We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peking Duck”
Review of Spring Deer

Spring Deer
Ranked #79 of 8,725 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Wyong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Peking Duck”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had this restaurant recommended to us for great Peking duck and we weren't dissapointed. I had also read that bookings are essential, but, not being that organised we decided to take our chances and just turn up, which we did at nearly 6pm on a Tuesday night and happily we were shown to a table. Although evey table we passed was reserved, it was early and only one other table was occupied..
It is a little bit hard to find, near exit p3 at Tsim Shar Tsui East MTR are the directions , but if like us you get slightly lost it is pretty well known and the first person we asked knew exactly where it was. The Peking Duck was spectacular, I only wish I'd taken a picture before we devoured it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargL506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    378
    135
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Like a lot of restaurants in HK this is a gem that's hidden upstairs. A relatively small entrance turns into a very large dining room that was packed when we ate there (booking is a very good idea). The service was quick and friendly and the food excellent - great duck and great shredded beef in pockets. Enjoy, the whole thing is a real HK experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peking Duck!! :)”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a chance to have dinner here last February. I must admit that I was in shock when I first entered the building. It has a small door and stairway leading to the second floor. Upon arrival at the restaurant, the tables are all occupied, and it was so crowded, and noisy.

We had reserved a table on a corner and waited for our order. The food was really great! The duck is so juicy and the skin is so crispy. I ate a lot that I almost vomit.

TWO THUMBS UP. Must-try restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HALLYCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining expeience”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had read a lot about the Peking Duck at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We booked through our hotel and after being seated the waiter straight away pointed at the Peking duck and gave it the "thumbs up'. The chef brought out the full bird and carved it at the table and we enjoyed the whole experience immensely. Decor leaves a little to be desired - caught in the 1970's but it was a great meal and we love to tell others of our experience. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent Peking Duck”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having just come through Beijing and been foiled in our attempt to consume some Peking Duck in Peking/Beijing, Hong Kong was our last opportunity before returning home to Oz. After much research, we decided to commit ourselves to Spring Deer. It's a little hard to find - there's a big sign visible form the street and you have to walk around until you find an unmarked doorway with a small sign inside it. Up the stairs and into the restaurant where there's a good chance you'll be the only westerners (if you're a westerner, that is). Having had a few days in the Beijing Hutongs, we were quite relaxed about leaving what might have previously been our comfort zone, and we were well rewarded.

The temptation might be to just order the duck in your hotel restaurant, but you are much better served going somewhere like the Spring Deer. Much more authentic, and a fraction of the price. The duck was sublime, and the experience met all expectations. If there's two of you, just order the duck - you won't have room for anything else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spring Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing