We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent shanghai food”

Ye Shanghai (Taikoo)
Ranked #186 of 7,933 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Admiralty
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“excellent shanghai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ate at Ye Shanghai last night. The best meal so far on this Hong Kong trip. All the flavours in each dish are well-distinguished -- the drunken chicken, you get the flavour of the alcohol in the sauce and the chicken separately, likewise the garlic cucumber and so on. We enjoyed everything we ordered -- lion's head meatballs; bamboo shoots and green beans; fresh water shrimps; and soup dumplings. All better than I've had in quite a few restaurants in Shanghai. The service was smooth and friendly. All in all, a really enjoyable meal. Not cheap, but worth every penny

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    111
    34
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent and pleasant stafff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've eaten here several times because it's always great taste. This last time we had two little girls with us a nd the wait staff were really terrific as the girls were not on their best behavior. The food was very good. I always like their fish and their shrimp, but have had several other courses such as the beef with onions. The girls loved the corn chicken soup. other courses were green beans, and vegetarian fried rice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great Chinese restaurant in a luxury shopping mall in Pacific Place. Very good selection of dishes. A bit difficult to find in the shopping mall. In between two stores with a small entrance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
233 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a two star Michelin restaurant and oh so good. Without question, the best dim sum we had during our China tour (Hong Kong, Xi'an and Beijing). I don't think there was a bad thing on the menu. It isn't fair to compare the prices in this fine restaurant with local eateries. This isn't an easy restaurant to find but there are plenty of information desks along the way to get you there. We had vegetable dumplings, pork dumplings, pork buns and a great rice dish. Yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Patchy given price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ate as a group of 7 so tried many different dishes - perhaps 20 in all. Around 3 were simply delicious, a couple fairly nasty but most just ok and for the prices charged I expected a lot better. Service was efficient and helpful. You won't have a bad meal here and it is a "safe" option in terms of the quality of the ingredients and ease of ordering for non native speakers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devizes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Shanghai (Taikoo) also viewed

 

Been to Ye Shanghai (Taikoo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing