We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fois Gras lollipop was amazing!”

Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental
Ranked #4 of 8,204 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Fois Gras lollipop was amazing!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Was here with my wife and did the 10 course tasting. The Chef threw in 2 extra courses and the food was great but service not up to par with Caprice, French Laundry, etc. The Sommelier was not good! Uninspiring, incompetent, and not attentive. I really think he was drunk!

But we loved the fois gras lollipop and the ambience is nice but not as good as Caprice.
Caprice is much better, especially in terms of service but Amber is still very nice!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Clark_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    153
    47
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,577 reviews
1,753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,974 helpful votes
“Amber - Well deserving of it Michelin two stars”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Amber is a Michelin two-star restaurant located at the Landmark Mandarin Oriental. We dined here a couple months back to try their (9th) Degustation Menu with wine pairing and were quite impressed with the majority of the dishes and wines served during the meal. This is an 8 course meal, which took us around 3 hours to finish.

Many delectable dishes were served on the evening. Our favourites included the unforgettable amuse bouche, Autumn truffle globe artichoke, wild pheasant and the foie gras dishes. The French cheese platter, chocolate soufflé and the petite four (mini-macaroons) were also lovely. Overall a beautiful and well-executed dinner, the downside being, we were rather full by the end of the meal.

Amber is recognised as one of the finest French restaurants in Hong Kong, and we found it matched our expectations, well-deserving of its Michelin stars. It remains one of the city's top options for high quality cuisine, an elegant dining atmosphere and very good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,195 helpful votes
“Amazing Platinum Black Truffle tasting menu with impeccable service and wine”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I dined at Amber for our second and final evening in Hong Kong--and what a meal it was. We had dined the previous night at Lung King Heen, and that didn't even begin to compare to the ambience, food quality, and impeccable service offered at Amber. Amber is considered by many to be the best restaurant in Hong Kong, and we absolutely are now inclined to believe it!

We opted for the Platinum black truffle tasting menu since the regular chef's tasting menu had too many courses I'm not a big fan of (foie gras, oysters, sea urchin, etc.). I NEVER have had truffles, and have never liked mushrooms to begin with, but it seemed like this should be the moment if ever I was to try them. What a fortuitous decision that was, as we absolutely LOVED the meal.

From start to finish, the meal was extravagant, delicious, and adventurous, and the service was IMPECCABLE. Sometimes with great service, it can be a bit too formal for our tastes, but the serving team some fun with us when we prodded--as we so often do. The sommelier knew his stuff, though he was by far the most stiff of the entire team. Everyone else had a relaxed but appropriate and friendly elegance to their service. There were times when we waited between courses, but we like to dine like the French, so we didn't mind in the slightest and enjoy the moments to enjoy ourselves and the wines.

Amber was spectacular. Worthy of every accolade. If Lung King Heen is 3 Michelin stars and Amber is only 2, then the Michelin people deserve some of the criticism they get! Amber was by far the better of the 2 restaurants, and we recently have dined at places like Astrid y Gaston and Central in Lima, the Ledbury in London, Relae in Copenhagen, Varvary in Moscow, etc. We know our fine dining, and Amber is one of the world's best. We'd go again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The FINEST Restauant in HK, bar none!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Upstairs on the 6th floor of the Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hotel, the Adam Tihany designed Macassar ebony wood filled dining room under a sculpture of 4,320 suspended bronze rods always takes my breath away, whether I come for a business dinner or big date. The Hong Kong born sommelier John always has perfect pairing suggestions to the cuisine of Paris-trained Dutch chef Richard Ekkebus who really does earns his two Michelin stars nightly with modern, French influenced dishes lovingly crafted from ingredients flown in daily, from the Tokyo fish market and even far further away, like Tasmania and Brittany. Ekkebus's training in France under celebrated talents Guy Savoy, Alan Passard and Pierre Gagnaire comes across in dishes like foie gras ravioli simmered with black truffles over a creamy violet artichoke in poultry velouté, Bresse pigeon with wild mushrooms; and line-caught amadai with orange and fennel confit.

Equally talented is the pastry chef. No matter how much I've already eaten, I find room for whatever is the evening's soufflé, and also eat the sweet treats that come with our coffee. Then I start planning my next visit here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PoppyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amber is a jewel”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The best restaurant in Hong Kong. (OK; I havent been to every restaurant - but it is much better than the usual suspects like Caprice). Really good. Faultless.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxandhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing