We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kraft Fondue”
Review of Swiss Chalet

Swiss Chalet
Ranked #1,019 of 8,042 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kraft Fondue”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have been to this restaurant for the fondue and I was very disappointed. With two of my colloquies we had all different fondue and the one and only thing that I was able to taste was the fact that they had used a very cheap cheese to mix, if in fact cheese at all. My guess is was Kraft Cheese but I was not sure. Simply because I know cheese and it texture and taste and feel and what I was tasting was not correct. I had cheese fondue in France, Swiss, Austria and the Netherlands and have been around cheese my whole life. So I do not make this up to make a point but would like to make a statement towards the owner of this place. This put a big no no on my list of restaurants to visit. They had made a nice salad and the wine was fine but trying to get away with this is rare. Maybe not in Asia changes are you are able to sell this for a long time before any one starts to complain or even notice. The other dishes may be ok but if you want to eat proper fondue in Hong Kong I suggest you make it yourself. The service was normal, not bad or good. I was not impressed by the decor of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetstreamdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Poor food, terrible service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Let me start by saying I have been to this restaurant a few times and although I am not a huge fan (friends like it) it is usually just about ok. However my last visit was a huge let down, probably exacerbated by the fact that the owner, Max, was not in evidence. Most of the food was ok, nothing special, but one of my party had a (very expensive) asparagus dish. This had been cooked to a tasteless mush and was almost inedible. There were also mix ups with the ordering and the bill. The service was just terrible with most of the waitresses seeming to have had no training whatsoever. Not an enjoyable experience and, given the cost, I will certainly not be setting foot in there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seasider888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
711 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Cheese fondue in kowloon”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice plce good service n good raclette, n cheese fondue, good to change one from asian foods
Specially when weather is not warm

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank anilpartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food: woeful service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Expat Swiss friends recommended this place as the best in HK... the food was excellent.. especially the deer cappaccio and the various veal dishes...........however the experience was ruined by very mediocre service. I booked a week before to avoid disappointment, but then had to wait 55 minutes at the bar after agreed sit down time. The lead waiter seemed totally disinterested in my frustration (we had a post dinner appointment we were late for) and in the end, paid attention when we sat down at uncleared tables y as other guests belatedly departed.
I understand restaurants having two seatings but they need to make sure the first sitting is served quickly to ensure the second sitting is not a debacle. The waitresses struggled with the lack of space and what appeared to much work load. Very disappointed

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“tried the beef/olive oil fondue at Swiss Chalet”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I went there with my 10yo daughter. Did not order the cheese fondue, but was suggested to try out rachette (sp?) as an appetizer. That was a plate of melted cheese, with some garlic, pickles. Worth trying. The beef in olive oil fondue was something I had not tried in years. That was respectable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fau1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing