We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Try Location For Food Lovers!”

Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #5 of 13,233 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: The restaurant is proud to have retained its Michelin star for the ninth year running. Using the finest organic ingredients and seasonally inspired produce, we offer an exciting, fresh interpretation of grill classics. Such acclaimed cuisine requires an equally stunning setting and our Sir Terence Conran-designed space never fails to impress. Overlooking Statue Square and Chater Garden, décor is wonderfully vibrant with a moulded scallop-inspired ceiling, Gerard D'A Henderson paintings and a central banquette.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location for an impromptu business dinner last Saturday. Food was awesome throughout, not just the dishes we ordered, but also the unexpected little extras that kept on coming.

Our server Kenny spoiled us with his attentive service, menu knowledge and his generosity with the carving of the Prime Rib which was to die for!

All washed down with perfectly suggested wines thanks to Justin from the Sommelier team.

All in all, a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank pjwcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo_hkg, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear pjwcollins

Thank you for visiting Mandarin Grill + Bar and sharing your comments here. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, atmosphere, food and attentive services from us, especially Justin from the Sommelier team. We look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Others have written great reviews of the swanky restaurant in relation to food and service.
My input is different , allow extra time to savour the atmosphere and quality of the food and service and your company. It is worth relaxing put your phone away and enjoy. Certainly an upmarket restaurant , even if you only have an hour for lunch service is quick. But I’d make it two hours to enjoy.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank GregJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo_hkg, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GregJames

Thank you for visiting Mandarin Grill + Bar and sharing your comments here. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our atmosphere, food and attentive services from the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been to the grill multiple times over the years mainly with my family for lunch and dinner but this was my first time trying the newly revamped weekend brunch menu.

The menu size and choice of selections was just perfect and I ended up going for the lobster salad, eggs florentine and the roast beef to round things off. Presentation was impeccable and the service by the floor team really made my wife and I feel extra special. Chef Simon as hospitable as ever decided to throw in a few extras so thank you!

There are many brunch options to choose from in Hong Kong but nothing really comes close to the Grill. Price wise there are three free flow options to choose from and considering you are dining in one of the best rooms in town it is incredible value. We both felt totally relaxed throughout our meal and were never rushed once, with our server even suggesting we take a short break in between main courses and desserts.

Thank you again to Chef Simon and his team and we will be back for sure!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russell d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo_hkg, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear russell d

Thank you for visiting Mandarin Grill + Bar and sharing your comments here. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly revamped weekend brunch menu and attentive services from the team, especially from Chef Simone. We look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was excellent and extremely attentive. Chef Simone also paid us extra attention as it was our engagement dinner and spoiled us with plenty of delicious extras. The food was exceptional! Every texture and combination of flavours was perfectly balanced. We will definitely be back after such a wonderful experience. Highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo_hkg, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Philip852

Congratulations again on your engagement! Thank you for choosing Mandarin Grill + Bar and sharing your comments here. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and attentive service from our team, especially from Chef Simone. We look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Went to this lovely restaurant with a group of good friends.

Service was spot on, got all the attention from the service team, especially Thomson.

Food was superb, thanks to chef Ricky.

Definitely will need to return.

Best regards
Martin

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MartinCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo_hkg, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear MartinCheung

Thank you very much for your continuous support to us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and attentive service from our team, especially by Chef Ricky and Thomson. We look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing