We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #383 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 9, 2012

You're really close to the metro here. Good location, central to some good nightlife in a cute neighborhood. There was wifi in the rooms. However, I definitely felt like I overpaid for this room! It was TINY! The amenities were very minimal, and there was a half eaten sandwich in the fridge. The shower was tiny too- it seriously won't fit a big person.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Mingle Place On The Wing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My single room was extremely tiny! The venue is ok, is few steps close to the underground, this is great! The cleaner shout too much when they cleaned the room beside me. My room was clean, except for wet carpet already used. The bed is not confy, is quite hard!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel may not be all things for all people, but if you are looking for the following it is an excellent choice:
- Great location (right in the heart of Sheung Wan, close to MTR station, ~2 blocks from express bus to the airport (or walkable to the Airport Express at Central), interesting neighborhood with lots to explore, near Macau ferries as well)
- Clean modern facilities (comfortable bed, spotless shower and bathroom)
- Compact room that are fine for sleeping (If you have a lot of luggage, could be inconvenient....and don't expect much more than a bed + bathroom + hallway)
- Good service (friendly check-in, 24 hour availability)

It is important to remember what you aren't going to get in a hotel like this as well though:
- A large room to hang out in (don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room - and why would you? HK is a great city with all sorts of places to explore)
- A wide range of amenities you would expect in a full-service hotel (You get what you pay for in a major world city. There isn't a gym, restaurant, bar, lobby, lounge, etc....but of course the neighborhood has a lot to offer)
- A wonderful view (you are in a local neighborhood, not along the harbor)

So if you are looking for affordable, above-hostel quality accommodations in a great location in Hong Kong - and don't need a lot of frills, this place should work out great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalHomeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, literally less than a minute from the MTR station which enables you to easily go everywhere in Hong Kong. Restaurants, shops and supermarkets are nearby. Price is very interesting for Hong Kong.
The room was bigger than expected. It is in fact narrow and long and has a nice, rather big bathroom. The room is well equipped, including a DVD player and nice and easy way of turning on and off the lights in the rooms. The bed was very confortable, the room and bathroom were cleaned every day.
There is a nice wifi (no cap on data).
People at the reception speaks a correct English.

However even if the hotel is great, depending on how the room is organized, your bed may be next to the door (mine was but not all my neighbours') and the walls are quite thin and therefore you can hear EVERYTHING happening in the corridor. I might have been very unlucky but my neighbours were really noisy (and crazy), going back to the hotel all night long (from 9pm until 4am), chatting noisily on the corridor, may be drunk, taking a shower until 2am (you can hear the water running). On my last night there was even a couple who fight at each other.
Therefore you really need not to have a light sleep.

I will definitely return to this hotel as the rest of it is great and I might have been just unlucky with my neighbours but if I book a room I'll try to tell the hotel I want a QUIET floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have to say I wasn't expecting much when I booked this hotel, although, I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Ideal for a couple exploring the city. The bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom and shower looked brand new, wide screen huge tv on wall. Within walking distance from MTR - less than a minute away. Lots of small coffee shops tucked away in the area and within walking distance to the mid-levels escalator (15 min walk).
Rooms are rather small, but then most are in Hong Kong. Staff were very friendly, again, something I wasn't expecting after reading other reviews - so all in all it was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: We stayed in a delux double bed room.. I heard someone else complaining about the twin room whilst w...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed at several of the Mingle hotels, including this one about a dozen times. I keep returning because the price is right. Yes, the rooms are very small, but I just need a shower, a place to sleep, and Internet. The place is bright, clean and efficient - very clever and smart use of the small space. Very easy access to the MRT. Food and laundry nearby. Good, so far. Usually, I leave a good review, but the trend on the condition of the rooms is clearly in the wrong direction. There are lots of little things that would not be that difficult to fix, but don't get fixed. I have never had a room at this Mingle with shower water that would stay at warm. Set it how you want it and in a few seconds it is either too cold or two hot again. You get about 10 seconds at the right temperature. This time I got the same room as a few months ago, and the very same little things were not fixed. A strip of wall covering next to the mirror ripped off and staples exposed. The button in the shower to change from the hand wand to the overhead shower was missing, stuck in one position, and it just wouldn't take much to fix it. The tile over the toilet that probably covers the hot water heater is broken and held in place by a bunch of ugly black tape. Guys, at least get some tape that is the same color as the tile! Somebody has stopped caring about this place, and that is too bad, so I have found alternatives. Maybe I'll give the Mingle a year off and then come back to see if they have done some of these basic repairs.

Room Tip: I'd avoid Room 1004 until they do some basic maintenance in there.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsuallyFarFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I spent only few days in Hong Kong and stayed in Lite room. That is perfect for short stay and if you only plan to sleep in your hotel. It's very clean and comfortable with soft bedsheets, clean shower and nice bedside lighting.
The room is very very small though. There is no special place for bug luggage, but if you are a backpack traveller, this room is perfect for you.
Location is also good on Hong Kong island as pretty much everything in the centre is walking distance and there's a metro station just round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#167 of 721 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#197 of 721 in Hong Kong
46 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#479 of 721 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $50 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing