We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”

Thai Vegetarian Food
Ranked #1,830 of 13,430 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Neighborhood: Kowloon City District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Kowloon City District
Reviewed January 18, 2016

If you're a tourist on a short visit you're unlikely to come to Kowloon City. However, if you live in Hong Kong, you should allocate a half day to wander around the Walled City Park and then explore the Thai restaurants and shops to the south. The area doesn't have an MTR stop (yet) but it's easily accessed by bus or minibus.

There's no shortage of Thai restaurants in these few streets, but this is the only vegetarian one I've found. The food is fresh and delicious. I highly recommend the fresh spring rolls, pomelo salad and rice with chili leaves (this is a little spicy, but overall the food isn't very hot). Like virtually every veggie place in Hong Kong they use various types of fake meat, but if you hate it rest assured the dishes come packed with tofu and vegetables as well. The only thing I don't like is the drinks, which have a very odd aftertaste.

Note that the place is very small, so don't come with a large group, and (again, like many places in Hong Kong) the setting is purely functional, not a place to relax over dinner for a couple of hours. They will take takeaway orders but sometimes decline if it's very busy. The menu is in Chinese, English and Thai (I speak enough Chinese for ordering in restaurants so I've never noticed if they speak English or not, but they probably do).

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank occhiolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2016

Vegetarian Thai Restaurant ?? Its not a joke, its a hidden gem in Kowloon City where you find multiple Thai restaurants & Thai groceries. Small dining place but big hearted service.

While searching for new vegetarian friendly restaurants to try, Thai Vegetarian Food came up in the searches. Upon looking at the pictures, the size of the restaurant, ambiance might put you off.

Its a porch size restaurant with a room assigned to the kitchen, and guests relegated to sitting on wooden tables & chairs literally within elbow space. It only has space for 10-12 people, some of them might have to sit on tables en roaching the pavement.

But family-like service, wide menu & brilliant food covers up for the lack of window dressing.

Out of the 3 dishes we had, Vegetarian Beef Salad was the best of them. We had to order 1 more just to satiate our taste for it.

The other starter we had ordered was Tofu in Pandan Leaves, which sounded interested & looked unique. You had to remove the layers of the Pandan leaves & have it along with a Sweet Pineapple Sauce they serve along with it.

Any Thai cuisine is incomplete without ordering any green or red curry, hence we ordered the Green Curry with Vegetarian Chicken and a bowl of steam rice. It was particularly noteworthy, that they ask whether you want any particular vegetables or not, and they can customize it accordingly.

Unfortunately, the Green Curry was strictly okay and dampened the overall food experience. It lacked the zing a curry must have, and tasted pretty bland.

The portions are decent enough for 2-3 people, and the prices are also decent.

The Young Coconut water is very refreshing, but due to the lack of space, the boy runs around the corner to get it from another shop or store. But its imperative to enjoy coconut water along with the spicy Thai cuisine hence you do not mind the extra cost. Even the drinking water they supply has a little taste of coconut since they put coconut leaves in the jug of water.

This family run restaurant is worth many visits,to try its wide vegetarian tasty menu. Its just that, we wont be trying their Green Curry so soon.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank DIMOTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

I been to this places first time with a friend and I must say that this is the one of the best Thai restaurant I have been in Hong Kong.

Positive Point:
1. Delicious and healthy Food
2. Clean and Hygienic
3. Quick Service
4. Nice people
5. Value for money

Negative Point:
1. 15 minute walk from nearest MTR
2. Less seating capacity, so sometimes wait time is more than 30-40 minutes

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manish6029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Vegetarian Food also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Thai Vegetarian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing