The Flying Pan
Ranked #613 of 7,786 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice to have a traditional English breakfast.. service was okay, food was pretty good but parts of it were kind of cold, and it's not patriculary cheap - but we went in the middle of the day, sober, so maybe it's best post-night out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perran-Byles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    79
    43
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Late Night Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Open 24 hours for breakfast, awesome place for a late night breakfast. Serving all the favorites from bacon and egg on toast to pancakes with extra bacon on the side and an oreo's milkshake. Great place to pig out and no calorie counting allowed.Allow for crowds during Saturday and Sunday Mornings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BRINGonLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“When a bit jet-lagged Breakfast available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week is handy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had trouble locating the Flying Pan and were pleased we persisted looking, the cafe is small and tucked away. Our selection of Salmon and Sour Cream Bagel, and Geneva Omelette washed down with pots of tea was enjoyable. Tea seems to be the most thirst quenching drink on a hot, humid Hong Kong day. The Breakfast menu is very comprehensive, choosing is not easy.
Probably the easiest way to find the Flying Pan is to take the Elevators up Central Level, just as the elevator route crosses Hollywood Road and takes a right hand dogleg, look uphill, up Old Bailey Street...just above the very visible Toni and Guy sign is the smaller Flying Pan sign. Leave the elevator and walk down to street level into Old Bailey Street

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We really enjoyed the breakfast here, lots of variety, something for everyone! We found the service very polite and helpful. Reasonable priced. Bottomless coffee - perfect!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toripie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How are they still in business?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Where to start? Due to the good reviews of this place as well as its mention in the Lonely Planet guidebook, I thought it would be nice to mix it up a bit and have a 'western' meal while here on my Hong Kong visit. And hey, how wrong can you go with a fry-up, right?

The first thing I noticed as we arrived was that the interior was quite run-down... not at all like the photos seen on their website. As we entered there was a bit of a damp smell but I tried to ignore that and put it down to the whole down-to-earth diner vibe that was going on.

The menu is quite extensive and can be a little overwhelming and confusing, but I guess the range of breakfast options is part of this place's 'hook'. Three of us settled for burgers, while my mum went for a safe option of eggs with some sides. The service wasn't great, but we've come to expect that from our time so far in Hong Kong.

When our burgers arrived, the bread was cold. I was really taken aback by the weird light grey colour of the 'beef' patty. Again, I soldiered on and cut into it and thought... maybe it tastes better than it looks? Not so. There was a weird lingering taste of soy sauce that flavoured the meat, and the meat was bitty and terribly gristly. We literally gagged as we were eating it and couldn't finish our meals. Our mum's eggs were okay, but the side of baked beans was cold and from a can.

I can only surmise that this place is popular due to its location near Soho and its patrons would be too drunk to notice the terrible quality of EVERYTHING. Avoid like the plague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mojopin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pan also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Flying Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing