We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite Chinese”
Review of Ye Shanghai

Ye Shanghai
Ranked #227 of 13,406 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tai Fat Hau
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

The place is even better after refurbishment. It’s elegantly decorated and food is light and delicious. Our favourites are the sweet river shrimps and mapo tofu. Dim sums are also great but we always start with their hot and sour and spicy soup. It’s a convenient place to lunch in between shopping and although it always gets busy it never gets loud and noisy. Hidden gem in the mall.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank aliyabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 334 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019

Food is average, but the combination of location, price, decor, and service are very good - except the acoustic - it was very loud and people talk louder. Typical Shanghainese cuisine - although the price is not cheap, I consider it reasonable (we were a group of 6, had the set menu and each paid about 70euro including tips, without wine but tea is good enough to accompany this meal). Food delicious but not amazing - the dessert - fermented rice sweet soup with rice dumpling and Osmanthus was impressive! Great place to bring friends from aboard or give an introduction for Shanghainese cuisine.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 354tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

I have been eating at Ye Shanghai for at least the last 10-12 years and have never been disappointed. The food is consistently fabulous and fresh and they always accommodate any special requests. The vegetarian and fish selection are my favorites and I love everything on the dessert menu as well. Can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank gitanjalis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Made reservation 2 days ahead to make sure we get a table. We ordered our favorite dishes. Ham, baby shrimp, duck, hot and sour soup, tofu with century egg. A bottle of wine...hgk 550. Every thing was so good as usual. Service was excellent. My grand daughter ate a lot. Shrimp dumpling soup and white rice.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank CA23ca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Food and service is always good and has a good selection of Chinese dishes, on the slightly more expensive side but worth it.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank joemitch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Shanghai also viewed

 

Been to Ye Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing