We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Dan Dan Noodles!”

Double Happiness Cafe
Ranked #411 of 7,925 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Try the Dan Dan Noodles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate dinner at this Soho eatery this evening and absolutely loved the Dan Dan Noodles (about $53 HKD). Definitely one of the best meals we've had during our 3-month journey through Southeast Asia.

My only gripe is that the drinks were quite expensive. The cheapest option was soda and that cost $33 HKD.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Following their recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Small friendly cafe with such a great name how can you resist it. A middle aged lady was seemingly in charge and we simply followed her recommendation and had an excellent meal. Big portions so dont overorder. Fun decor

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank philipmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Double Happiness indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hunger and luck combined just as we walked past this quaint and charming little Chinese restaurant. Home cooked style food served by wonderful staff for not very much money. Just up the street from the escalator you will be well rewarded for finding it. Delightful Dan Dan Mian, Green Bamboo shoots with garlic, chicken and chilli asparagus. Hao chi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We ate here as we wanted to eat chinese food whilst in Central rather than eat in one of the multitude of western restaurants.

Everything we ordered was great, and there was such a lot of food that we struggled to finish. It seemed quite homestyle, and the dishes didn't come all at once. But quite enjoyable for that.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank davinagifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Staunton Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice friendly place, reasonably priced (except wine- drink beer instead). Chat up the Malaysian head waitress for plent of information about the food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stevev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Happiness Cafe also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Double Happiness Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing